Well, my server is on the RR network. It's not that they block all outgoing mail...it's just that they block all outgoing mail to users on the rr network. I think AOL blocks my mail, too.
When I try to send mail to users of AOL I get this message:
Your message
To:
XXXXX@aol.com
Subject: XXXXXXXXX
Sent: Sat, 20 Sep 2003 01:28:00 -0400
did not reach the following recipient(s):
XXXXX@aol.com on Sun, 21 Sep 2003 18:27:51 -0400
A configuration error in the e-mail system caused the message to bounce between two servers or to be forwarded between two recipients.
Contact your administrator.
<XXXXXXXXX.com #5.3.5>
Then when I try to send a message to somebody on the rr network I get a message back saying this:
Your message
To:
XXXXX@nc.rr.com
Subject:
Sent: Sun, 21 Sep 2003 18:24:17 -0400
did not reach the following recipient(s):
XXXXX@nc.rr.com on Sun, 21 Sep 2003 18:24:26 -0400
The message cannot be delivered due to a configuration error on the server. Please contact your Administrator.
<mydomain.com #5.3.0 smtp;553 5.3.0 Mail from
66.57.XXX.XX rejected, see
http://www.mail-abuse.org/dul>
And for the smart host what would you primarily put in? Like my stmp server primarily or what? Right now I have it set so it's using my DNS which is hosted by me.