We have detected that javascript is currently disabled. To get the fullest experience from our site we suggest enabling javascript. If you have any issues using our site please contact us.

e.g. Such as Newegg | browse by category or see best/worst

Stores > High Tech Pet Products / hightechpet.com
  • High Tech Pet P

    Hundreds of thousands of Shoppers visit ResellerRatings every month to check out real reviews of shopping experiences before they buy!


    Payment options

    • option not available Visa / Mastercard
    • option not available American Express
    • option not available Discover
    • option not available Money Order
    • option not available COD
    • option not available Check
    • option not available Wire Transfer
    • option not available Apple Pay
    • option not available PayPal

    Shipping options

    • option not available UPS Ground
    • option not available FedEx Ground
    • option not available FedEx Express
    • option not available Priority Next Day
    • option not available Standard Next Day
    • option not available International
    • option not available 2-3 Day Delivery
    • option not available Digital Delivery
    • option not available Amazon Prime

    Online Ordering

    • option not available Online Ordering
    • option not available Online Ordering Tracking
    • option not available Secure Order Processing
    • option not available Require User Registration
    • option not available Guaranteed Security


    • option not available International Order
    • option not available Customer Info. Confidential
    • option not available Customer Support
    • option not available RMA Required
    • checkmark icon Review Guard
    • checkmark icon Notified of Public Replies
  • Review History & Profile See full Rating history

    Product & services pricing Rating 2.50/10 2.50/10
    Chance of future purchase: 0.00/10
    Shipping & packaging: 0.00/10
    Customer service: 0.00/10
    Return/Replacement policy: 0.00/10
Voice your opinion! Review High Tech Pet Products / hightechpet.com by clicking a star below.
Rating 4/10

Give me a break!

"I own the HighTech Pet door and have been VERY happy with it. No problems. But the collar is another story. It was advertised as being waterproof and the dog Can "jump in the lake with it" but it is not so. After one jump in the lake it is filled with water and stops working. Now that summer is here again I ordered another collar as it was advertised as newer and better and VERY waterproof. NOT SO! I was conned into spending an extra $55 for nothing. PLUS the shipping for two tiny replacement batteries was $18.....MORE then the $13 batteries. WHAT A RIPOFF! If I could start over with another company I would but making a hole in the wall was a big committement. So my opinion is split....love the door but HATE the company."

Rating 2/10

Don't bother emailing and good luck with trying to reach them on the phone

"I don't get this company. I have their PX-2 door. Worked fine for 6 years. Then it failed. Sent it back to be refurbished. The refurb door failed after 3 weeks. Now I can't get them to pick up the phone. PICK UP YOUR PHONE! I'm not leaving a VM because you'll never call me back like last time and I'm not emailing because you never respond to those either. "

Rating 2/10


"Recently purchased the new X-22 containment, training and bark system for our new house. From the first day out of the box this system has been nothing but problems. First misstep was an error on my part which customer service was able to correct pretty easily with a different setting on the base system. Thought all was fixed, and was very excited about the new technology. Bluetooth technology in the collar is horrible, any time the phone goes to sleep the collar looses signal therefor the containment barrier is no more. When you wake the phone up to give a quick correction to the dog you must go through the process of reestablishing the link to the collar. After many trips to the neighbors yard to get our dog and the unreliability of the whole product I decided it was time to return the product. First customer service rep was very nice and said she would have the return label to my inbox shortly, I received the label within 5 minutes. Before shipping I decided to call again and make sure that the only things I had to return would be the base station and power cord and the collar itself. The system also comes with wire and flags. Seeing as I had already spent the better part of a day berrying the wire around our property i didn't think taking it back up to ship back in a big bundle would be necessary. Obviously I was wrong, the customer service person that I spoke with told me if the entire kit was not returned I would be charged for the pieces not present. I understand but the wire has been used and my time is also of worth therefore having to spend more time with a product that does not do what it states is not what I was looking for.

Product idea is great but the functionality and dependability of the product is awful. I would not recommend spending $300 on this product until they can prove it is reliable.

