»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2004, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Martoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 4,056
Martoch is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Martoch
Outdoors More eBay fraud!!!

WTF is up with this? Got this in the mail today...

Quote:
Dear eBay User,

We recently noticed one or more attempts to login into your eBay
account from a foreign IP address and we have reasons to believe that
your account has been hijacked by a third party without your
authorization.

In order to protect your sensitive information or unauthorized listings we temporarily suspended your account for further investigations. To reactivate your account, click on the link below and confirm your identity by completing the secure form that will appear.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual
login attempts may have been initiated by you.

Take our apologies for any inconvenience that this may cause.

Thank you

eBay Account Theft Prevention

http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayIS...ame=h:h:sin:US

The log in attempt was made from:

IP address: 205.188.211.167

ISP host: afxs-d32a.blue.aol.com
Is this BS or what!!!
Sign in on a non-secure form?

I'm filling out my info now...


Last edited by Martoch; 02-02-2004 at 04:06 PM.
Martoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
joker_927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,740
joker_927 is on a distinguished road
`

How do you know that THIS isn't the actual scam?

Someone sends you an e-mail and you goto the link, and put in your account information.
__________________
Gateway Top-of-the-line PC = $2014
Home built top-of-the-line PC = $928
Exact clones...

Moral = Don't build your own PC, thus letting me save more money than you!
joker_927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Martoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 4,056
Martoch is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Martoch
Hehe...that's what I was getting at with the littl winky guy.
Martoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
joker_927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,740
joker_927 is on a distinguished road
Oh geez, I thought you were actually filling this out, and I was just kind of joking. Geez, I would have filled out my information.

How can you tell if it is the real Ebay site or not?
__________________
Gateway Top-of-the-line PC = $2014
Home built top-of-the-line PC = $928
Exact clones...

Moral = Don't build your own PC, thus letting me save more money than you!
joker_927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Doesn't eBay have a disclaimer that they'll NEVER ask you for your username/password via e-mail or something like that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tomteriffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ohio (transplanted f
Posts: 2,673
Tomteriffic is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Tomteriffic
Mike, I've been getting them from eBay, PayPal, Earthlink, and credit card companies where I don't even have an account.

Some of 'em are GOOOOOD too! They even spoof the URL to include the https part, to get you to think you're logging into a secure site. The one from Earthlink was so good I had to call them, since I HAD made some changes to my service recently.

What happened next is the subject of a totally different rant, so I'll leave it at that.
__________________
A word to the wise is usually unneccessary.
Tomteriffic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 221
Army2001 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Army2001
yeah they do...this is quite common...I've had about 5 different versions now with all different excuses telling me to give my username and password...its total BS since they say they'll never ask for your password or username on their site
Army2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Xtreeme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: PA. USA
Posts: 1,372
Xtreeme is on a distinguished road
Yep read ebay disclamer. They wont ask you your acount info ever. Mark sender as spam. I would.
__________________
In the mind of a mad man!
Xtreeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,609
butch81385 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to butch81385
wow, that was cleanly done, the only difference i could find were this:
souce code did not include code for the stored cookie


other than that it looked the exact same (to a noobie like me)

anyone else find any differences
butch81385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 05:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,609
butch81385 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to butch81385
an interesting thing. the real ebay sign in site is http not https hmm...
butch81385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM.