»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2003, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
joker_927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,740
joker_927 is on a distinguished road
Allofmp3.com

Anyone been to this website? Payed? Downloaded? Worked? Fraud?

I sick of doing things the wrong way. I want to find soemhwere to legally get my songs. I have a band, I want their CD's, but they are foreign.

Is this site look legit?

I mean $5 to download 500MB. That is crazy.

thx

__________________
Gateway Top-of-the-line PC = $2014
Home built top-of-the-line PC = $928
Exact clones...

Moral = Don't build your own PC, thus letting me save more money than you!
joker_927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
joker_927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,740
joker_927 is on a distinguished road
Well, the site looks well-made.

30-second previews are of the right stuff.
__________________
Gateway Top-of-the-line PC = $2014
Home built top-of-the-line PC = $928
Exact clones...

Moral = Don't build your own PC, thus letting me save more money than you!
joker_927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PSU2Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Avon, NY
Posts: 279
PSU2Fan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to PSU2Fan
gave it a go last nite, registered and DLed a few free songs; very good quality.

The site seems very legitimate, though I have no idea as to the legality issues.

Anyone else know anything about this site? It's based in Russia.

U2Fan
PSU2Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I do not have a clue as to credibility, but I did find this:

http://www.museekster.com/index2.html

A review link is near the bottom. Seems legit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In a Cali Valley
Posts: 7,817
Mike is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Mike
From the legal information part of the site:
Quote:
All the materials in the MediaServices projects are available for distribution through Internet according to license # LS-3?-02-36 of the Russian Multimedia and Internet Society. Under the license terms, MediaServices pays license fees for all the materials subject to the Law of the Russian Federation "On Copyright and Related Rights". All the materials are available solely for personal use and must not be used for further distribution, resale or broadcasting.

Users are held liable for the use and distribution of the MediaServices site information materials according to local legislation.
So is this legal in the U.S. or not? Since many places are charing $0.99 a song...
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The site does not seem to violate any Russian laws, plus the site even appears to uphold Russian copyrights for all of its hosted music content. It is legal there, but the US is an entirely different matter.

Legality for downloads to the US from the site is highly questionable. Perhaps try searching for laws regarding to music or copyright importation; specifically any recent trade agreements with Russia. I believe you may be safe if the owner of the selected music track you are downloading has registered a Russian copyright notice.

Has anyone tried emailing the site (or RIAA) for additional information?

Robert Richmond
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In a Cali Valley
Posts: 7,817
Mike is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Mike
Well the problem is this:
The Russian site will probably be all for me sending them money. E-mailing the RIAA isn't the best idea because most of what they say I don't take seriously.

I'll start googling stuff later tonight.
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Gait_Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Da Bronx, NY
Posts: 1,709
Gait_Keeper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Gait_Keeper
I'll check this out later, off to work.........
Gait_Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
joker_927's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,740
joker_927 is on a distinguished road
Signed up and dwonloaded 3 full albums for $1.81. Awsome deal.
__________________
Gateway Top-of-the-line PC = $2014
Home built top-of-the-line PC = $928
Exact clones...

Moral = Don't build your own PC, thus letting me save more money than you!
joker_927 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
E-mailing the RIAA isn't the best idea because most of what they say I don't take seriously.
I agree, but it can be certain the RIAA already has knowledge of this site, so they should atleast be able to indentify the site as a legit business or potential scam (or target!). One can not deny that many supposedly legit sites have turned out to be criminal operations.
  Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 AM.