»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2007, 02:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
michaels39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 430
michaels39 is on a distinguished road
Trojan on Flawless Computer site?

Has anyone else experienced a Trojan alert by their AV program when clicking the link for Flawless Computers?Saw their ad here and thought I'd check them out,as soon as I connected with their site,I got a trojan warning from McAfee.This happened on two different attempts,so something's definitely wrong there.

Flawless Computers Reviews at ResellerRatings:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Flawless_Computers

michaels39 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
I had that happen on the boards here once. McAfee was picking something up in someone's post as being virus like. LOL. Is it giving a name or just a general alert? If it's just a general alert then it is likely just being set off by some code on the website page.

Is this the site? Link disabled as this site attempts to d/l a trojan.
I'm running McAfee Enterprise ver 8.0i and I'm not getting anything. The site has not yet been rated by McAfee's Site Advisor, so I submitted it for review.

EDIT:
Done, don't know how long it takes for them to check the site out. You can check back at the link below.
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/fla...s.com/summary/

Last edited by nomaxim; 02-21-2007 at 12:53 PM.
nomaxim is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
michaels39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 430
michaels39 is on a distinguished road
The alert says it is the download/aus trojan,and it happen every time I go to the site.
michaels39 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
What is the exact wording?
I searched Avert library for "download/aus trojan" and got no returns.
I searched for "/aus trojan" and got these two;
1. "Nordex", Trojan:http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_140856.htm
2. "W32/Bagle.aj!proxy", Virus: http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_127029.htm
Both are low risk.

Also, what ver of McAfee are you running?

Last edited by nomaxim; 02-21-2007 at 09:53 AM.
nomaxim is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
michaels39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 430
michaels39 is on a distinguished road
I read the name wrong(I was in a hurry to get rid of it),the full name is JS/DOWNLOADER-AUD trojan,the McAfee profile is here:
http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/defau...virus_k=139961
michaels39 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Be sure that your McAfee engine and DAT's are up to date.
Turn off "System Restore"
Run McAfee.
Turn "System Restore" back on.
You should be clean after that. This may require one or two restarts.

Looks like this one gets in through Internet Explorer (IE) with Java-script. (I use FireFox (FF) as a browser, that may be why I got nothing. I tried IE and got the same alert that you did.

That site has a private registration and is only registered for one year, and the only contact info is a toll-free number. No mailing address or payment methods.I would stay away from them. Looks like a scam site, and they are passing along a trojan.

Just a side note; MS06-014 MS has issued a patch for this trojan. If you system is fully updated then you should be fine.
REF:KB911562

Last edited by nomaxim; 02-21-2007 at 01:38 PM.
nomaxim is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flawlesscomputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 2
flawlesscomputer is infamous around these parts
This is the first time I've ever even heard of this and I used to be in the web design business. My programmers are much more experienced than whoever scripted RR. My customers and I both experience new problems every couple weeks with this site.

Flawless Computers does not contain a "virus". It's McAffee's ignorance or over protection that's causing this alert, most likely due to the LivePerson javascript code on the page.

Download all updates and patches and it probably won't happen again.
flawlesscomputer is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
flawlesscomputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 2
flawlesscomputer is infamous around these parts
Looks like there's another ignorant person here. 90% of large companies make their registration private so personal contact information isn't out in the public. Also, the domain renews automatically every year. No mailing address because we don't have a storefront, we're in a warehouse. Payment methods are the obvious - same as every other site. Our customer's are not that stupid to not figure the simple things. If you want to call us a scam site again or say any other rude things I'd be glad to file defamation of character and slander charges against you.

Brian Smith - President
Flawless Computers, LLC
720.690.9388


Quote:
Originally Posted by nomaxim View Post
Be sure that your McAfee engine and DAT's are up to date.
Turn off "System Restore"
Run McAfee.
Turn "System Restore" back on.
You should be clean after that. This may require one or two restarts.

Looks like this one gets in through Internet Explorer (IE) with Java-script. (I use FireFox (FF) as a browser, that may be why I got nothing. I tried IE and got the same alert that you did.

That site has a private registration and is only registered for one year, and the only contact info is a toll-free number. No mailing address or payment methods.I would stay away from them. Looks like a scam site, and they are passing along a trojan.

Just a side note; MS06-014 MS has issued a patch for this trojan. If you system is fully updated then you should be fine.
REF:KB911562
flawlesscomputer is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 11:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
ResellerRatings Staff
 
RobRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Posts: 49,124
RobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond reputeRobRich has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by flawlesscomputer
....say any other rude things....
Brian, you have certainly said plenty of rude things here. Take a step back, calm down, and get on with your business. We uphold a certain standard of conduct within the ResellerRatings forums. Please consult the conduct guidelines established in our Forum FAQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forum FAQ
Members will notice immediately that ResellerRatings' forums are unlike many other message boards on the Internet. One of our policies has always been to treat each other with respect and dignity, and we do not allow obscene language. These policies for conduct are our top concern and are actively enforced.
Thread locked.
RobRich is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 11:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Admin RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,601
Admin RR is on a distinguished road
Perhaps an honest javascript error, however the exploit is reported at this explabs.com site.

Quote:
STOP! LinkScanner Online has found the exploit:
[WebAttacker] at:
http://flawlesscomputers.com
Click the following link to learn more about this exploit in our KnowledgeBase:
WebAttacker
Admin RR is offline  
Closed Thread




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.