Rating 10/10

"Ontario, Canada

We ordered the "Blue Fang" bark and training collar.
Very happy with the app for the iphone.
Our dog was very responsive within a few days.
Had a minor problem with the collar when changing the battery, however the customer service rep, "Heather" was very courteous and helpful to resolve the issue.

Peter C

Rating 10/10

"I had an initial problem with one of my High Tech products, but their customer service was great and fixed my problem. "

Rating 8/10

"We have had several problems over the last several years with our pet collars for our Power Pet door. The door, by the way, has been a lifesaver for us, as before we had it, we never felt we could be gone for over 4 hours with our dog Sophie left inside in Phoenix summer when it was over 110 deg. outside. It is always a conversation starter when friends hear the door open when Sophie goes in or out. We have always recommended your company.

We babysit for friends' dogs and so we also have purchased 2 "guest" collars from you. "Roxie" was coming for a visit this week, and I got both guest collars out of the drawer and tried them. The test lights worked, but the door wouldn't open. I called your number to try and get resolution. Your recording has the most helpful voice, but when I got a service rep, she was very officious, not at all concerned with my plight, and since the collar was over a year old and out of warranty, she only gave one option: Buy a new one. I hung up very frustrated and not at all well-disposed towards your company.

My wife called you back, reached Marcella Vazquez, and explained how frustrated we were. She was helpful, empathetic, and understood our frustration. She offered to send us a replacement collar for half-price, and immediately, since Roxie was due in 2 days. She trusted us to send back the nonworking collar (which we did).

We think Marcella Vazquez represents the type of employee who wants to keep loyal customers for your company. I hope you realize just how valuable such an employee is. We went from an unhappy customer who would not recommend your product to a happy one who will.

Rating 10/10

"Update--I was contacted by High Tech Pet with genuine concern about the problem with the door motor. They are standing by their product and even offered to provide me with the replacement parts free of charge. I will update this review after I receive the product to reflect the final outcome, but as for now I think they went above and beyond standard customer service. I really appreciate the help I received from Marcella and Nick. Thank you!"

Rating 2/10

"The electronic dog door is a piece of junk!!! I have had 2 doors and 3 collars in the last 3 years and they have all broken. I have called customer service and they can't tell me what's wrong or why the products keep breaking. My dog is a pug and isn't hard on the equipment and the door is located in a covered area so it's not exposed to the weather. Save your money and don't buy this junk!!!!"

Rating 10/10

"I ordered the x-10 inground fence system and installation was fairly easy but it took a few hours more than I planed and i charged the collar overnight, this is great no batteries to buy. The system seems to work great and only took a few times for my 65lb boxer to relize her boundry area the flags are what she looks for so put out those flags people. next dont put the collar on the dog until u test the systems range u want, by walking the perimiter of the wire with the collar in your hand but be careful ok . set your range and start training your animal , thats it . the system really works great and does Not really hurt my dog and she loves her new freedom to run and play without a chain or leash im very well pleased with this product , thanks to the folks at high tech pet for a great product and the folks in customer service are very helpfull to the questions I did have, so Good luck to all who try this system its great . your loyal customer in south carolina"

Rating 10/10

"I purchased the PX-2 in December 2011 and installed it in my garage door for my german shepard, and I looooove it! I am a free woman! I don't have to come home to let the dog out at lunch anymore. This is the most convienient/reliable pet product I've invested in. A must have!"

Rating 10/10

"This is awful customer service. I have been calling the last week and half, filled out a ticket, and left 2 messages. The collar is a joke! We have had the Humane Contain package for less than 2 months and have not had a collar that has worked over a week. Took 4 hours to install the underground fence. Do not buy this product!!


I recieved a response from Customer Support regarding my issue I was having with the collar and charger. They immediately sent out a new collar and charger and also a 2nd collar in the case there are problems again at no cost. I appreciated the fast response and resolution to the problem with the collar. I'm hoping they are looking into the reasoning behind why the collars are not functioning properly and a fix has been made.

