»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Off Topic Community

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2002, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
kenyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 609
kenyg is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to kenyg
Spam from techimo's database?

I received spam today, addressed to kenyg. I only use this 'handle on two forums, and only have my email address listed on one, techimo - but I thought it was private, unaccessable to anyone but the mods -

Anyone else get the following?-

Return-Path: <xxx@hotmail.com>
Received: from galaxy.jjiconsulting.com ([63.197.0.238])
by pop002.verizon.net
(InterMail vM.5.01.04.02 201-253-122-122-102-20011128) with ESMTP
id <20020120023137.BQPD26890.pop002.verizon.net@galax y.jjiconsulting.com>
for <k.......@verizon.net>; Sat, 19 Jan 2002 20:31:37 -0600
Received: from qsnake2 ([192.168.0.4]) by galaxy.jjiconsulting.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.3779);
Sat, 19 Jan 2002 18:22:01 -0800
Message-ID: <4365553.1011493567370.JavaMail.quang@qsnake2>
Date: Sat, 19 Jan 2002 18:26:07 -0800 (PST)
From: Mailer Service <xxx@hotmail.com>
To: kenyg <k.......@verizon.net>
Subject: meeting request
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="----=_Part_2056_3771564.1011493567370"
Return-Path: xxx@hotmail.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 20 Jan 2002 02:22:01.0446 (UTC) FILETIME=[3E6B3860:01C1A159]

-----=_Part_2056_3771564.1011493567370
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable

<html>
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv=3D"Content-Type" content=3D"text/html; charset=3Diso-8859-=
1">
</head>

<body bgcolor=3D"#FFFFFF">
<p><b>YOU MUST BE AT LEAST 18 TO ENTER!</b></p>
<table width=3D"100%" border=3D"0">

kenyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TheBurningCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brisbane, Aus.
Posts: 1,374
TheBurningCat is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to TheBurningCat Send a message via AIM to TheBurningCat Send a message via Yahoo to TheBurningCat
I get heaps of spam...I just delted it all this mornign i cant rememeber if i got that one, soz.
__________________
--
www.theburningcat.com

All Your Cats Are Belong to Us
TheBurningCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,293
ChoaticWhisper is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to ChoaticWhisper
Hmm.. I just recived spam on this address for the very first time yesterday or late last night, I seemed weird.
ChoaticWhisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Admin RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,601
Admin RR is on a distinguished road
Someone might have spidered the site and grabbed addresses if yours is public, but otherwise they didn't get the address from us - we never sell addresses, etc., with the exception of our PostMaster Direct/ Netcreations mailing lists which are subscription only.
Admin RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 11:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
FreakyOCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,422
FreakyOCR is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to FreakyOCR Send a message via AIM to FreakyOCR Send a message via Yahoo to FreakyOCR
Yeha I noticed an increase of spam... but didn't think it could come from here.... and I'll bet mine doesn't.... my dad signs me up for all those "send to your friend" things... now everybody he ever sent them to gets spam....
__________________
- Freaky
FreakyOCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 11:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
kenyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hatboro, PA
Posts: 609
kenyg is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to kenyg
thanks Scott,

I had some fun with it anyway - I looked up the IP address - and the contact is listed as quang@JJICONSULTING.COM - so I then followed the link in the spam message and looked the owner of the website up - email contact is quang@woah.bz - ohh, they also have a feedback thing to request more info on ... pills that supposedly enlarge a certain area of the male anatomy - ... so guess which email address's requested info??


Hopefully he'll spam himself.


he he
kenyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
FreakyOCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,422
FreakyOCR is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to FreakyOCR Send a message via AIM to FreakyOCR Send a message via Yahoo to FreakyOCR
lol Keny!!!!!
__________________
- Freaky
FreakyOCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2002, 11:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nodnerb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vegesack, Germany
Posts: 672
nodnerb2 is on a distinguished road
Hi,
I have noticed a large increase in spam recently. I would say that more than 60% of these claim to be a response to an online enquiry I submitted at such and such a time even when I haven't been online for 24 or more hrs these things claim to have been submitted during that time.

I have also started getting spammed at an address which I never use on the Web and just figure that my ISP (AOL) has been selling their database again.

The majority of the spam I have got in the last few weeks originates from an address block assigned to attglobal and I have been e mailing the admin stating that one of their customers is sending spam. I've never even had an acknowledgement to my e mail unless it has come in the form of more spam. I might try blocking all incoming except for a few I know use that address like this board and see if tis improves the situation any.

Oh, I can't really say if I got that particular one or not as I just delete them off the server when I get them unless I fel like doing a Lookup but I will have a careful look in the next few days and post back if I get the same one.

Cheers

Nodnerb2
__________________
Cheers


Nodnerb2:D
nodnerb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.