I got an email yesterday from pay-pal subject line was account verification. It was a total spoof job and not a good one at that. The basically just spoofed some links. I added the links but I don't recommend clicking on it. They aren't as the really appear in the email I added the actual link. And note the copyright on the bottom is 2002
Here's the most part of the email
"PayPal Account Verification
Dear PayPal Customer,
We are currently performing regular maintenance of our security measures. Your account has been randomly selected for this maintenance, and you will now be taken through a series of identity verification pages.
Protecting the security of your PayPal account is our primary concern, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.Please confirm your account ownership by entering the information in one of the sections below.
Please Visit
[the funny part [b]DO NOT CLICK THE LINK OR VISIT THE SITE
i just added it for info } http://vwvv-paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr-cmd_login-run
and take a moment to confirm your account. To avoid service interruption we require that you confirm your account as soon as possible.
Your account will be updated in our system and you may continue using PayPal services without any interruptions.
If you fail to update your account, it will be flagged with restricted status.
Thank you,
The Paypal Staff
Thanks for using PayPal!
it some other really badly spoofed links
----------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD
NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at
http://vwvv-paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr-cmd_login-run
Protect yourself against fraudulent
websites by checking the URL/Address bar every time you log in.
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the "Help" link in the footer of any page.
To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your preferences here.
Copyright© 2002, PayPal Inc., All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. "
as stated I added the links it gave in the email they are actually spoofed to read as reg paypal links If anyone gets one of these I strongly recommend deleting it.
edit:looks like whoever it was was already busted as the links are dead anyways.