29$ FOR A DELL PENTIUM 1.5GHZ LAPTOP?!!! - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2002, 09:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 56
csa1234 is on a distinguished road
29$ FOR A DELL PENTIUM 1.5GHZ LAPTOP?!!!

Hi guys, look what i found......

http://yourfreelaptop.com/

They said they will send you a free Dell Pentium 4 1.5Ghz w/ DVD & CDRW for just joining their club (29$ one time fee) after 77 people join after you

Well i already joined them, and you can see my name here:

http://yourfreelaptop.com/LaptopLadder.html

Right now there is 4 person bellow on me, so lets see if this will be true, anyway if isn't i will report the charges back from my credit card bank and i will get back my money with no problem.

I was writing this post because i want to know if this is true....i mean has someone really won this free laptop?



I edited your link to take out the referral that you are trying to get by posting that site here. The above link now takes you to the same site, but without your referral. Please note that in our FAQ it says:
Quote:
You will not post for-profit personal referrals, advertisements, chain letters, pyramid schemes, spam, or solicitations. Any advertisement for a Member's business, website, affiliation or other association may be placed in the Member's Profile in the HomePage section only.
Do not post spam like that on the forum again. This is obviously some sort of scheme.
daveleau
TechIMO moderator

csa1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 09:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
willy_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Trent University
Posts: 1,864
willy_ph is on a distinguished road
I wouldn't be on that promotion, even 29 bucks. Sounds suspicious to me.
willy_ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
This is a pyramid scheme. Clearly illegal.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
shahani
 
Posts: n/a
Pyramid. Stay away.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 56
csa1234 is on a distinguished road
really? mmm.......i will wait to see what happens, after that i nothing happens i will fill the charges back
csa1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
They're hard to stay away from. A co-worker of mine got into a ISP deal that offered "free high-speed internet" if she could sign up X number of friends (I think it was 10). She had to fork over some money to start it up. I told her to avoid it but it was too good to pass up. She ended up with nothing but a $300 lesson in avoiding pyramid schemes.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 09:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
screen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 344
screen is on a distinguished road
I think this is another pyramid scheme after AMWAY. There are several auctions on ebay that sell information about obtaining a PC/TV/... for $25. Guess what that information is !!! "another pyramid scheme". ***SURPRISE*** people are bidding for those auctions. I've seen several people (very close to me) losing money on such schemes. I'll stay away from these very attractive schemes.
screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 10:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
It's interesting that the site gives a physical address in Connecticut. Anyone want to see how long it takes the BBB to get hold of these guys?

p.s. In the event it becomes necessary, you'll want this URL:
http://www.bbb.org/bbbcomplaints/Welcome.asp

Last edited by osprey4 : 10-14-2002 at 10:08 AM.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 10:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
Quote:
It is agreed that you are not purchasing a laptop computer. You are joining an online club that offers a wide variety of benefits to computer users. There are no guarantees as to the time it will take to receive your laptop.
Yea right....


Right now there are 994 members on the list (I copied it to excel) and if your at the bottom of the list you will have to wait until there are 76538 people signed up...

If 5 people sign up per day, it will only take you 42 years to get your laptop.

Proof (if I figured right):

994 members x 77 new members = 76538

76538 / 5 members per day = 15307 days

15307 days / 365 days per year = 41.93 years
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....

Last edited by jman01pa : 10-14-2002 at 10:41 AM.
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2002, 10:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
So they've collected nearly $30,000 and how many laptops have they given away? 12? So that's a profit of:
$30,000
-($1500x12)=$18,000
$12,000

Since roughly the beginning of August. But the profits should multiply quickly.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)
Are the sites like this for rea.. (3)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.