»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2003, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mike_sanfil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
mike_sanfil is on a distinguished road
Wow! Is this hosting deal for real??

www.1and1.com

There is a deal on the home page of 1and1.com that offers 500mb of web space and 5gb/mon traffic. It also has every thing else you would want from a web hosting company, and it is all for free. (At least they claim) This free period also lasts for 3 years! I think this sounds as good as the $2.95 80gb hard drive, but they couldn't have made a mistake. (The ad is also in my PC Magazine) I just wondered where the catch is??

__________________
mike_sanfil
mike_sanfil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
krohnjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: ~/
Posts: 2,567
krohnjw is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to krohnjw
Hm, i poked around and couldnt find anything out of the ordinary. Looks like you have to use their proprietary software to connect and manage it, but they dont want a CC number or anything else to bill you with, and the liscense does state that it is free for 36 months, with a 1 month contract, auto renewing at the end of the month. So it doesnt look like you are locking into a 5 year contract with 3 years free or any garbage like that. Might be worth a look for the free hosting.
krohnjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mike_sanfil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
mike_sanfil is on a distinguished road
Terms & Conditions

Terms & Conditions

These are the terms that you have to agree to when you sign up.

sorry link is down for now*
__________________
mike_sanfil

Last edited by mike_sanfil; 11-17-2003 at 07:53 PM.
mike_sanfil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 07:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mike_sanfil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
mike_sanfil is on a distinguished road
bump
__________________
mike_sanfil
mike_sanfil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 05:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
UpYourz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philly
Posts: 334
UpYourz is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to UpYourz Send a message via AIM to UpYourz Send a message via Yahoo to UpYourz
That is some sweet offer...but for something like that you know theres a catch unless this is really true I'm going to host some of my sites there instead of where they are.
__________________
~Co-Owner of GamersHDQ.com~
UpYourz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 10:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
jay_barger is on a distinguished road
Ya it looks good, but there must be a catch. I wish i knew what it was, because that deal is crazy.
__________________
Jay Barger
jay_barger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 06:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
VHockey86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 1,588
VHockey86 is on a distinguished road
Well nothing looks unusual, but who knows.

I suppose its worth a try. What could they possibly do to you with an email
VHockey86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 10:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mike_sanfil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
mike_sanfil is on a distinguished road
Well they ask for your home address too. I wonder if they would try to bill me for something that I am not seeing.
__________________
mike_sanfil
mike_sanfil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 11:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 543
dragonb is on a distinguished road
I signed up. There doesn't seem to be a catch other than....
They are just reeling you in to becoming a paying customer.
The site they gave me, the address is something like 5425sd.1and1.com
not too appealing...so they try and sell you their domain name service(cheap at $6 a year) and then try to sell you their other stuff.
I'm gonna give it a try for a bit and see what happens. Won't run anything important on it obviously and I'll try to remember to update this with how it goes.
dragonb
dragonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2003, 05:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mike_sanfil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
mike_sanfil is on a distinguished road
thanks for the replies guys!
__________________
mike_sanfil
mike_sanfil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 AM.