»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2003, 01:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alaska
Posts: 6
UntouchableDom is on a distinguished road
Dream come true or nightmare? (cheap 3.0 ghz laptop)

Okay, we all love speed, and I am not talking about the drug either, but sometimes you gotta question the seller. I was looking through the internet looking for a site that sells reletivly cheap laptops that have some 'UMPH' behind them, sort of an oxy-moron. Well I came across http://www.portablez.com

Heres the thing, they are selling...

15" SXGA+ (1400x1050) TFT Screen
ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 w/64MB Video RAM
Intel® Pentium® 4 3.06GHz HT Processor
533MHz Frontside Bus Speed
512MB 333MHz DDR RAM / 40.0GB HDD
Combo 8X DVD & 24x12x24 CD-RW
Four USB 2.0 Ports
High-Capacity Smart Li-Ion Battery
Built-In Stereo Sound System Console

plus a bundle pack worth $1200 they say all for the

low
low
low price of..... $1500!

Is this possible? I even had a chat with their online customer service people, but it doesn't seem real somehow, it doesn't add up. They are even on resellerratings.com but there is only a couple of reviews....they are new I am guessing.

They said that in october they are upgrading the g732 package, (the one I am concerned about $$$ wise) to the new eight hundreded MHZ frontside bus speed and they are making the Video Card a 128 MB Radeon Mobility 9600....does this seem real? Or just a scam? I need some thoughts and opinions because I am fighting with my self to or tonot take a chance...

__________________
------------------------
Spaceballs quote o' the day

"Evil will always triumph, becuase good is dumb..."
UntouchableDom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PyroSama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,361
PyroSama is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to PyroSama
Well there isnt a 3.06ghz P4 with the 800mhz FSB it goes 3.00ghz then 3.2ghz. Not based on that but other lappy prices I would say scam.



PyroSama
__________________
[imgbox=#000000]http://clanimo.com/themes/bluebyu/images/logo.gif[/imgbox][url=http://www.clanimo.com]ClanIMO.com[/url]
PyroSama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PyroSama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,361
PyroSama is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to PyroSama
Quote:
$1,549.00 or $1509 (Cash)

SCAM!!!
__________________
[imgbox=#000000]http://clanimo.com/themes/bluebyu/images/logo.gif[/imgbox][url=http://www.clanimo.com]ClanIMO.com[/url]
PyroSama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: midvale, utah
Posts: 1,296
Jeordiewhite is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Jeordiewhite Send a message via AIM to Jeordiewhite Send a message via Yahoo to Jeordiewhite
That's a hard to beat price, $1500 is low but still enough to matter spending that on something and possibly getting ripped, it looks real, but who can really tell?
Jeordiewhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: midvale, utah
Posts: 1,296
Jeordiewhite is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Jeordiewhite Send a message via AIM to Jeordiewhite Send a message via Yahoo to Jeordiewhite
I don't see windows included, so it may be cheaper.. lol
It does look like a scam too low of cost.
Jeordiewhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
anonymous me is on a distinguished road
i don't really know about computer
but this is their rating

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller3530.html
anonymous me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PyroSama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,361
PyroSama is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to PyroSama
Um be carefull I was snooping around the site and came across his server logs and database all easy to get to and downloadable. He has no security fo those at all. Also the photoshop sorce files for the images and every thing. Right out in the open for any one to see.



PyroSama
__________________
[imgbox=#000000]http://clanimo.com/themes/bluebyu/images/logo.gif[/imgbox][url=http://www.clanimo.com]ClanIMO.com[/url]
PyroSama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 02:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MrPurple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 633
MrPurple is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to MrPurple Send a message via AIM to MrPurple
Doubt that its a scam, but migth be.
There are alot of unknow resellers and companies who make laptops and sell them alot cheaper than the prices of the more known ones. Be warned tho, the do cut costs, like cheap plastic as the case, no battery life to speak off, etc.
This thing will mostlikely weight like a bundle of bricks and will be able to fry an egg.
__________________
-=Marcin=-
MrPurple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PyroSama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 2,361
PyroSama is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to PyroSama
He also runs


mobileperipherals.com


Same site. Kinda odd. Its stored seperately on his HDD in C:/MP_site_final/ and portablez.com in C:\PORTABLeZ and he has a third just like the other two. Kinda fishy if you ask me.

But then again he has been around since the PIII days.


http://www.mobileperipherals.com/images/


PyroSama
__________________
[imgbox=#000000]http://clanimo.com/themes/bluebyu/images/logo.gif[/imgbox][url=http://www.clanimo.com]ClanIMO.com[/url]

Last edited by PyroSama; 06-27-2003 at 02:03 PM.
PyroSama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2003, 02:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alaska
Posts: 6
UntouchableDom is on a distinguished road
got some skills there dontcha pyro? heh.

Anyway, I am glad you all put your 2 cents out there about this site, knowing me I would go along and jump for it....-_-''
But they do have ratings...all which are suspiciously closein date....don't know..
__________________
------------------------
Spaceballs quote o' the day

"Evil will always triumph, becuase good is dumb..."
UntouchableDom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.