»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2002, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Backlash from Yourfreelaptop Scam posts

Well, someone has taken exception to my posts about Yourfreelaptop and other scams and through a little investigative work, has found my home address and phone number and posted them here:
http://www.klausdahl.com/forum/index.cgi?read=6148

Other than contacting the webmaster, which I've done, is there any way to protect my identity online? I posted my AOL e-mail name, which I use for most online activity (since I block all but known e-mail addresses).

Appreciate any advice.

osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,501
dunbar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to dunbar
Re: Backlash from Yourfreelaptop Scam posts

Quote:
Originally posted by JnMHayes
Well, someone has taken exception to my posts about Yourfreelaptop and other scams and through a little investigative work, has found my home address and phone number and posted them here:
http://www.klausdahl.com/forum/index.cgi?read=6148

Other than contacting the webmaster, which I've done, is there any way to protect my identity online? I posted my AOL e-mail name, which I use for most online activity (since I block all but known e-mail addresses).

Appreciate any advice.
Joined... the forums SPAMlist with my Yahoo SPAMmable email address. The next page is a thank you page, where we get:
Quote:
Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or comments!

Sincerely,

Klaus Dahl,
Active Direct Marketing Center (ADMaC)
klausdah@post7.tele.dk
Also on the thank you page is this:
Quote:
Active Direct Marketing Center
Skaering Hedevej 52
8250 Egaa
Denmark

Phone: +45 86742120

E-mail: klausdah@post7.tele.dk
His email address: klausdah@post7.tele.dk can be manually truncated to tele.dk, adding www. as a prefix gets me to http://www.teledanmark.dk/html/forsider/forsiden.html which offers a link to an english language page here: http://www.teledanmark.com/english/menu/start.htm

HTH
__________________
Registered Linux user 260423.
dunbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Yes, I e-mailed him requesting these posts be removed. I guess that's one of the fun things about the internet, the ability to find people easily.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,501
dunbar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to dunbar
Before anyone gets confused, my point is that JnMHayes is getting exposed by someone over there and that someone is not posting their own private information in return. The forum might need our collective attention.
__________________
Registered Linux user 260423.
dunbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,501
dunbar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to dunbar
Hmmmm. The forum software is shareware. Maybe there are some moderator functions listed in the software which I can download for free.
__________________
Registered Linux user 260423.
dunbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mlee97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 142
mlee97 is on a distinguished road
Good Luck, Its still up ... any Idea who this JERK Mike is?
mlee97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Fortunately, his information is not 100% correct (thanks to what I believe is a Mapquest error). But it's close enough to worry me.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 09:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,501
dunbar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to dunbar
Sorry, JnMHayes, but this might need a few hours to resolve - if this is hosted by a guy who lives in europe, we are getting late into their day - they might hit the sack without looking at the current posts.
__________________
Registered Linux user 260423.
dunbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 10:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
SickPup404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sussex county, Delaware, USA
Posts: 1,156
SickPup404 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to SickPup404
You could pay off a black/white/gray hat hacker to delete the message. Or just wait for the admin to get back to you...
SickPup404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 11:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
He seems to have posted again here:
http://www.cybikodev.com/aspBoard/as...ail.asp?Id=453

I e-mailed the contact ('ernestpazera@hotmail.com') but it bounced. I looked up the domain registration and it came up with 'webmaster@deligon.com' so I e-mailed there requesting the post to be removed.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.