www.wordofmouth.com - Page 3 - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2004, 11:02 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
crystaldragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Springfield,Mo
Posts: 564
crystaldragon is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to crystaldragon
I just checked the first link. It goes to an outfit (same name) that says it sells software for opt in mailing use.

Just a new variation on an old scam.

__________________
Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it
crystaldragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 11:32 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
bizkid is on a distinguished road
hello all,
I have recently received an email from this site. As a result of applying online for a few positions. I researched the register of this site on domainbank.com. If you want, you can find the owner of this site -- go to whois this link and input the url and the info will come up. I also did some additional research and the person lives in California. This person must be taken off the internet for good.
bizkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 08:16 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redbourn,Hertfordshi
Posts: 1
Blair Cann is on a distinguished road
wordofmouth

Hello everyone. Getting here is a long story but I am based in Cuffley,Hertfordshire,England and I just wanted to add that this "scam"(for such it appears to be!) has now appeared in the UK. I have had in the last fortnight two E Mails from them claiming I am being researched-let's be honest this may be scary but it is also a little flattering to think someone is checking you out. However clearly we are supposed to sign up for whatever (think 20 dollars is about 12 pounds over here) and then clear off.
My thanks to everyone who contributed to this thread-it has been an eye opener.
Blair Cann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 08:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1
bri300570 is on a distinguished road
Hiya gang , i am new to this forum and have also had a few e-mails from word of mouth over the past week.It is very scarey if it is true that people, are trying to find out stuff about you i think.I just hjope it is a scam.I sent a complaint e-mail to the site and they said it is legal for people to give information out about you behind your back.If so this "wordofmouth.com" has to be the sickest site i have come across , i always thought it was a invation of privacy for someone to do this.would it be ok for me to cut and paste the reply i had of them on this forum?
Thanx all Brian
__________________
Brian
bri300570 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2004, 02:43 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
jloring is on a distinguished road
4/10/04: I recently have received 3 of these emails purporting to come from WordofMouth.com and I was glad to find this forum. Gossip and rumour are evil enough in the "real world". Now I know to bounce back their emails although I did email the site through a contact link and complained about what they were doing, i.e. promoting gossip and rumour + charging alot of $ each month to even get supposed access! I've not had a reply to date.
jloring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 12:44 AM   #26 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
CityGuide is on a distinguished road
I just got my first mailing from these slime-balls. It tells me that six people are researching my background, a disconcerting claim for a freelancer like me. I was suspicious from the get-go, and this forum has strengthened my resolve to ignore their blandishments. Thanks to all posters -- especially those who actually tried trial memberships. May you get your well-deserved refunds!

C[>o<]G
CityGuide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:03 AM   #27 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ben-the-slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: MSU
Posts: 1,076
ben-the-slacker is on a distinguished road
I used to always get junk from them. I think there's a link on the bottom of each email you can click on to get them to remove you from the email list. I can't remember exactly what I did, but I don't get emails from them anymore.
ben-the-slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 02:16 AM   #28 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OuTpaTienT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 6,966
OuTpaTienT is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to OuTpaTienT
Quote:
Originally posted by ben-the-slacker
I used to always get junk from them. I think there's a link on the bottom of each email you can click on to get them to remove you from the email list. I can't remember exactly what I did, but I don't get emails from them anymore.
Don't ever use the "remove me from your list" link with a suspected spammer. Doing so usually generates more spam not less.
OuTpaTienT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 03:10 AM   #29 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ben-the-slacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: MSU
Posts: 1,076
ben-the-slacker is on a distinguished road
Worked fine for me. Haven't had spam in a coupla weeks.
ben-the-slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2004, 04:44 AM   #30 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tazzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 172
Tazzin is on a distinguished road
I agree with OuTpaTienT...

when you click those links and send them an email back.. they just know that your email is "active" and that you are receiving email at that address. They collect these email addresses and either sell them to other companies.. or just spam you with other ads.

I think that their should be a National DNS group or something similar.. where users can report these types of sites and eventually have them removed off of all the DNS servers residing in the jurisdiction of the group.... like say all the DNS servers in the USA... if that is even possible...
Tazzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
UGG boots profitable business f.. (0)
UGG boots profitable business f.. (0)
please ignore (1625)
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.