»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2003, 11:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SouthEastern , USA
Posts: 125
barginhunter is on a distinguished road
I always expand the email to full header and report them , spoof@ebay.com , I'm not sure what the paypal address is for reporting fraud .
Hopefully they track them down ?

barginhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 11:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
FreakyOCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,422
FreakyOCR is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to FreakyOCR Send a message via AIM to FreakyOCR Send a message via Yahoo to FreakyOCR
I have to say, I almost fell for it. I thought my Paypal account was disabled. But when I clicked the link I noticed at it was https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=verify @ (the ip addy)

Sneeky. I remember learning about that. You can put (almost) ANYTHING before the @ symbol and it will work.

Try this!

https://www.paypal.com/FreeMoney

See what I mean?

The fact that it almost fooled me had me nervous. How many people would actually fall for it?
__________________
- Freaky

Last edited by FreakyOCR; 11-10-2003 at 11:45 PM.
FreakyOCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 12:12 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
mrharryporter is on a distinguished road
Yeah I received that same email a few months ago. Its been just to delete it like all spam.
mrharryporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 05:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
benji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 116
benji is on a distinguished road
Normally they will use your personal name. I just call paypals 800 number to make sure 1st. You can't trust anything these days!!
benji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 06:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,609
butch81385 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to butch81385
tech tv did a speacial on scams once... they talked about this one and about that prince willing to send you money if you give your bank number.... they said there have been thousands of people falling for this and even about 16 deaths due to people going to places like nigeria trying to get their money back....

i will see if i can find a link somewhere
butch81385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 06:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Theophylact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: inside the Beltway, outside the loop
Posts: 1,067
Theophylact is on a distinguished road
I've been getting similar fraudulent notices from what purports to be Earthlink (though a mouse-hover on the link shows that it's not). I forward them to "fraud@corp.earthlink.net" with a covering e-mail; they want to stop these people even more than I do, because these guys are hurting their reputations. I bet that PayPal and EBay have similar addresses you can send messages to.
Theophylact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 08:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 1,609
butch81385 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to butch81385
i almost want to sign up for a credit card, report it stolen, then give the numbers to these people.. it would be interesting to see what would happen
butch81385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 PM.