»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2003, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MatrixmaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 353
MatrixmaN is on a distinguished road
$1000 P4 2.6ghz-512mb Laptop

Good Deal?

VAIO GRV680 Notebook PC
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 2.6GHz, 512MB, 60GB HDD, CD-RW/DVD-RW, 10/100 Ethernet/ 56K modem, 16" SXGA TFT display, Windows XP Home.

-=$1000=-

Seems like it.

The guy said he got these Vaio GRV680's from a bankrupt computer store and he's selling them fresh out of the box. On Ebay he has 189FBR w/ 100% positive and seems trustworthy.

The only problem (IMHO) is that he isn't accepting Paypal and prefers Western Union Checks/Money Orders. I e-mailed him saying I'd buy it if there was a way to purchase via credit card (for security purposes on my part) and he replied saying that I could pay for it via credit at the Western Union site.

I remember reading the safe trading tips and how they said not to purchase from an Ebay auction outside of Ebay so I'm a bit hesitant....should I be?

Think it's ok to go for it?


Last edited by MatrixmaN; 09-11-2003 at 02:23 PM.
MatrixmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
imac9556's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 829
imac9556 is on a distinguished road
Hi, I think you should be careful on this one. Most, Most, fraud auctions require/ask people to send the money via Western Union or a wire transfer. To be safe, i think you should pay by US Postal Money Order or by credit card (which i see your trying to do). Just a warning, sometimes people can get into peoples ebay accounts that have perfect feedback, trying to sell stuff that doesn't exist.
just a warning!
thanks, paul
imac9556 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
IronGalaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 112
IronGalaxy is on a distinguished road
i wouldnt do it unless:

1. he made the transaction an actual auction, so we could leave each other feedback and id have some protection from ebay, id never buy anything outside of ebay from someone selling ON ebay.

2. if i sent him a personal check or postal money order to his address ( no PO box).

3. i saw a picture of the laptop. ( not the factory pic from the sony web site but the actual laptop hes selling).

and NEVER use paypal...check out www.paypalsucks.com, for some info.

id also make sure its very clear when hes shipping the laptop,and if theres a tracking # and insurance.

and whats his ebay ID?.my friend is here who knows a ton about ebay, he said he would look at the ID for you and tell you if anything looks off.

...you can PM to me if you dont want it public.
IronGalaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
IronGalaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 112
IronGalaxy is on a distinguished road
"Just a warning, sometimes people can get into peoples ebay accounts that have perfect feedback, trying to sell stuff that doesn't exist"

"Most, fraud auctions require/ask people to send the money via Western Union or a wire transfer"


VERY true and good advice.
IronGalaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MatrixmaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 353
MatrixmaN is on a distinguished road
http://www.paypalsucks.com/forums/sh...34&old_block=0

That got me to Cancel my paypal account.

Just did....
MatrixmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MatrixmaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 353
MatrixmaN is on a distinguished road
(E-mail from Seller)

Dear sir, thank you for your interest in my products.First of all I
want to tell you that I bought this product from a bankrupt computer store and the product is in it’s original factory box, with all the original papers( warranty and user's manual), hardware and software. The items are in my warehouse and I have more than one. If you agree to the price, I am willing sell it to you right now, before the auction is finished.

The product is already packaged and ready to be shipped;
shipping is made via UPS in max 2,3 days and all costs are covered by me.

The payment method that I preffer is money order at Western Union or you can pay me online with your credit card at
(www.westernunion.com).

Please get back to me to settle this deal.

Take care



--- (Primary Query) MatrixmaN:
>So just to clarify,
>
>Your not interested at all in a secured Paypal or Visa Check/bank card
transfer? Is there something wrong with that kind of payment method?
>
>If you were accepting those I'd most likely have bought the notebook
upon seeing it.
>--------------------
>

Last edited by MatrixmaN; 09-11-2003 at 04:14 PM.
MatrixmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
IronGalaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 112
IronGalaxy is on a distinguished road
scam! scam! scam!.

read the list of stuff i PMed you.

but also...

this guy sounds like hes from indonesia, they all talk like his email to you..."dir sir or madam, thanks for the interest in my products", etc.

see, if hes in indonesia, western union will send the money alllll the way to him, meanwhile, you dont even see where he lives, you just give western union your credit card information.


TOTAL scam.

p.s

feel free to post the list of stuff i PMed you...incase anyone here wants to see.
IronGalaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MatrixmaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 353
MatrixmaN is on a distinguished road
Here it is:

-------------------------------------------------------------------
my friend strongly suggests not to buy it.

heres his list:


1. this guy started an auction for a 2k laptop at only 10 cents with no reserve.

2. if he wanted to sell the laptop for 1k outright, he would of set a buy it now option in the auction.

3. if hes asking people to email him to buy it now, and saying he has more, who knows how many people have already emailed him and are about to send them his 1k.

4. his story about the computer store liquidation is extremely unlikely, even if its true, he would never be able to sell them for 1k each and make any kind of a profit, none the less start the auction at that 10 cents with no reserve!.

5. the picture of the laptop in the auction is just a picture he took from the sony web site, or somewhere like amazon.com.

i think that covers everything, hope it helps.
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Dude, you just saved my savings account....

Thank you and tell your friend I said thanks as well.

Damn, I knew it sounded too good to be true.

Last edited by MatrixmaN; 09-11-2003 at 04:29 PM.
MatrixmaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
I dislike Ebay---never been involved except for assisting friends with pictures---some of it is legit/some isnt---heard too much bad stuff---im better off spending a couple more bucks for things rather then gambling...
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 06:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SeanC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 1,437
SeanC is on a distinguished road
Yeah. I've been looking at stuff on eBay and I'm seeing more and more scams that go untouched while legal stuff is getting banned from the site faster then well... I don't know, it's just really fast. Within a day or two.

Sean
SeanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.