»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2003, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
I_W
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,178
I_W is on a distinguished road
***WARNING*** on fake PayPal Request

Yes, it's not an Online Deal or Coupon BUT people here are most apt to get dragged into this -- more likely with naive relatives and friends.

Received a FAKE request from Pay Pal this morning. Nicely done and looks like it is real. Leads you to:

http://202.44.12.83/%70%70/%70%72%6F...67%2E%68%74%6D

An obvious attempt to get credit card and personal information.

YES, I've sent the info to PayPal where I canceled my account a long, long, time ago when I realized they were getting unreasonable with their demands on information and started to escalate fees.

-------------------------------------------------
EDIT
I had done an WHOIS on it and the info request page was coming from AUSTRALIA. I received a reply from PayPal and a request to forward the original to them at an address they gave me.

As much as I dislike PayPal and refuse to deal with them when I use eBay, I sure don't want others sucked into this nonsense.

Make sure your naive friends and relatives don't get fooled into this. I think most of us here are too savy to bite but I know a lot of my "friends" who used to bombard me with fake virus warnings until I finally clued them in would bite in an instant!


Last edited by I_W; 06-11-2003 at 09:18 AM.
I_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 08:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Looks to me like they're sending you to the real Paypal.

Can you determine the origin of the sender or details about this site? Someone recently posted a program you can use to track down the sender from the message.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Good thing you turned it in.

SamSpade.org
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 09:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just to elaborate a little further.

Whoever made the fake page, just copied it from here . You'll notice the security lock down in the status bar.

The fake page has no security.

And if you look at the source on the page . . .

'<!-- saved from url=(0059)https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...gistration-run -->'
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 09:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Stafford, Staffs, UK
Posts: 148
peterwilkes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to peterwilkes
The http://202.44.12.83/%70%70/%70%72%6...%67%2E%68%74%6D is fake!!!!!!

If you look at the bottom of the page there is not even a padlock symbol in the browser that says the page is going to be encrypted. Also there is no 'type the code in' box and the copyright is dated 2002 which is now out of date.

Compare this with the real paypal signup page located at http://202.44.12.83/%70%70/%70%72%6...%67%2E%68%74%6D

I have also just noticed the the (r) symbol on the paypal in the fake page is in a different location to the real page. There are lots of differences between the page.
__________________
Peter
peter@firtytoo.com
peterwilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 09:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I didn't fill out any info exept for my name 'You R ADumbass' and it sent me to this page.

I hope everybody w/ PayPal sees this thead.

Thanks for the heads-up I_W!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 09:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Droppyale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: -----------
Posts: 1,798
Droppyale is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Droppyale Send a message via Yahoo to Droppyale
WOw!

Nice to know this... since I use paypal...

Thanks a bunch.
Droppyale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MrPsychoGreaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North County San Diego
Posts: 231
MrPsychoGreaser is on a distinguished road
I'm not sure if this is a direct copy. For instance...compare the paypal logos from the fake to the real one (click contact or help to see the real site logo). The "Registered" symbol on the paypal logo switches from top to bottom...fake to real. Fake has it on the lower right hand corner..the real has it on the the upper right hand corner. Looks like somebody actually put in a lot of time into this...yet left this mistake.
MrPsychoGreaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 04:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
rastorize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FM6 4th Floor
Posts: 403
rastorize is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rastorize
Yeah...check 'view source'...
<!-- saved from url=(0059)https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...gistration-run -->

All the pages have it.

Pretty bold whoever's doing this.

Good catch.
rastorize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2003, 11:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Neon Desert , AZ
Posts: 39
Raydeo is on a distinguished road
There is also a clue in the address:

Paypal cautions users to look for https in the address "box" of their site. This one is just http...Now I think I know why Paypal mentions this on their signup info...
Thanx for the heads-up.
Raydeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM.