www.wordofmouth.com - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2003, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island, New YorK
Posts: 205
Arjay13 is on a distinguished road
www.wordofmouth.com

Hi
I received an email today saying that someone had posted a "report" about my email address with www.wordofmouth.com. I went to the site and there were 4 records about my email address - two requests for info and two posts of info. Everything is reputed to be anonymous.
I didn't log into the site but I am VERY uncomfortable about what might be going on there. Anyone know anything about this site? Its FAQ says it is prompting "word of mouth" as a new powerful information tool and that it is totally legit.
Something seems fishy to me!

__________________
While one person hesitates because he feels inferior, the other is busy making mistakes and becoming superior
Arjay13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TOO close to Wash DC
Posts: 7,955
vass0922 is on a distinguished road
quite possibly is
My guess is they're 'fishing' for you to sign up and give other people's information in exchange for prizes and gifts etc and somebody else you know was possibly sucked into it. Either that or they just picked up your email address from some public area like a website.
__________________
<< Insert exceedingly large and overly verbose message of how 1337 you are here including full specs of every vehicle you've ever driven and PC you've owned >>
vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hmm, wonder why it takes you to "http://www.indigio.com/whatwedo/overview.asp" ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 455
jrock is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to jrock
yes.....seems very scammy. seems like a none opt-in spam service or something
jrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island, New YorK
Posts: 205
Arjay13 is on a distinguished road
Thats not the site the link in the email I received sent me! When I went back to my email to check the exact link, the message was gone. I don't recall deleting it either. I guess I'll wait until the next one shows up...sorry.
__________________
While one person hesitates because he feels inferior, the other is busy making mistakes and becoming superior
Arjay13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
foodbiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 355
foodbiz is on a distinguished road
It smells like a Scam!
foodbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island, New YorK
Posts: 205
Arjay13 is on a distinguished road
The correct link

Checkout this link

http://word-of-mouth.info/srea.asp?e...@optonline.com

I think you'll see why it is disturbing to me. It seems like a nasty fishing expedition for personal data...I don't like it one bit and am considering forwarding this info to the authorities (State Attrny General or....)

It seems to be associated with www.researchingpeople.com(found in the email "from" part) but that website doesnt exist...

Any ideas? Thanks

I googled word-of-mouth and came up with the following link. There are many more
http://www.mu-sly.co.uk/articles/_/article/5
__________________
While one person hesitates because he feels inferior, the other is busy making mistakes and becoming superior

Last edited by Arjay13 : 05-02-2003 at 09:55 PM.
Arjay13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
chris64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,483
chris64 is on a distinguished road
I believe something about wordofmouth.com has been posted here before. Might want to do a search of techimo.
__________________
Got Jesus?
chris64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 09:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DutchMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NL or rest of EU
Posts: 2,039
DutchMaster is on a distinguished road
Some smart idea of a internet entrepreneur gaining money this way.
In other words spam-scam
DutchMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2003, 09:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
chris64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,483
chris64 is on a distinguished road
Site with similar name, might be same person(s).

http://www.techimo.com/forum/showthr...threadid=49262
__________________
Got Jesus?
chris64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)

Recent Discussions
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)
Are the sites like this for rea.. (3)
LORIMER ELECTRONICS: REFURBISHE.. (3)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 PM.