We have detected that javascript is currently disabled. To get the fullest experience from our site we suggest enabling javascript. If you have any issues using our site please contact us.

e.g. Such as Zappos, Newegg | browse by category » or best/worst »

RatingsRating
Full Rating Profile
BonTonCoupons
    • Address: n/a
    • Contact: n/a
    • Phone: n/a
    • Customer Support: n/a
    • Business Hours: n/a
    • Fax: n/a

    Payment options

    • option not available Visa / Mastercard
    • option not available American Express
    • option not available Discover
    • option not available Money Order
    • option not available COD
    • option not available Check
    • option not available Wire Transfer

    Shipping options

    • option not available UPS Ground
    • option not available Priority Next Day
    • option not available Standard Next Day
    • option not available International
    • option not available 2-3 Day Delivery

    Online Ordering

    • option not available Online Ordering
    • option not available Online Ordering Tracking
    • option not available Secure Order Processing
    • option not available Require User Registration
    • option not available Guaranteed Security

    Other

    • option not available International Order
    • option not available Customer Info. Confidential
    • option not available Customer Support
    • option not available RMA Required
  • Review History & Profile See full Rating history

    Product & services pricing Rating 3.54/10 3.54/10
    Chance of future purchase: 0.00/10
    Shipping & packaging: 0.00/10
    Customer service: Rating 1.54/10 1.54/10
    Return/Replacement policy: 0.00/10

42 Customer Reviews

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"Wished i could see all these reviews before purchasing from this company. Worst experience ever. Terrible customer service, it's funny how their email logo says "customer first" do they even know the meaning of having that logo? From the rep attitude i feel they put customer last, not even trying to help the customer to resolve the problems. DO NOT SHOP AT THIS STORE, you will get disappointed. I do not normally write reviews, but this is just simply very upsetting."



Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"I purchased 6 towels and I was only shipped 4 with no explanation of what happened to the rest of my order. I e-mailed customer service with a copy of my invoice clearly showing that I ordered 6 towels. I received this response from Melissa B "We apologize for the inconvenience; but the order that I see only shows that you purchased 4." She didn't even look at the invoice I sent. Terrible business practice and ineffectual customer service."

modified review This review was modified by cnthrash on December 12 2014 08:23:27 PM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"CANNOT ACCEPT ALL MY CREDIT CARD, WHY NOT JUST FIX THIS VITAL PROBLEM? "


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"BonTon is the worst. I will never order thru them again. Ordered a Zwilling knife received the wrong one. Sent 2 emails never heard back called spoke with rude sales associate that didn't help at all as he told me I got what I ordered and when I try to explain what it is I ordered he said "What do you want me to do." with an attitude. I have not received the knife I ordered or my refund. This company is the worst. Worst on-line ordering, worst customer service, worst at rectifying there mistakes. I will never order again thru them. Take my advice don't waste your time. It's not worth the fight, time, or energy."

modified review This review was modified by tiredofgettingtheshaft on December 08 2014 10:31:19 AM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"Don't ever buy from these scammers! We ordered a coffee maker and griddle and got used and beat-up items. Coffee maker was severely scraped and the pot was cracked in two places. It was poorly placed back in the box with packaging that was horribly loose and appeared as though a 3 year old had packaged it. The griddle had severe scrapes and there was grease on the bottom. It is obvious that Bon Ton had repackaged these used items and sold to us as new. Shame on you, you dishonest scammers! Please, do not buy from these crooks! Save your money. Spend a little more and buy from a more reputable merchant! Just look as their reviews! Please do not buy from them!"

modified review This review was modified by TXMary on December 06 2014 01:18:56 AM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"Wish I read these before I purchased from them. Ordered a knife set on 11/29. Here it is 12/4 and still hasn't shipped. Called to check, cc rep was no help. She said it looked weird, but she could only see the order,not shipping. She said because I chose standard shipping, I would receive it in 7-10 business days. Duh, I know that. I do what she does for a living. But I ordered 2things from 2 totally different sites with same shipping on 12/2 and they both have already shipped......so come on here. This is why companies like this are going under by the dozen and Amazon is taking over. There's something to be said for good service and efficient shipping. Guess I'll wait the 7-10 days and see what happens. I'll be calling back."


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"I used to love BonTon stores, specifically Carsons and Carsons.com. However, after trying several payment options and more than several attempts, I have decided never to buy from then again. This is too frustrating when all I want to do is spend money in their store. It is frustrating because my credit cards receive the payments correctly: it is entirely an internal error from BonTon and they need to fix it ASAP."


