»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2003, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
grandma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 96
grandma is on a distinguished road
Check this ebay scammer out.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2910979990

Don't forget to read the yellow print at the top!

Buyer beware.

Grandma

grandma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JacobM5727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2,144
JacobM5727 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to JacobM5727 Send a message via AIM to JacobM5727 Send a message via Yahoo to JacobM5727
poor chumps

it states again lower down:
Quote:
7.By reading this you understand that this auction in for information only, not actual product.
so maybe some of them are actually just greedy.. the others though..
__________________
--Jacob--
JacobM5727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 74
necromancer is on a distinguished road
"Please note this auction is for information on how to get the following product for free. You will not get this product from us."

Current bid US $300.00

PAYPAL USERS ** BUY IT NOW FOR ONLY $150!!!
necromancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 04:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bigblue77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 658
bigblue77 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to bigblue77 Send a message via AIM to bigblue77 Send a message via Yahoo to bigblue77
Quote:
Disclaimer: Winner of auction must make payment and through the forms of payment agreed to. I am not responsible if you do not get what you want due to lack of reading the auction thoroughly.
I also noticed the shipping is set to $20 so it looks like your getting the actual product.

He does have the required disclaimers, although hard to read. He is still missleading people badly tho.

I also looked and he purchased the same info for 4.99 not that long ago.


Jer

Last edited by bigblue77; 02-11-2003 at 04:47 PM.
bigblue77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 04:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TOO close to Wash DC
Posts: 7,956
vass0922 is on a distinguished road


Interesting method
__________________
<< Insert exceedingly large and overly verbose message of how 1337 you are here including full specs of every vehicle you've ever driven and PC you've owned >>
vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
bigblue77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 658
bigblue77 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to bigblue77 Send a message via AIM to bigblue77 Send a message via Yahoo to bigblue77
This guy is really looking for trouble IMO. Check this out.
laptop info

If you read #4 in the Bidder agreement you will notice that it is only the info again. This is the ONLY mention that the actual product is not included.

The current bid on it is $510 and you get basically nothing.

Its guys like this that give eBay a bad rap.

Jer

Last edited by bigblue77; 02-11-2003 at 05:08 PM.
bigblue77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 797
Detritus is on a distinguished road
I just reported it to Ebay, it is already under investigation.... some people are hopeless
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 3,110
NeoStarO1 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to NeoStarO1 Send a message via AIM to NeoStarO1 Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStarO1
I recal another aution like this however not that spendy, I do belive someone here on techIMO said heck with it and submited for the bid. it was like i think 5 bucks or something but the whole gist was to get stuff free. Anyways, he only got an email with a listing of manufactures names of how to get stuff free, needless to say it was a joke. I can't remember who it was. I think it was Whir. he did it just for ammusement purposes. Might not have been whir, but it was a long time standing memeber here on timo.
NeoStarO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 05:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JacobM5727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2,144
JacobM5727 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to JacobM5727 Send a message via AIM to JacobM5727 Send a message via Yahoo to JacobM5727
yeah it wasnt too long ago neo.. it was pretty funny
as for me, i dont even have an ebay account
__________________
--Jacob--
JacobM5727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 06:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
gjimene2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 441
gjimene2 is on a distinguished road
I bet that the $20 shipping is for a hardcopy of the way to get the product for free.
gjimene2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.