»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2003, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 20
MTAtech is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to MTAtech Send a message via Yahoo to MTAtech
ATM Card Fraud Alert!!!

I consider this a serious bankcard fraud threat.

Please note the below email. I personally received it today, seemingly from Citibank (except for the poor grammar.) The hyperlink does go to the actual Citibank website. However, it also displays a popup dialog box, in the Citibank style, that prompts for one's ATM card number, PIN number and date of expiration. THE POPUP IS NOT FROM CITIBANK. I was able to trace the IP address, (194.85.33.241) to an Internet Service Provider (ISP) in Russia.

I reported this to Citibank and they told me that other banks are experiencing the same problem. Obviously, if you receive a similar email, DO NOT provide the personal financial information requested.

=========================================

Dear Citibank Member,
>
> This email was sent by the Citibank server to verify your e-mail
> address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link
> below and entering in the small window your Citibank ATM/Debit
> Card number and PIN that you use on ATM.
> This is done for your protection -- because some of our members
> no longer have access to their email addresses and we must
> verify it.
>
> To verify your e-mail address and access your bank account,
> click on the link below. If nothing happens when you click on the
> link (or if you use AOL), copy and paste the link into the address
> bar of your web browser.
>
>
>
http://www.citibank.com:ac-Pir4nKdrp...HOPfPdEzFzoY1u

__________________
MTAtech - 'Fare and Balanced'
MTAtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
WOW!!!
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,533
John Prophet is on a distinguished road
"> This is done for your protection -- because some of our members
> no longer have access to their email addresses and we must
> verify it."



hmmm..ever so slightly "fishy" sounding grammar....usually the tipoff
__________________
"Even a fool is thought to be wise if he is silent"
John Prophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Martoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 4,056
Martoch is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Martoch
Re: ATM Card Fraud Alert!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by MTAtech

http://www.citibank.com:ac-Pir4nKdrp...HOPfPdEzFzoY1u
Notice there's no S on http://blah blah.com ...easy way to detect a fraud right off the bat. They want you to enter your PIN # at a non-secure site? haha!
Martoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 20
MTAtech is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to MTAtech Send a message via Yahoo to MTAtech
Most people aren't so sophistocated, Martoch. In fact, I've met so many people that can't even download an attachment.
__________________
MTAtech - 'Fare and Balanced'
MTAtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Martoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 4,056
Martoch is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Martoch
Quote:
Originally posted by MTAtech
I've met so many people that can't even download an attachment.
How true! I guess I get used to hanging out here around all you computer geeks!
Martoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TOO close to Wash DC
Posts: 7,956
vass0922 is on a distinguished road
citibank.com:ac-Pir4nKdrpJ5tIkmFTtQA@kyd6seay5.da.ru

da.ru ... nice .. yep its citibank alright.. when did they move to russia

The @ sign in the URL means its just a username/pass


scary stuff

__________________
<< Insert exceedingly large and overly verbose message of how 1337 you are here including full specs of every vehicle you've ever driven and PC you've owned >>
vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2003, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TheBurningCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane, Aus.
Posts: 1,374
TheBurningCat is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to TheBurningCat Send a message via AIM to TheBurningCat Send a message via Yahoo to TheBurningCat
www.da.ru is the site it's bouncing off. My google tool bar was like NO POP UPS FOR YOU CHARLIE
__________________
--
www.theburningcat.com

All Your Cats Are Belong to Us
TheBurningCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 01:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,533
John Prophet is on a distinguished road
For hackers and hucksters and schemers like this..these are golden days!! Its like the land grab days of the old west. Because there are soooo many new users who r clueless. They are terrified of their computers and frankly the computer runs them, not the other way around. They believe anything on the screen.

I have sold comps to friends and family and they call me for the wildest stuff...stuff that has never entered my mind....all stemming from popups etc. Like they will click on the "your computer is running dangerously slow" type crap. Or they fall prey to the virus hoaxes and they do stuff like delete system files cuz of fake virus warnings.

One lady got the blaster worm....coincidentally, at the time she was considering changing isp's...so a few days before blaster hit her she was searching google for other isp's....of course blaster started kicking her offline every 2 minutes or whatever...........so she actually thought that her isp was kicking her offline cuz they knew she was looking at other isp's sites! lol.

They believe anything.

Golden days for peeps with no scruples. Lotsa easy bucks to be made for years to come.
__________________
"Even a fool is thought to be wise if he is silent"
John Prophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 06:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Martoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 4,056
Martoch is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Martoch
Quote:
Originally posted by John Prophet
so a few days before blaster hit her she was searching google for other isp's....of course blaster started kicking her offline every 2 minutes or whatever...........so she actually thought that her isp was kicking her offline cuz they knew she was looking at other isp's sites! lol.

LMAO!

Martoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.