wuauclt.exe - Any idea what it does? - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2003, 04:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stafford, Staffs, UK
Posts: 148
peterwilkes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to peterwilkes
wuauclt.exe - Any idea what it does?

I have recently downloaded an update using the Windows Update Auto Update tool on my Windows XP Pro Machine. The update downloaded quickly and so I chose to install it, an alert box popped up from Zone Alrm Pro alerting me that the program wuauclt.exe has changed.

Could this be a virus / trjoan that someone has sent to my PC?

I have serched for a while on the internet and found several pages about wuauclt.exe being a networking component and another page saying it could be a trojan.

I have denied the access for now just on the safe side.

__________________
Peter
peter@firtytoo.com
peterwilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 461
beppodmime is on a distinguished road
Well, you could download and install AVG antivirus along with the latest reference files, and run a scan and find out. AVG is a free AV program, and it performs very well. They keep up on the updates even with the free version, although they do offer a pay version with a few more features, and a better interface.

Go here to download AVG Free version:

http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php

They do ask you a few questions on how the software will be used, and they do require a valid E-mail address to mail you a liscensing key.
__________________
"I was absolutely astounded that something like a Chee-to could become a pop icon," said Evans. "It's international. I've even seen it online on a Russian site."

beppodmime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stafford, Staffs, UK
Posts: 148
peterwilkes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to peterwilkes
Thanks, it's all sorted now, Norton said it was ok, I checked out a few more of the details like the version numbers etc and it seems to be a genuine windows file.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
Peter
peter@firtytoo.com
peterwilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
possibly could be a virus

http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/ven...kdoor.clt.html

Quote:
When Backdoor.Clt is executed, it performs the following actions:


Copies itself as %System%\WUAUCLT.EXE.


Adds the value:

"Microsoft auto update"="%System%\wuauclt.exe"

to the registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run

so that the Trojan runs when you start Windows.


Connects to an IRC server to receive commands. By default, the Trojan will connect to irc.icq.com on port 6667 and join a specific channel.
the link also includes removal information



here is a link for a free online scan

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Quote:
FILENAME: Wuauclt.exe.
PROGRAM NAME: Windows Update AutoUpdate client.
DESCRIPTION: Retrieves updates from Windows Update server.
RECOMMENDED ACTION: Always permit. But be warned: According to Microsoft, updates may invoke DRM restrictions, preventing you from playing multimedia content already on your system. Read the details of each update before applying it.
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,640479,00.asp
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 09:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Germany / Hessen
Posts: 8
Mister_L is on a distinguished road
Easy, Easy.... the Windows Update Automatic Update client (Wuauclt.exe) is just the Client for this Service. It was updatet by the update that is all
Mister_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 10:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
true Mister_L but never hurts to scan for viruses like i suggested
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 02:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stafford, Staffs, UK
Posts: 148
peterwilkes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to peterwilkes
This is tricky, assuming that the virus checker doesn't know about / can't detect the virus / trojan, how do I know whether I have the good or the bad file on my system?
__________________
Peter
peter@firtytoo.com
peterwilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 02:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
puk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: toronto
Posts: 481
puk is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by peterwilkes
This is tricky, assuming that the virus checker doesn't know about / can't detect the virus / trojan, how do I know whether I have the good or the bad file on my system?
You can d/l Active Ports it's free! to monitor which ports are opened & by what process!......
I do hope you are using a firewall and Ad-aware & SpyBoot!

Puk
puk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Gait_Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 1,709
Gait_Keeper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Gait_Keeper
Quote:
Originally posted by Mister_L
Easy, Easy.... the Windows Update Automatic Update client (Wuauclt.exe) is just the Client for this Service. It was updatet by the update that is all
you are safe this time, always have anti-virus up to date, and zone alarm is great even the free version, and common sense.

I had one similar " PTsnoop.exe " there is a trojan with that name, and it is a legit program with the same name, it hepls the riser for the modem on my K7S5A board

I got worried just like you.
Gait_Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stafford, Staffs, UK
Posts: 148
peterwilkes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to peterwilkes
Just checked everything out and is seems to be all legit.

My computer is behind a NAT Router and is also firewalled by Zone Alarm Pro. Norton 2003 Pro is running all the time. I also use Ad-aware and often run it on a weekly basis. It's amazing what it finds. My cop is oftem disconnected from the net when I am not using it anyway by pulling the plug.

Thanaks for the help.

Peter
__________________
Peter
peter@firtytoo.com
peterwilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (9)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)
Are the sites like this for rea.. (3)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.