We have detected that javascript is currently disabled. To get the fullest experience from our site we suggest enabling javascript. If you have any issues using our site please contact us.

e.g. Such as Zappos, Newegg | browse by category » or best/worst »

RatingsRating
Store InformationStore Info
Full Rating Profile
OpticsPlanet.cCoupons
    • Address: 3150 Commercial Ave., Northbrook, IL
    • Contact: orderhelp@opticsplanet.com
    • Phone: 800.504.5897
    • Customer Support: 800.504.5897
    • Business Hours: 8AM-9PM CST Mon-Fri --- 9AM-5PM CST Sat-Sun
    • Fax: 847.919.3003

    Payment options

    • checkmark icon Visa / Mastercard
    • checkmark icon American Express
    • checkmark icon Discover
    • checkmark icon Money Order
    • option not available COD
    • option not available Check
    • checkmark icon Wire Transfer

    Shipping options

    • checkmark icon UPS Ground
    • checkmark icon Priority Next Day
    • checkmark icon Standard Next Day
    • checkmark icon International
    • checkmark icon 2-3 Day Delivery

    Online Ordering

    • checkmark icon Online Ordering
    • checkmark icon Online Ordering Tracking
    • checkmark icon Secure Order Processing
    • option not available Require User Registration
    • checkmark icon Guaranteed Security

    Other

    • checkmark icon International Order
    • checkmark icon Customer Info. Confidential
    • checkmark icon Customer Support
    • checkmark icon RMA Required
  • Review History & Profile See full Rating history

    Product & services pricing Rating 8.08/10 8.08/10
    Chance of future purchase: Rating 8.41/10 8.41/10
    Shipping & packaging: Rating 8.05/10 8.05/10
    Customer service: Rating 7.71/10 7.71/10
    Return/Replacement policy: Rating 7.24/10 7.24/10

What is this?

5,635 Customer Reviews

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"I will never buy from these clowns again. I purchased two VTAC padded slings on 4 August and they CHARGED MY CREDIT card for both. After 4 weeks I called them since only one sling arrived. THEY DENIED THAT THEY HAD CHARGED ME FOR THE SECOND SLING. 2 weeks after the call, I got a PAYPAY refund for the charge since they could no longer get the item. However, no credit for the .30 of interest I paid. They are either inept or corrupt."

modified review Rep reply posted Sep-29-2014

opticsplanet, OpticsPlanet.com rep has responded

“We are very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent shopping experience. Customer service is our number one priority. We apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused you.

We completely understand the frustration this can cause our customers; that we truly try to obtain and provide our customers as much updated information we may receive from the manufacturers’. When we receive an update, it is posted on our website. Our records indicate that at the time your order was placed, we were not aware of the items discontinued status. We later found out from the manufacturer that we would no longer be able to obtain the item; subsequently you were contacted and advised. A credit was issued to the original form of payment.

Again we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by this issue. We hope you will see past this single experience and allow us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.”


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"BUYER BEWARE!

I've had nothing but TERRIBLE experiences with this miserable merchant. Just yesterday, I spent over 30-minutes reviewing their various products, sifting through items that were currently available vs. those many that were on backorder, and generally preparing a detailed order.

And then, the next day, they send me an e-mail claiming that the order was on Hold because (allegedly!) my credit card billing address (a PO Box) didn't match my bank's records, which turned out to be a completely fabricated lie.

I use a PO Box address on ALL of my credit cards (have for 35-years) and my bank confirmed that it's records matched the address perfectly. Plus, my shipping address and billing addresses are always the same.

So then, when I called OpticsPlanet, the truth quickly became clear . . . they wanted a "physical" (residential) address. That's all it was! For their own selfish reasons, they wanted a physical (residential) address rather than a PO Box, even though the PO Box was the legitimate billing and shipping address, so essentially they concocted a lie about my bank's records in an effort to get what they wanted. Un-bee-lievable!!!! I cancelled the order immediately and I will NEVER deal with these fools again. You decide, but I would look elsewhere if I were you
"

modified review Rep reply posted Sep-26-2014

opticsplanet, OpticsPlanet.com rep has responded

“We are very sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your recent shopping experience. Customer service is our number one priority. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration this issue may have caused you.

Our records indicate that you canceled your order due to the extensive risk management procedures we practice. We completely understand the inconvenience a customer may experience due to our RM procedures. Optics Planet takes fraud very seriously and we must adhere to the standards put in place to safeguard our valued customers. Therefore, we are constantly cautious of any red flags that may be identified as fraud.

Please accept our apologies as we value you as a customer and we hope to service you in the future. We hope you will allow us another chance to exceed your expectations.”


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"I have found fraud and deception throughout my contact with Optics Planet and Zero Point Tactical. I placed an order for a Level 3 Stand Alone IED Kit from Optics planet manufactured by Zero Point Tactical. I went through the Process of supplying all of the documentation of a State or Federal Agency or contractor as required. Items approved and I paid in full up front. The 30-45-and 60 day periods went by and I received nothing. I had to send 2 EOD guys Down Range with a kit I purchased from Home Depot (Not Good). Since Monday I have called to cancel the order due to delivery. I have had 4 customer reps tell me they could not get Zero Point to answer them. I called and talked to them first time. Amazing! I also asked for daily confirmation in an email of status nothing, Then I am told I will get nothing until Scott gets back on the 30th he is handling my case. Then I ask for supervisor and they are all in meeting on Thursdays and Fridays. Then I asked for Scotts Back up and guess what he has none. Amazing again Talking with zero Point they said they had talked to Optics planet about cancellation and amazing they were going to ship today Lie. Another Delay plow because I got through to shipping to see if it was on the list for today for tracking and they did not have a shipping bill for it. I work for XXXX and am forced to put you on the vendor report list for poor performance and issue to alert all purchasing agents that this vendor is suspect in its practices.

