This is complete BS. They are abusing the position that they have been given to to manage the root servers.
I hope that ICANN will step up to the plate and get this yanked as well as Verisigns duties.
The problem with mail and this is one of the most effective ways of stopping bogus mail (spam) is making sure that the domain exists, so if someone says they are
bob@dkfjdkfjdkjk.com it will be rejected because the domain is invalid hence the address.
Verisign has a history of sending out misleading domain renewal letters that switch your hosting to them and a number of other questionably practices.
Now, when you try to goto
http://www.somenameIwant.com you will be sent to Verisign where you can (wonder of wonders) buy it from them even tho they don't own it, nobody does. This will mislead many people into thinking that they must buy it from Verisign.
This makes MS antics look Micky Mouse.
This may make it more clear what this is doing, try this with any jibberish address and you will get 64.94.110.11 where you should get nonexistant domain.
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\mark>nslookup dkjfslkjdfklsdjf.com
Server: thor.siliconjunkie.net
Address: 10.0.0.2
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: dkjfslkjdfklsdjf.com
Address: 64.94.110.11
C:\Documents and Settings\mark>nslookup www.dsdkfsdkfsdkjfdskj.com
Server: thor.siliconjunkie.net
Address: 10.0.0.2
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.dsdkfsdkfsdkjfdskj.com
Address: 64.94.110.11
C:\Documents and Settings\mark>ping www.dskfjdsfkjdfs.com
Pinging www.dskfjdsfkjdfs.com [64.94.110.11] with 32 bytes of data: