»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2003, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Terminal23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Groveland,Florida
Posts: 564
Terminal23 is on a distinguished road
Is this Legit?

http://www.buysusa.com/
Photoshop 7 $49.99
I can't tell if this is legal or not.

Terminal23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bill in SD, CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bottom left of U.S.
Posts: 4,714
Bill in SD, CA is on a distinguished road
Scary IMO.

Bill
Bill in SD, CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
davidamarkley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 2,208
davidamarkley is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to davidamarkley Send a message via AIM to davidamarkley
Well, my gut feeling says it's not legit...
If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

This paragraph is found under each description of the products:

Quote:
(Please Read)
This is a cd only sale. All cd’s are brand new and still in the factory seal. This is the full version not a limited or trial version. As bundled software it qualifies for all online upgrades but does not qualify for technical support registration from Adobe.This is the Windows version only, sorry not for Mac.
Notice two key phrases, "bundled software" and "does not qualify for technical support registration".

What is the software bundled with? From what I saw on the site, nothing. It sounds like they somwhere aquired some OEM versions of the software that would have originally been bundled with some computer systems and/or hardware. As far as I know, it's illegal to sell/resell bundled software unless the company/publisher gave 100% approval in their EULA. Which I doubt Adobe would have done. The second phrase seems strange. Any version of software that I've used, whether it be the trial, demo, full, OEM, or bundled version, there's usually a registration form that they offer you to fill out. So, this company is asking you to not fill out the registration, since you, in essence, aren't getting the retail version.

The second phrase I could've just gone over the deep end with, but the first part about it being bundled software, is something to be very wary about.

HTH,

David
__________________
-David
davidamarkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
willy_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Trent University
Posts: 1,864
willy_ph is on a distinguished road
I woudn't trust it. Definitely looks like a bit of a shady deal. You could always contact Adobe and see if they consider it a legitimate deal or not.

Maybe they're selling just the cd's, without serial numbers, for 50 bucks. Even then, i'm still trying to figure out if it's a legit deal.
willy_ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MatrixmaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 353
MatrixmaN is on a distinguished road
I'd buy it...
MatrixmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
davidamarkley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Joplin, MO
Posts: 2,208
davidamarkley is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to davidamarkley Send a message via AIM to davidamarkley
Well, in their FAQ, it says:

Quote:
All Software is brand new and still in it’s factory seal. All software has a serial number and can be upgraded. There is no retail box or manual included. Just a new sealed CD.

We can sell at such low prices because we not only buy in bulk but the software was to be bundled with hardware originally. Therefore it does not qualify for tech. support registration. However it will download all updates from the manufacturer. Some are purchased from bankruptcy sales, auctions etc. If you want tech support you need to buy the retail version at full price from a local software store.
Even though they say where they got it from, I'm still thinking it's not the best idea.

But, at least they do give you the still wrapped CD w/ serial number on it. So you can't be nabbed for using pirated media.

If you think it's too good to pass up, then grab your guts and go for it. But, I've seen too many scams to believe this one is any different.

David
__________________
-David
davidamarkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
oolunchbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 169
oolunchbox is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to oolunchbox Send a message via Yahoo to oolunchbox
i'd steer clear of it.. MaximumPC had a letter a while back about a guy who got burned on a deal a lot like that.. they didnt mention any URLS or anything but this deal sounds way too close to the one in the letter....
__________________
PeACE
-=LuNCH
oolunchbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 01:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Terminal23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Groveland,Florida
Posts: 564
Terminal23 is on a distinguished road
OOH...This is so hard to pass up.I'll sleep on it tonight.The sites been up for awhile,so if it weren't legit I'd think it be down by now.I guess I'm trying to convince myself it's ok.
Terminal23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 01:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Terminal23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Groveland,Florida
Posts: 564
Terminal23 is on a distinguished road
UPDATE

I called Adobe and talk to their customer service and yes it's bogus.Pirates ahoy captain.
Terminal23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 AM.