»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2003, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
JW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 77
JW is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to JW
Kids cdcheap software

Received this e-mail today.

WHY we are giving away Top Quality Software at ROCK BOTTOM Prices…

Get your hands on the leading software products at only a fraction of the costs! You don’t have to spend hundreds, or even thousands of dollars on the top software brands out there.

CDCheap is now offering the original software at only a fraction of the cost.

Why? Because we only sell the OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) Editions – No thick manuals, no large boxes, just the discs with the software of your choice!

Dare to compare our prices with others and you'll be amazed!

Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2002

Retail Price: $270.99
Our LOW Price: $50.00
You Save: $220!
Item#: MS1W2P
Buy Now

Adobe Photoshop 7.0

Retail Price: $609.00
Our LOW Price: $60.00
You Save: $549.00!
Item#: A71J2
Buy Now

Office XP Professional 98/WME/NT/W2K

Retail Price: $579.00
Our LOW Price: $100.00
You Save: $479.00!
Item#: MP112
Buy Now

©2002-2003 CDCheap, Inc All Rights Reserved.

Link goes here;

http://www.wlycos.com/offers/

Click buy now goes here;

https://www.smart-payments.com/cgi-b...m=317&a=100754

and reads;

You are purchasing a Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2002 for 50.00 USD
A transaction fee from 4.65 USD up to 8.00 USD will be taken by Smart Payments for purchase assistance.
All transactions are performed with the help of a secure protocol.
All fraudulent transactions will be investigated and prosecuted! Your IP-address is logged.
Note: Please mind that processing of your order might take some time.

and the company your paying is here;

http://www.softwarebargain.net/


Has anyone heard of or purchased from them before?

jw

JW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
geobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: enterprise alabama
Posts: 221
geobot is on a distinguished road
"This software is recognized as a backup software". from there site, i wouldnt take a chance
geobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
NDC
Registered User
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 7,872
NDC is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to NDC Send a message via Yahoo to NDC
I wouldn't pay those prices for PIRATED SOFTWARE.. Would you?

http://www.softwarebargain.net/faq.html#how

Quote:
How can you sell this software so cheap? It seems to good to be true - is there a catch?
There is no catch - the software versions that we sell are OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) which means you will receive the installation CDs only (they do not come in their original retail packing and do not include the manual). We do guarantee that all programs are the 100% full working retail versions - no demos or academic versions! When you order, you will receive all materials required for a complete installation - or your money back! Why pay hundreds dollars more when you can get exactly the same but cheaper? You don't have to pay that much for the fancy box and manuals.

This software is recognized as a backup software.
__________________
[NDC]
NDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ben-the-slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: MSU
Posts: 1,076
ben-the-slacker is on a distinguished road
Looks like a scam to me. Esp since it came in your email. I don't think educational discounts even go that low.
ben-the-slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 1,437
SeanC is on a distinguished road
Scam. If bulk retailers can't get OEM software for $50 then how can they? Reeks of a scam.

Sean
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JPMiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,275
JPMiller is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to JPMiller
Interesting...If anyone is brave enough to order from them I would be curious to hear about it...I did a little reading and you have to go through them for updates and cannot register the software...they say so right up front...Interesting.......
JPMiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Chuckiechan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sacto, Colliefornia
Posts: 787
Chuckiechan is on a distinguished road
If the fact that is't probably counterfiet dosen't scare you, this should:

Quote:
Note: Please mind that processing of your order might take some time.
While they do what? Drain your credit card? Move to wherever?

Someone will nibble, that's the principle of SPAM! One in a million? 25 million spams?
__________________
"I pledge allegiance to school vouchers and to the values for which they stand"
Chuckiechan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
JW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 77
JW is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to JW
Glad to see the thoughts here are the same as I had.
I'm out.
jw
JW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 07:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Droppyale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: -----------
Posts: 1,798
Droppyale is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Droppyale Send a message via Yahoo to Droppyale


LET"S ALL SING IT....

SCAM lalala SPAM lalalala SCAM.

Droppyale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 06:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
windzer is on a distinguished road
not a scam !

i have recived my xp pro for 50$ looks like russen languege
windzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.