»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2003, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sixf00t4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,296
sixf00t4 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to sixf00t4 Send a message via AIM to sixf00t4 Send a message via Yahoo to sixf00t4
what do you think of this "job"

got this in an email while looking for a new job i actually find it a little amusing, wonder if this is erally legit? not too shabby. may need to talk to a lawyer about this one. here is the email they sent me and here is the contract.

it is basically acting as a middle man for someone else...they say they buy stuff from dell, compaq, etc and ship it to you. then you ship it to them. they say it is cuz they cant get stuff like that where they are. not bad pay. $2,000 upfront to cover expenses.

__________________
[url=http://joshuadhall.com]My blog[/url]
sixf00t4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just seems fishy to me. Why can't they ship it themselves?

Tell you what though, if you get hooked up and it's legit, let me know.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JacobM5727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2,144
JacobM5727 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to JacobM5727 Send a message via AIM to JacobM5727 Send a message via Yahoo to JacobM5727
alot of sites like monster.com are getting increasing numbers of spammers, it really sucks
__________________
--Jacob--
JacobM5727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BobOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Youngstown (well near it) Ohio
Posts: 1,014
BobOmega is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to BobOmega Send a message via AIM to BobOmega
just from reading how you described it. it sounds like a credit card scam. but the fact you were getting paid (right?) makes it sound diffrent.
the way i knew that it worked was. they steal credit card numbers. buy stuff. have it shiped to you. then you ship it to them. most of the time they claim to be in some forgin country that the stores wont ship to.
but as i said most of the time there is no payment other then merchendise for you.
like, they order 5 laptops. you send them 4.
BobOmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OuTpaTienT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 6,966
OuTpaTienT is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to OuTpaTienT
Does it cost any money upfront?

If yes, it's a scam. End of discussion.
OuTpaTienT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Could always do the Quixtar thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sixf00t4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,296
sixf00t4 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to sixf00t4 Send a message via AIM to sixf00t4 Send a message via Yahoo to sixf00t4
explain the steps of Quixtar.

OuT: you get paid 2 grand upfront. so there goes that theory.
__________________
[url=http://joshuadhall.com]My blog[/url]
sixf00t4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
OuTpaTienT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 6,966
OuTpaTienT is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to OuTpaTienT
Quote:
PAYMENT: We arrange payment at end of first probation month of work (30 days)
So IOW you have to foot the bill for the first 30 days. Looks like scam to me. Especially if that bill can be as high as $2,000.00!
OuTpaTienT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 06:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
2k$ upfront? They give it to you? Actually send you the bucks?
You gotta be s-ing me---
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2003, 06:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sixf00t4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,296
sixf00t4 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to sixf00t4 Send a message via AIM to sixf00t4 Send a message via Yahoo to sixf00t4
didnt't catch that OuT

SCAM
__________________
[url=http://joshuadhall.com]My blog[/url]
sixf00t4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:07 AM.