1/5

posted May-16-2008
Ordered a DCRDVD710 Camcorder from TechonDigital.com. A couple of hours later, received 2 emails from them: One saying Call William at ext. 205 at phone number 800-958-0054 to confirm my order and the other saying call James at ext. 201 at phone number 800-958-0054 to confirm my order. I immediately thought something sounded like a scam because of the 2 emails back to back and very poor grammar. But I decided to call anyway. I called the first 205 and a guy answered "Hello", I asked if this was William and he said yes. I told him that I received a couple of emails asking me to call to confirm my order. He pulled my order up and then started up with the battery scam/sales pitch. I told him I was not interested. He said "why not"? I just said no. He persisted. I repeatedly said no! He said "ok then, enjoy your camera, goodbye" I said wait, I want to ask you something. Again he said "enjoy your camera, goodbye". We went through this like 3 times. Finally he said "what do you want to know, hurry up and ask". I asked him why was he being so rude? He said "I'm not being rude, what do you want?" I asked him why did I get 2 emails back to back? He said "I don't know, what does it matter, who cares?" I told him that it sounded like a scam. He said "well if you think it's a scam, cancel your order". I said I don't want to cancel, I just want an explanation. He said "well stop worrying and stop bothering me". I then asked for a manager. He said "I am the manager". I said well I want to speak to another one. He said "I am the only manager there is". I said Ok what is your last name? He said "I don't give out my last name and it's none of your business". I hung up and then called the second ext. 201. A guy answered and it sounded just like the first one, William. I asked who it was. He said "Who do you want to speak to?" I said "Is this James?" He said "yes it is". As he talked more and more he sounded just like William. I asked to speak to the manager. He said "Look the manager is William." I said well I want to speak to someone else, perhaps the owner. He said "William is the manager and the owner. William like GOD. He is very powerful if not more powerful". I hung up on him too. First let me say God is not a scam artist like these people. How dare them to even compare themselves to God. Anyway, that's another topic. After hanging up with this second guy, I called the number again and just guessed an extension. I asked the guy on the other end who it was. He said Andrew. This guy was very polite. I told him that I appreciated his politeness and I told him how rude the other 2 were. He apologized. He looked my order up and confirmed it. He then told me that my camera was on backorder and would arrive in 3-4 weeks to their company and then would ship out to me 5-7 days. I told him that I paid for ground shipping 3-4 business days. He said "Oh, yeah, I see that" You will receive it 3-4 days after it comes in stock. I told him that was not good enough because I needed it to go on vacation. I then cancelled my order. He said ok. Well I didn't trust that they cancelled my order, so after I hung up the phone with them, I called my credit card company and told them what happened. They cancelled my card due to fraudulant reasons. They did check my card to make sure that no charges had been processed in reference to this, and thank goodness that it hadn't. So just in case they do try to charge my card, we cancelled it. Stay away from these people! Online they are TechonDigital.com, but after doing research I found out that they are related to The Digital Nerds. It seems like Broadway Photo is doing the exact same thing. So apparently they are all connected. I think it's really worth it to pay the extra money and go to somewhere like Best Buy or Circuit City and pay more and to know that you aren't being scammed!