Rating 6/10

"High Tech Express Train Collar

First of all, the tons of complaints you read about in the reviews are all true. To make a long story short, there is NO customer support. You have a problem and you are just screwed.

As well as no customer service, this thing is junk. Biggest problem is the collar with its little plastic cover over the LEDs, on/off switch, and DC Jack for charging. This cover is held on by two itty-bitty little screws that don’t even have an insert of brass with threads; it’s just screws into plastic. In order to charge the unit or just turn it on or off you have to remove these itty-bitty screws. How long do you think this is going to go on before you lose one of the screws or strip out the plastic threads? Worst design I have ever seen in my life. Obviously not built to last a life time. The strap on the collar is very thin and the hole I used started to rip out with only part of a days walk. I also found out that even though it states on the box that the collar is waterproof, it is not and the company will even tell you “no, it’s not really waterproof”. Aren’t there laws against that?

The transmitter is very big, won’t fit in any pocket and is very inconvenient and cumbersome to use. The two rows of tone and shock buttons are very close and I find it very hard to keep an eye on my dog and at the same time hit the right button. I couldn’t understand why I was getting no response from the dog but then realized I was pushing the #2 shock button and not the #2 tone button. That is how I found out that the shock buttons weren’t working. I strapped it on myself to see what the dog was getting. #1 & #2 shock buttons do nothing! A couple of times I think I could feel #3 but #4 did work a little. I have a very strong headed dog and this does nothing to help with training. I like the tone idea but I’m sure there is a make out there with the same idea only it will work. I have a smart dog and he was starting to respond to the tones so I’m sure this idea will work if you use another brand.

I have never been so disappointed with any product that I have ever had to send back. Search the web and read the reviews before you buy this product. Here is a link to a bunch of reviews: http://www.resellerratings.com/store/view/Hightechpet_com/page/2
Take a look at all the 1 star reviews. Then rethink doing business with High Tech Pet!!!

Now I’m trying to send it back and can’t get anyone to answer my e-mails and the phone calls are all answered with a busy signal.

Good news, I have been contacted by Marcella who sent me a return label. I sent it out this morning and she tells me i will get a full refund as soon as they receive the unit. I will update as things happen.

Bad news, I haven't received a refund, nor have I received the free gift that they say they are sending me. Not sure why they are sending me a free gift in the first place but I have never dealt with anyone so slow with everything.

Well, I just don't know what to say about these people now. It's obvious that they are trying to turn around their negative ratings but they are sooo slow about everything. I did in the end get the return shipping, a full refund, and even a nice free gift but I had to hound them every step of the way. That's why I can only give them 3 stars and I think I am being generous at that. They just don't understand the consumer and I don't think they know how to fix their problems. Be very careful doing business with them. At best you are going to have a big hassle.

Rating 10/10

"I must say I was a little worried about ordering my Power pet door after reading some of the negative reviews, but after corresponding via email with Maria she set my mind at ease and was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. Shipping was faster then expected and while I haven't had a chance to have the unit installed I'm sure I will love it and I know if any problems arise Maria will be able to help.
Thanks high tech pet for a pleasant experience.

Michael Weston, Miami Fl.

Rating 10/10

"Your customer service is wonderful...shopping on line is great, but sometimes you can get overwhelmed with all the choices. We live in a very rural area, so shopping here is limited...thank goodness for shopping on line


Rating 10/10

"Great experience with this merchant. I purchased a Power Pet electric dog door and it is AWESOME! Great service from a very professional staff makes this a definite two thumbs up!"

Learn about Our Reviews

Share High Tech Pet Products / hightechpet.com's store rating

High Tech Pet Products / hightechpet.com is not a merchant member. If you're this merchant, learn more!

High Tech Pet Products / hightechpet.com is not a merchant member
High Tech Pet Products / hightechpet.com does NOT participate at ResellerRatings to monitor feedback and resolve your issues. Are you this merchant? Learn more about the Merchant Member Program!

See all Merchant Members »