»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2003, 07:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mAdMaLuDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 957
mAdMaLuDaWg is on a distinguished road
Is this site a scam?

Hi,
My friend told me about this site that supposedly pays you for reading SMS ads it sends through the cell phone. The site looks like a scam and smells like a scam, but he won't buy it, could u guys help me out?
Tks.
http://ringsms.futuro-group.org

__________________
P@yce,
mAdMaLuDaWg
mAdMaLuDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,289
iNeb is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to iNeb
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...q=RingSMS+Scam
iNeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mAdMaLuDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 957
mAdMaLuDaWg is on a distinguished road
Tks iNeb... but the RingSMS scams pointed by google are something else where someone would SMS your cell phone and would access your SIM card.
I can't find anything solid to back my claim up, and even worse he is sending this to every1 he knows coz there is a referral reward.
__________________
P@yce,
mAdMaLuDaWg
mAdMaLuDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,289
iNeb is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to iNeb
Well, wait a month and see if he gets a paycheck. Then you will know.
iNeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mAdMaLuDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 957
mAdMaLuDaWg is on a distinguished road
Thing is it hasn't started.... they say they need an 'x' amount of members to start out and then they start sending out ad so he has started building up his 'referral base'... ahh... can't wait until he starts getting telemarketer calls on his cell!!!
__________________
P@yce,
mAdMaLuDaWg
mAdMaLuDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 08:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Obviously just another MLM. No money until you get a certain number of recruits. They're not selling anything worthwhile, the money primarily comes from recruits, which makes it a pyramid scheme.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 08:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
woodbutcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,908
woodbutcher is on a distinguished road
I agree.
Always seems to be reworked and "disguised" scams popping up everyday.
A good friend of mine has been hooked on one of the referral scams and sending it to everybody she knows.
I tried to explain what she was getting involved with, she swears it works.
I gave up.
I had to use the upmost tack in explaining to her that I did not wish to receive this kind of email.
IMHO, stear clear.

WB
woodbutcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 08:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mAdMaLuDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 957
mAdMaLuDaWg is on a distinguished road
Heheh WB, I'm in the same exact position... the dude won't believe me...
If this site is a scam, which I'm sure it is, it didn't do a very good job of trying to cover it up...
1. http://www.futoro-group.com kills you with spam attacks as soon as you enter
2. The Terms and Conditions on the sign up form are just underlined in a blue font and has no link attached to it
3. Click on the 'current advertisers' link and you are brought to a website called 'iTraffic'
4. The program requires 20k members, and has only 3k members signed up so far and started out in 12/01
I guess he is going to hafta learn the hard way..... and I can laugh in his face when its all done ...
__________________
P@yce,
mAdMaLuDaWg

Last edited by mAdMaLuDaWg; 02-03-2003 at 11:59 AM.
mAdMaLuDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 08:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
woodbutcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,908
woodbutcher is on a distinguished road
Or he might laugh in your face when it's all done, but I doubt it.

WB
woodbutcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 06:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
A funny thing, I've never actually seen any of these MLM dolts laughing all the way to the bank.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.