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"My wife placed an order on carsons.com for Clinique cosmetics. Our local Carsons store was closed due to a fire, and she wanted to receive the "free" gift with a purchase of X dollars.

Due to the great experience I've had shopping on other retailers sites - penneys.com, sears.com, overstock.com and kohls.com - I convinced her to order the cosmetics on carsons.com, which is bonton.com. That's where the fun begins.

After placing the order, she received an email confirmation of Order #706033878 on 11/17 @ 5:39 PM CST. Items ordered: lipstick, nail polish and free gift set.

Seconds later, she received another email at 5:39 PM CST showing that the Clinique 7 pc. Gift with purchase was canceled. She called bonton.com to tell them to cancel the order, since the only reason she placed it was so she could receive the free gift. We were told that the order couldn’t be canceled because 90 minutes had passed since the order was placed.

She then received a third email at 10:36 AM on 11/18 showing that the nail polish was canceled! Now, the only thing left on the order was lipstick. Again, she called to cancel the order, and was told that the order was already shipped.

She received a fourth email at 4:36 PM on 11/19 confirming shipment of the lipstick.

Based upon this experience, I can only conclude that their internet site must be something out of the prehistoric age run by the Three Stooges.

The only good thing to come from this, is that I've been able to convince her that the "free" gift is possible due to the fact that she's paying for overpriced cosmetics, and that in the future, she should purchase her cosmetics from Ulta, CVS or Walgreens.

If you're going to run an internet site, you better have a "real time" inventory that your sales agents can see, so that they can tell customers when products are out of stock, and when they're expected back in stock.

You should also be able to cancel an order two days before it's shipped.

And, if you can't supply the "free" gift with purchase, stop deceiving customers.

I called one of Bon Ton's C.S. supervisors to vent yesterday (11/25), but she seemed very non-plused, like this is S.O.P.

Due to the treatment we've received, I doubt very much whether we'll doing any further business with Carsons. There are too many other good retailers who don't take customers for granted.

Joseph A. Bobak
751 William Street
River Forest, IL 60305
"

modified review This review was modified by jbobak on November 27 2014 05:35:48 PM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"Mail orders AWFUL, UNRELIABLE, Poorly managed process. Never received Michael Kors coat but they charged my acct right away!!!!. Took "my call" almost 4 weeks later to learn item sold out! Will be another week before i get my gift card money back. I had been badgering UPS! Friend had to track her order down also after ridiculous delay...I'm done..i have plenty of other places to shop. So long Bon ton...you lost a loyal customer after 25 years...the right thing to have done was to call me and tell me weeks back....the best thing about your co was the super customer service rep who figured out what happened and how to resolve."

modified review This review was modified by ggbuff on November 26 2014 08:56:09 AM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"The worst store ever. I tried to order on several occasions but with no success. Their website does not function at all, giving errors and not accepting credit cards. I called their customer service
twice and I even gave my credit card number to one of their reps hoping that my order would be processed. The same rep entered my order through their website again and told me that something was wrong with my credit card and that I should have called my bank to investigate this problem. What a nonsense!
I sent two emails to their customer service manager but got no response.
It is unbelievable that nobody cares about lost orders and profits in this company.
"

