»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2003, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OSU Buckeye country
Posts: 128
earlthepearl is on a distinguished road
too good to be legit?

While searching for the best price for Adobe Acrobat 5, this "sponsored link" appeared in a box on the right side of a Google search. I mention where it was found to validate possible legitimacy.

http://www.softwarewarehouseprices.us/

They say that for a $17 flat fee you can download most popular software.
The list includes products by Microsoft, Adobe, & Corel.

They say:
Question: Is this legal?
Answer: Yes, as long as you use the software for home use and do not make copies for resale.

This sounds like another "too good to be true" deal.
What am I missing ?

earlthepearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 12:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 3,110
NeoStarO1 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to NeoStarO1 Send a message via AIM to NeoStarO1 Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStarO1
Quote:
Now, you may be asking yourself why am I going to share this free software information with you. Well, the answer is Simple! Someone shared it with me and saved me a lot of money
IMO I don't think this is legal. Either that there is a catch and that is AFTER you pay the 17 dollars you will find out you have to purchase a lience.
NeoStarO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
implexant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,991
implexant is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to implexant Send a message via AIM to implexant Send a message via Yahoo to implexant Send a message via Skype™ to implexant
these kind of sites sell just the media. you need a license to install it. could be a good deal if you found a license for cheap

-Chris
implexant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 3,110
NeoStarO1 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to NeoStarO1 Send a message via AIM to NeoStarO1 Send a message via Yahoo to NeoStarO1
yes BUT............... Look at what this person says.....

Quote:
"Thanks so much for saving me lots of money. Windows XP can cost over $300 and I got it for free thanks to you"
this we all know is illegal. Granted they probably got the software free but would have had to purchase a lience and the liences are just as expensive.
NeoStarO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 797
Detritus is on a distinguished road
Hiya guys, one thread has already been pulled on this topic and deemed inappropriate... just a warning.

But yeah, it is illegal.

Sorry, that is a different website than was discussed yesterday, but same theme.

*edited to add the correction
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 12:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OSU Buckeye country
Posts: 128
earlthepearl is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the responses.
I assumed as much, but find it hard to believe it is legal to "sell" a product in this manner.
It is not worth $17 bucks to learn exactly how you are taken to the cleaners.
Google must be hard up for sponsors.

edited to add:

Detritus,
I endeavored to word this post so as to not make it appear that I promote software piracy. I can legitimately purchase an academic version for $60, but was trying to confirm my suspicions that the product being sold cannot be legally installed without proper licensure.

If it were not for the "legitimacy" of being a Google sponsored link, I would have assumed it inappropriate to discuss this subject

Last edited by earlthepearl; 03-26-2003 at 01:14 PM.
earlthepearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 797
Detritus is on a distinguished road
Sorry, I didn't mean to imply you were supporting or promoting anyghing illegal, but neither did the last person who started the thread that was pulled. It was taken by a mod to be indirectly promoting the website. The discussion also turned a little ugly when someone posing as the owner of the website stepped in to raise problems. Sorry, please no hard feelings.
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OSU Buckeye country
Posts: 128
earlthepearl is on a distinguished road
Detritus,
No offence taken, & I appreciate the warning.
earlthepearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 08:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Nighthawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Univ. of Wash. Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,915
Nighthawk is on a distinguished road
I think it's interesting that Google wouldn't check their sponsors. I thought I remembered reading a story a little while ago about how they wouldn't run ads from certain companies (I think it was gun places and other companies one of the CEOs didn't like).
Nighthawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2003, 12:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
implexant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,991
implexant is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to implexant Send a message via AIM to implexant Send a message via Yahoo to implexant Send a message via Skype™ to implexant
Quote:
Originally posted by Nighthawk
I think it's interesting that Google wouldn't check their sponsors. I thought I remembered reading a story a little while ago about how they wouldn't run ads from certain companies (I think it was gun places and other companies one of the CEOs didn't like).
remember they are a private company and can do what they wish with their advertising space... just a thought...

-Chris
implexant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM.