» 
Oooooo... tracking down a spammer.
Ok, I received a spam message today, the first time in a long long time I've gotten one. It was porn, and of course it just said "hi" for the subject. The worst part was at the end of the message it said this: "We have taken your address from publicly available sources.
It is not a spam and we are not going to send you any futher messages. Although, if you want to be removed from this list anyway, please click remove me."
Now, if they weren't going to send me further messages, why am I on a list? How did I get there? And the remove me link was dead of course. The header was this:
********************************************
**Personal information removed**
sorry samwichse, - surreal
**********************************************
I first sent an email to earthlink with the header but they said the domain was spoofed, so I did an ARIN whois on the IP and came up with the name rackspace.com. The intersoft people... their website blew. I sent an email with all this info to rackspace. I hope whoever it was gets their account cancelled.
Sam <- this really stews his cookies
Last edited by surreal; 04-12-2002 at 05:03 PM.
|