modified review This review was modified by Goldie23 on November 20 2014 03:50:31 PM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"Buying a duvet cover from Bon Ton was the most stressful and the worse shopping experience ever in my entire years of online shopping experience. This item is not cheap. It cost at least $75 if not much more. However, after I ordered the item and made payment for it the 'smart' Bon Ton employees decided to put it in the mail without any instruction to UPS that the package should require signature ... and guess what ... the 'smart' employees of UPS upon delivery just left the package in the lobby of my apartment complex without even giving me any notice ... :( When I found out the package was shown in Bon Ton's system and the UPS system as delivered, I was extremely upset because I did not receive the item nor notice re delivery and it is now shown as delivered after I paid almost $100 for a lost package .... So I immediately called Bon Ton to inquire regarding my shipment. I told them that the shipment was lost and I never received it. I demanded to know what will happen and Bon Ton simply told me that there is nothing they can do and that they would not refund my purchase nor reship me the product I ordered unless I wait for at least 3 weeks for UPS to do an investigation and only until UPS finishes their investigation and provides Bon Ton with a result then Bon Ton will determine whether to refund me or to reship me another one.
I was quite upset because 1) Bon Ton made the careless UPS delivery order; 2) Bon Ton chose the cheapest delivery method it could find without ensuring that its customer's safe receipt of the product/item we ordered; and 3) when the item goes missing, we the customers are the one left to deal with the consequences ... what kind of customer service is this but all I could do was wait.
So I waited 3 weeks ... there was not a word from Bon Ton. So after 3 agonizing weeks of waiting I called Bon Ton again to see if I can now get a replacement shipment from Bon Ton or a refund .... however, OMG to my further frustration and distraught ... I learned from the Bon Ton rep that not only did Bon Ton did nothing at all during these 3 weeks, it now tries to blame it on UPS saying that it had not been able to reach UPS therefore Bon Ton cannot reship or refund my $$ and I would need to wait for another 3-4 weeks...what the hell!!!
So I took the matter into my own hands and I called UPS regarding my shipment and demanded an answer ... Guess what I found out from UPS -- UPS said that they had been trying to reach Bon Ton many many times during the 3 weeks of waiting time, but Bon Ton never answered the calls or returned their calls so UPS closed the investigation a no result due to lack of response ... Armed with this information (I even took down the UPS supervisor's name and number so that I can let Bon Ton know what UPS said), I immediately called Bon Ton back and let them know that Bon Ton dropped the ball and caused the investigation to stall and demanded a reshipment ...
And GUESS WHAT ... Bon Ton representative then told me that I will need to wait for another 3-4 weeks because Bon Ton would need to wait for UPS to reopen the investigation because Bon Ton needs a result from UPS investigation ..... WHAT THE HACK!!! Really ... Bon Ton is the one delaying and stalling the UPS investigation and now they blame UPS for not having a result so that it does not need to reship or refund me my money????!! What is worse is that then I demanded Bon Ton representative to call UPS while I am on the phone to sort the matter out so that I do not need to wait for another 3-4 weeks for result ...this is when Bon Ton customer representative started to tell the truth and she told me she has no authority to make the call to UPS ... Bon Ton factory has to do that ... however she cannot provide me with the factory ## .... so basically ... she was telling me that Bon Ton cannot and will not do sh*t when they did a bad shipping job and it was my misfortune to order from Bon Ton and miss the shipment ... all I may get is the endless waiting for a response from Bon Ton because I would not be able to speak to the responsible department of Bon Ton regarding this matter .... I was flabbergasted ... I am now super upset with Bon Ton :(
After several more phone calls (probably 10 calls or more) and after my relentless pursue of a reship or refund from Bon Ton because after all this was an almost $100 order I finally was able to get a representative of Bon Ton who agreed with her supervisor's permission to help me put an end to this ordeal and finally Bon Ton agreed to reship the product to me. I must say the duvet cover felt like processed plastic ... not only does it make the plastic/noisy sound when you try to use it, the material is so coarse that I do not want it anywhere close to my skin ... not along to sleep in it ....
I probably will never order from Bon Ton again!!!
"

modified review This review was modified by LAGaL8 on October 03 2014 12:15:45 PM

Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"canceled my order without noted . no paypal accepted make me think they try to get your credit card info. for good. "


No Avatar
BonTon User
Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"Terrible, I got a Zwilling Knife Set to buy, when I put them into the shopping cart, I got 2, laterly turned into 3 email, each with a charge of $69.44, but I have never tried to place the order! They keep charging every two minutes, so I called AE to close my accout and dispute the purchase, if you want to make purchase on BonTon, think twice!"


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"As others have mentioned, their online website it terrible. They don't have real-time updates to their stock. I am guessing it is only verified at checkout because I am unable to process any of my orders. As the order is being processed it gives an error saying to call into their CS reps. When I call in they mention the item is in low inventory but the item can still be ordered. When I mentioned I have Shoprunner they said they are unable to process that outside of the website. So they lost an order and made me very disappointed.

Their management must be unaware of how terrible their online ordering is as clearly they don't even check this site. I don't think I will order again unless I see an improvement to their site.
"


Rating 2/10
1/5
modified review posted

"I wish I can write down the order # but I can't. since their stupid order system does not process any of my credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover). I also gave it multiple try using any of these credit card. It simply did not work. Always got "We are unable to process your credit card payment at this time. Please use a different payment method to complete your order or try again at a later time. If the problem continues, call Bon-Ton Customer Care at 1-800-945-4438 for assistance."
It does not matter how wonderful the product and how attractive the price is. You just can not make any order
"


BonTon is not a merchant member. If you're this merchant, learn more!

BonTon is not a merchant member
BonTon does NOT participate at ResellerRatings to monitor feedback and resolve your issues. Are you this merchant? Learn more about the Merchant Member Program!

See all Merchant Members »