»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2002, 03:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TOO close to Wash DC
Posts: 7,956
vass0922 is on a distinguished road
VERY Peculiar email...

Ok so I check my yahoo email today and I get one with the subject of..

Important Notice : Sign in for free mailbox upgrade 20 mb and more...
Hmm ok sounds shakey but its
from Yahoo Free Services.... so its from yahoo .. MUST be ok then!
From email address "Yahoo Free Services" <manage@yahoo.com>

I'm attaching an image, you can see the email is a perfect mockup of the login screen and yes the username / pass are working text boxes.. its not just an image...
SO being the geek that I am strolled through the code and here seems to the code for the submit button...

<form target="_blank" action="http://freeupgrade1.netfirms.com/cgi-bin/mailup.cgi" method="post"><input type="hidden" name="islem" value="log"><input type="hidden" name="Domain" value="Yahoo">

who the hell is that?!
Anybody else seen this?
I'm thinking its BADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD news.. but maybe I'm just paranoid?

Your opinion?
I wasn't sure to put this in tech or community.. I think both need to see it though ... maybe put it here for awhile and then have a mod move it
Anyways.. i'm thinkin' the email is spoofed and its a password theif?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg huh.jpg (74.0 KB, 73 views)

vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 04:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TOO close to Wash DC
Posts: 7,956
vass0922 is on a distinguished road
OK the tale grows taller
I viewed the full headers of the email and it gets more interesting...


X-Apparently-To: myrealemailaddress@yahoo.com via 216.136.225.47; 07 Nov 2002 01:29:21 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <manage@yahoo.com>
Received: from 212.65.129.19 (HELO ommo.net) (212.65.129.19) by mta551.mail.yahoo.com with SMTP; 07 Nov 2002 01:29:13 -0800 (PST)
From: "Yahoo Free Services" <manage@yahoo.com> | This is Spam | Add to Address Book
Reply-to: manage@yahoo.com
To: uintief@yahoo.com
Date: Thu, 7 Nov 2002 11:29:10 +0200
Subject: Important Notice : Sign in for free mailbox upgrade 20 mb and more...
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2919.7000
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Content-Length: 4202

212.65.129.19 resolves to www.eostaffing.com
Since when does yahoo send bulk email from outlook express?
Anybody know how to turn in email like this to yahoo authorities?
vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 04:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TheBurningCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane, Aus.
Posts: 1,374
TheBurningCat is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to TheBurningCat Send a message via AIM to TheBurningCat Send a message via Yahoo to TheBurningCat
LOL - to turn it in i'm not sure..

but check all the links on that page. See if they send you silly places... check where the images are coming from...ect. i bet you checked tho!
__________________
--
www.theburningcat.com

All Your Cats Are Belong to Us
TheBurningCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
radio1_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melrose, MA
Posts: 1,028
radio1_mike is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to radio1_mike Send a message via Yahoo to radio1_mike
I'd be wary.

Yahoo! Mail is all I use and I've never received an email like that! You can just forward that email to them as spam. Or just click the "This is Spam" button...
__________________
<< Insert signature here >>
radio1_mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 09:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
LarrySamDavid25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Greater Midwest
Posts: 147
LarrySamDavid25 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to LarrySamDavid25 Send a message via Yahoo to LarrySamDavid25
abuse@yahoo.com
__________________
This is my weapon...this is my gun...this one's...well, you know the rest.
LarrySamDavid25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 10:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SickPup404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sussex county, Delaware, USA
Posts: 1,156
SickPup404 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to SickPup404
Yahoo also has a form here:
http://add.yahoo.com/fast/help/us/mail/cgi_abuse

Your best bet looks to be forwarding to the abuse addy...
SickPup404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: TOO close to Wash DC
Posts: 7,956
vass0922 is on a distinguished road
Yes, I did check the links TBC.. they did stay the same probably to make whoever is filling in the form feel a little better about 'logging in again'.

The email is forwarded.. thanks for the addy
__________________
<< Insert exceedingly large and overly verbose message of how 1337 you are here including full specs of every vehicle you've ever driven and PC you've owned >>
vass0922 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 01:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,611
Barney is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Barney
You might want to start by reporting freeupgrade1.netfirms.com at abuse@netfirms.com

Wait, It seems it has already been shut down...

Still it would be a good idea to explain the situation to Yahoo so they are aware people are using this method to get someone's name and password. Maybe they should send out one of those emails to all Yahoo users saying they'll never ask for a password in an email.
Barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nukes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,946
nukes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to nukes Send a message via Yahoo to nukes
You should definatley report this. It is a password gatherer, as you will have gathered and some people will have been duped.
__________________
_____
NuKeS
nukes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2002, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In a Cali Valley
Posts: 7,817
Mike is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Mike
hmm I wonder why someone is trying to steal other people's Yahoo e-mail address.
It's odd because I can understand people ripping off credit card and AOL accounts by why a Yahoo e-mail address? Just for the pure fun of stealing?
Because I know if someone did that to my Yahoo e-mail address I would be upset.
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 PM.