»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2002, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,539
ClubMed is on a distinguished road
ID request

How can I find out who the owner of this e-mail address is ?
ravms@chekov.rocler.qc.ca

I have received e-mails with viruses on two occasions. My enquiries have not been answered by the person.

Thanks.

ClubMed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 06:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
They appear to be from Québec Canada. Do you know anyone there?


J
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,539
ClubMed is on a distinguished road
One of my best friends is Canadian, but he is in Australia, and he wouldn't do something like this.

ClubMed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Kruzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lakewood. Co., USA
Posts: 726
Kruzin is on a distinguished road
It's very possible whoever is sending you the viruses doesn't know it's happening. It may not even be coming from who you think it's coming from.
There are viruses out there that will take over an email client, and mail themselves out. Some of these viruses will also get names from the address book of a user, and mimic that address as the sender.

I saw this posted on Diabloii.net just a few days ago:

Quote:
Not D2, but lately we are getting a tremendous amount (dozens a day) of email viruses to all @diabloii.net addresses. The most common one is W32.Klez.E@mm and note how it works; by redistributing itself by changing your outgoing mail name to a sender of a mail in your inbox. So hundreds of people are getting emails that appear to be from flux, gaile, elly or Rush here, but aren't from us, they are the virus on someone else's machine, picking our names from a reply mail in that person's inbox. I got 4 virus mails this morning with myself as the return address, and I don't even use OE (3 guesses why not). You need to look at the "Return Path" in the email header, to see where a mail really comes from, since it's child's play (or virus' play) to spoof someone else's name in the "Reply To" line. There's a Yahoo news item about this today, but we've been getting a dozen or more a piece every day for weeks. As with virtually every virus but measels, this one spreads wildly through security holes in Outlook Express. If you are using MSOE for your mail client and you haven't patched the latest security problems with it, you are guaranteed to be a virus victim, sooner or later.
Kruzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 03:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Kruzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lakewood. Co., USA
Posts: 726
Kruzin is on a distinguished road
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmp.../tc_zd/5106468
Kruzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,539
ClubMed is on a distinguished road
they sent to an e-mail i made specificaly for a local forum here in vienna. i have deleted the account since then.

ClubMed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.