»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Tech Support

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2004, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Ponte is on a distinguished road
Worm.SomeFool.Gen-2

Can anyone help me, I think I have been sent the virus through email. I have been receiving emails back because it says I have the virus and my computer is restarting at random times. I downloaded the detectors for the biggies like the blaster bug, but it says I don't have it. Can anyone list the symptoms and give me a cure?

Thanks in advance

Ponte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bill in SD, CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bottom left of U.S.
Posts: 4,714
Bill in SD, CA is on a distinguished road
Welcome to TechIMO!!

Online virus scan:

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/hous...start_corp.asp

Bill
Bill in SD, CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bill in SD, CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bottom left of U.S.
Posts: 4,714
Bill in SD, CA is on a distinguished road
http://www.techimo.com/forum/t102721.html

Bill
Bill in SD, CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Ponte is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the help...it deleted a worm directly after I started the scan and it detected two previously un-noticed trojans.

Thank You!
Ponte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2004, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bill in SD, CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bottom left of U.S.
Posts: 4,714
Bill in SD, CA is on a distinguished road
Glad I could help!!



Bill
Bill in SD, CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
papadan is on a distinguished road
I have a problem with my web site and it appears to be caused by this same virus. Worm.SomeFool.Gen-2 My site is www.hoistman.com and I have several different emails for visitors to contact me by. All emails for my site have forwarders that send them to my Bellsouth email address and all replies are from my bellsouth email. I have been receiving a large number of emails saying that my mail from my @hoistman.com accounts is infected with this virus. I am unable to send any emails from my site name but people are blaming me for this virus attack. Does anyone here know how I can find out who or where these emails are originating from? Thanks papadan
papadan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2004, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
laduerksen is on a distinguished road
papadam

Worm.SomeFool is the Netsky virus as identified by Clamav.

It is a virus that fakes sender. Which means that improperly configured mail servers bounce back a notification to the reported sender when it is actually sent by someone else.

Most email filters have settings to identify "viruses that fake sender" and disable sender notification accordingly.
laduerksen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 09:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
guerra is on a distinguished road
I used the online virus scan and it removed the Worm.SomeFool.Gen-2 virus too.

Thank you!
guerra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.