»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2002, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PSU2Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Avon, NY
Posts: 279
PSU2Fan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to PSU2Fan
Gaming TEN DOLLAR LAPTOP!!!!!

Okay, I've got your attention.
I was perusing an online classifieds site, http://www.usfreeads.com/33251-cls.html and under the Laptop section I noticed an ad for a $10 Laptop. Knowing this couldn't possible be legit (unless of course it was some woman really ticked off at her husband for paying more attention to his laptop than her; who then decided to torture her husband by selling his laptop for ten dollars.) I replied to the ad to investigate. I got an email with a link to www.10dlaptop.com
After reading through the site it's obvious this is a scam. THe person/persons behind this scam wouldn't even make enough money per person's matrix to send a laptop to them. It seems obvious to me this person/s just taking people's money and running away with it. Grrr... SO I'd like you help. I was wondering what programs you use to find out all the technical stuff on a "legitimate" website.
I'm referring to the recent $30 dollar laptop scheme where some members were able to come up with domain addresses/phones/email etc.
Unfortunately I can't tell how many are being scammed, but just by using the online classifieds they are reaching hundreds of thousands of people.
I want to help stop this so any help would be appreciated.

I'm going back to usfreeads to ask that the ad be pulled from their/partners website.

PSU2Fan

PSU2Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Using the 'WhoIs' function on this website can get you some info.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,501
dunbar is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to dunbar
Yep, pyramid. Good heads up, but the second page shows the pyramid in a diagram, no less.
__________________
Registered Linux user 260423.
dunbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here's some stuff on '10dlaptop.com'

http://www.internic.net/cgi/whois?wh...om&type=domain

And 'usfreeads.com'

http://www.internic.net/cgi/whois?wh...om&type=domain

I hope this is what you were meaning.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 179
Avicus is on a distinguished road
I thought CSA1234 fell for another scam before I read your post.
Avicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It looks like the '10dlaptop' isn't even registered to anybody yet. When I clink on your link it's dead.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Another scam! Wooohooooo! This is gonna be fun!!

Actually, with the YourFreeLaptop scam, I initially found a few webmasters who were very responsive, then later found most of them could care less. Especially these get-rich-quick sites. They're making just a few bucks from each ad and will take money from anyone advertising anything whatsoever. Perhaps the company running the server will be more responsive.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PSU2Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Avon, NY
Posts: 279
PSU2Fan is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to PSU2Fan
Yeah that's what I got when I entered their domain at WHOIS... nothing. It must be brand new. THis oughtta be fun!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Avicus
I thought CSA1234 fell for another scam before I read your post.


JnMHayes... good call. Though as you may be able to tell this a new facet of the online community I know little about. How can I find out who is hosting this site??
PSU2Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DutchMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NL or rest of EU
Posts: 2,039
DutchMaster is on a distinguished road
Yes this was the 29$ scam:
http://www.techimo.com/forum/showthr...threadid=38923

Looks like they dropped the prices
DutchMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 12:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DutchMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NL or rest of EU
Posts: 2,039
DutchMaster is on a distinguished road
Very little info on owners of the site:
Registrant:
Misty eaton

Registered through: Go Daddy Software (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: 10DLAPTOP.COM

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.SETUPSITE.COM
NS2.SETUPSITE.COM
DutchMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 AM.