This could have been defused if your customer service reps followed thru with the requested contact on status. They never did and that is unacceptable. Even before we left on our trip I was calling 2-10 Sept hoping to pay extra in shipping to fly with the item.
"

modified review Rep reply posted Sep-25-2014

opticsplanet, OpticsPlanet.com rep has responded

“We are very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent shopping experience. Customer service is our number one priority. We apologize for the delay in shipment of your order. Occasionally, we may ship items directly from the manufacturer. In these instances, the availability of in stock items is not immediately known.

We completely understand the frustration and inconvenience this can cause our customers. We try to obtain and provide our customers as much updated information as we receive from the manufacturers’. Nonetheless, this does not justify the fact that we did not provide an update on the estimated time for shipment of your order. According to our records, the backordered item was canceled and no funds were collected.

We have forwarded your complaint over to the customer service management staff for future training opportunities. Again we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by this issue. We hope you will see past this single experience and allow us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.”


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"Products were as described, arrived safely and very promptly. Items operated very nominally, as was expected. Have yet to zero my rifle with the scope installed, but anticipate no issues. LULA loader worked as advertised: efficiently, quickly and easily."


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"Pachmayr makes a really high quality product. I have their Decelarator model on all of my pistols. Not only are they very comfortable to the grip but they also noticeably reduced the perceived recoil by at least 40 percent and, with a 44 mag, that is something to be appreciated."


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"I have made numerous purchases from Optics Planet and couldn't be happier. Being in the customer service industry I can honestly say their service is second to none. Fast shipping and quality products, can't beat it. "


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"I like Optics Planet.

They stock a lot of great stuff.

They ship fast. They have a lot of stuff in stock.

Their website might not be perfect, but it is easy enough to navigate, and find what you want....

I like Optics Planet. I am sure I will shop there again.
"


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"OpticsPlanet is not always the lowest priced website. However, their products are first class as well as their service.
Most items arrive in a normal business week of 5 days.
Packaging and shipping is excellent. All items I have ever ordered from them have arrived in first class condition.
Never have had any returns to OpticsPlanet.
"


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"I have this mounted on a Yugo M70B1 AK47. It is an excellent
Bipod, lightweight, sturdy, easily adjustable, with three different mounting systems included. The full size model works perfectly with the long 30 round magazines which only requires extending the legs 2 1/2 to 3 inches for bench shooting such as zeroing sights. It would probably never be necessary to adjust the legs to the full 11 inches. You can accomplish just about every shooting position imaginable at half of its maximum length. A well made, functional product.
"


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"You'll get better results if you put ALL the required info in the email you send asking me to "Rate Your Shopping Experience". Invoice/order # was there but not date... I had to go and look up my original order. Too much effort. More people will respond if you make filling out the survey as easy as possible.
Just sayin'.
"


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"promp response, fast service and delivery. excellent business atmosphere. will buy again, thank you!"

modified review Rep reply posted Sep-22-2014

opticsplanet, OpticsPlanet.com rep has responded

“Thank you for taking the time to review our store.

According to your comments, it appears you were very pleased with your purchase. However, you selected 1 star. Please let me know if there was a problem with your purchase.

We appreciate honest feedback so we can improve our customer satisfaction. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us directly at care@opticsplanet.com and we will be happy to assist you.”


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"The Bushnell 10x42 HD binoculars will replace a lost pair, the quality of the product and price from OpticsPlanet, made a good deal for me. Also the timely "Free shipping" was a big plus, I'm sure I will be doing business with both firms again in the future."


Rating 8/10
4/5
modified review posted

"By far ($40), the best price on this ~$300 item. I am spoiled by Amazon's "free" 2-day Prime shipping, so by comparison, this was slower than molasses. Priority Mail is cheap, and quick - so there is really no great excuse for slow shipping for a small, light-weight (easily fitting in a fixed-rate padded envelope) item. Other than that, the item and price were right, and questions were handled well (if not a little slowly) by their customer service dept."


Rating 10/10
5/5
modified review posted

"With this most recent order of batteries and past orders for various products OpticsPlanet's service was quick and efficient. I received my product in a timely manner and the price was great. I would highly recommend OpticsPlanet to my friends and family."


Rating 8/10
4/5
modified review posted

"Ordered a set of Metpro Light Tru Dot tridium night sights for my Glock pistol. When package arrived I received only the rear sight. Customer service was promt in correcting this problem. Received front sight in a timely manner. Hope this is only an isolated incodent."


OpticsPlanet.com is a Merchant Member! Learn more

OpticsPlanet.com is a merchant member
OpticsPlanet.com participates as a Merchant Member, monitors feedback, and resolves issues. See all 1,844 merchant members.