29$ FOR A DELL PENTIUM 1.5GHZ LAPTOP?!!! - Page 5 - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2002, 08:29 AM   #41 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 779
Detritus is on a distinguished road
[/quote]well i think its all the same thing with different smell and color, but basically they all came from the same hole[/quote]

That is a common misconception

I don't want to turn this into a multi-level marketing bashing thread so I will leave it at this...

I work for the corporation that runs Quixtar (no I am not an IBO/Distributor) and trust me it isn't the same thing. Quixtar actually sells product. It is a large international corporation. We sell in many many countries (China, India, Japan, Korea, Indonesia, Taiwan, Canada, Europe, North, Central and South America etc.), and have done so for over 40 years. We do provide excellent products to our consumers. There was a large investigation many years ago into our dealings and our form of business and it was found that we are not a pyramid scheme simply because our selling force DOESN'T get money just by signing ppl up. Our IBO's/Distributors actually have to sell product to get money.

Sorry end rant, just get sick of the negative attitude.

Hope nobody thinks any less of me now that they know where I work.

Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:27 AM   #42 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
Quote:
I don't want to turn this into a multi-level marketing bashing thread so I will leave it at this...
Then why bring it up? Amway has a bad reputation and are deserving of that. It will be very difficut for you to defend their honor in this thread...
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:30 AM   #43 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Hope nobody thinks any less of me now that they know where I work.

Should we flog him?
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:34 AM   #44 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 779
Detritus is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Then why bring it up? Amway has a bad reputation and are deserving of that. It will be very difficut for you to defend their honor in this thread...
I didn't

Quote:
Should we flog him?

Hmmm....

Sure, we are all deserving of a good flog now and then.
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:38 AM   #45 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by jman01pa
Then why bring it up? Amway has a bad reputation and are deserving of that. It will be very difficut for you to defend their honor in this thread...
I'm no fan of Amway but their business practices are fundamentally different from what Yourfreelaptop.com is doing. Amway uses what's called multi-level marketing, but people still get legitimate products. Most of their employees make a little money and a few make a lot of money. But on an ongoing basis, everyone who spends money gets what they pay for.

Yourfreelaptop.com is taking money in from a lot of people and using it to buy laptops for a very few people. EVENTUALLY, the vast majority of people who send in their $29 will get nothing.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:40 AM   #46 (permalink)
shahani
 
Posts: n/a
Amway and Quixtar are one and the same thing. It's all a con game no matter which way you slice it.

Look up amway or quixtar in google and you'll see literally thousands of negative reports.

The products are so-so but very expensive. You're better off buying name brands at BJ/Costco.

You should hear some of the conventions the bigger distributors organize and attend.

Very cultish.

True, a few top ones are making millions. But 99% don't even recover the money they invest and wind up using the products themselves.

'Course, Detritus, you is a nice guy being a member here and all. Nothing personal.

But if thousands of people say the same thing, can they all be wrong?

Smoke and fire thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:51 AM   #47 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 779
Detritus is on a distinguished road
Quote:
'Course, Detritus, you is a nice guy being a member here and all. Nothing personal.
Don't worry 'bout it, I don't take it personal and I have a very thick skin. And I reiterate that I am not a distributor but an employee of that corporation.

Quote:
But if thousands of people say the same thing, can they all be wrong?
I could show you a list of hundreds of thousands who think Amway/Quixtar is a good business.
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 09:56 AM   #48 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Amway has one advantage over Yourfreelaptop.com. Amway, despite their reputation, is a legal business and Yourfreelaptop.com is clearly illegal.

I PM'd csa1234 and encouraged him to file a complaint through the IFCC. If anyone else is inclined to file, go to:
http://www1.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 11:08 AM   #49 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Hey, I need some help. I've searched Google and found dozens of sites where these scam artists are advertising. I've taken to e-mailing the webmasters requesting that they remove the ads. I've already received one positive response.

So far, I've sent mail to:
'kevin@ksinclair.com'
'merryv@homepartiesdirectory.com' (they removed their ad)
'support@commerceservices.net'
'owner@buddyblankies.com'

Anyone care to help along these lines?
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 11:46 AM   #50 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
what keywords are you using in your search?
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)
Are the sites like this for rea.. (3)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 AM.