29$ FOR A DELL PENTIUM 1.5GHZ LAPTOP?!!! - Page 4 - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2002, 02:21 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 56
csa1234 is on a distinguished road
and off couse bellow is a letter from them:


----- Original Message -----
From: "YourFreeLaptop.com" <admin@yourfreelaptop.com>
To: <web123@telesurf.com.py>
Sent: Tuesday, October 15, 2002 11:30 PM
Subject: Your Money Back


> Your payment has been refunded. Your buddies at the forum are wrong. They
> have no idea that we do offer excellent valuable services that our members
> are enjoying like live online educational seminars presented by experts
> from many fields. We are honest folk and have never even seen your credit
> card information. It is all encrypted on the server, so you don't have to
> worry about that.
>
> No one loses here. All anyone has to do is refer 15 people and they get
> their money back because we pay $2 per referral. Then they are waiting for
> their laptop with no money out of pocket and they are still taking
> advantage of our member services. We work hard to provide them and we pay
> money to the experts. We also have many operating expenses here.
>
> No need to notify the FBI, hon. I think they have enough to do fighting
> terrorism and serial killers, don't you?
>
> Anyway, you have your money back and no one else is complaining.
>
> Have a nice day.
>
>
>
>
> > Hi i want my order to be canceled. There is a lot of disccusion about
> > your business on this web site :
> > http://www.techimo.com/forum/t37814.html
> >
> >
> > ----- Original Message -----
> > From: "Learn2Compute" <admin@yourfreelaptop.com>
> > To: <web123@telesurf.com.py>
> > Sent: Sunday, October 13, 2002 5:52 PM
> > Subject: Thank you for your order.
> >
> >
> >> From: Learn2Compute. Thank you for your order!
> >>
> >> If you have a question please refer to the order ID listed below.
> >>
> >> Order ID: 1224677
> >> Date: Sunday, October 13, 2002. 5:52:22 PM.
> >>
> >>
> >> Name: Cesar A, Saguier
> >> Company:
> >> Email: web123@telesurf.com.py
> >>
> >>
> >> Address1: 13218 S.W. 131 St.
> >> Address2: Suite NB#122337
> >> City: Miami
> >> State: FL
> >> Zip/Postcode: 33186
> >> Country: United States
> >>
> >> Home Phone:
> >> Work Phone: +595-21-605694
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> YFL Membership ($29.00) X 1 = $29.00
> >> --------------
> >> Total = $29.00
> >> Shipping - Prepaid = $0.00
> >> Grand Total = $29.00
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> Thank you for joining Yourfreelaptop.com and/or purchasing products
> >> from our store. Your name will be added to the Laptop Ladder within 24
> >> hours and will time/date stamped according to the time you
> >> purchased/joined.
> >>
> >> Elizabeth Comeau
> >> Learn2Compute
> >> Ph: 877-285-0663
> >> Email: questions@yourfreelaptop.com
> >> http://yourfreelaptop.com
> >>
>
>
> Liz
> Anica
> Alex
> YFL Admin
> (877) 285-0663
> http://yourfreelaptop.com
>
>
>

csa1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 02:57 PM   #32 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Daft_Ghosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Cackolacky (aka South Carolina)
Posts: 3,410
Daft_Ghosty is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Daft_Ghosty Send a message via AIM to Daft_Ghosty
wow those bugger act fast don't they..
__________________
In life one must Chill
Daft_Ghosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 03:11 PM   #33 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Found something interesting. My ISPs TOS specifically prohibits pyramid schemes:
Quote:
21. Prohibited Uses of Optimum Online: The Subscriber shall not use the Optimum Online Service or the Services for illegal or inappropriate activities, including but not limited to:
(i) conducting a pyramid or other illegal soliciting scheme;
I wonder if whoever is hosting "yourfreelaptop.com" knows what they're doing?
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 03:36 PM   #34 (permalink)
Registered User
 
screen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 344
screen is on a distinguished road
Wow!!! they are paying $2 per referral, i.e., they are taking $29 and giving $2 from that amount to someone else. Given that you risk a chance of getting a laptop in 10+ years, you can benefit by getting $140 for recruiting 70 people. Poor 70 people have to recruit 4900 people. Finally, the people at the bottom have to give up their $29 each. If several thousands join and recruit 70 each, then the company can live off the interest they get from the registration fee.

Now, I'm tempted to start a ladder my self and my name is YYY the great from nowhere with a website goodluckfolksgivemethemoney.com
screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 03:42 PM   #35 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
I am impressed and happy for you that your got your money back but it still dont make me feel any different. I have no doubt this site scared them. Good for us...

I am curious about something. If we are wrong and the sites primary service reflects the following quoted statement, why do they call themselves "yourfreelaptop.com"?

Quote:
we do offer excellent valuable services that our members
are enjoying like live online educational seminars presented by experts from many fields.

csa1234, continue to watch the site. Watch the person above and below where you were and see how long it takes them to reach the top. I doubt you will see it happen.

I hope you remain an active member here.
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2002, 03:57 PM   #36 (permalink)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
LOL

i love there reply, yes this is basically the same way amyway and quixstar work. waste of time and effort. your profit or whatever you get depends on the people you bring aboard and who they bring aboard and who they bring aboard and keep on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 06:34 AM   #37 (permalink)
Registered User
 
osprey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,081
osprey4 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by csa1234
We are honest folk...No one loses here...No need to notify the FBI, hon.
Yes, no one loses there, while everybody else gets ripped off.

What a crock! This is a scam and these people will defraud thousands before they are shut down. In the meantime, they'll walk away with a tidy profit, probably get a slap on the wrist, move to another state and set up shop again.
osprey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 06:50 AM   #38 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Detritus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 779
Detritus is on a distinguished road
There is actually a big difference between this scam and Quixtar. With Quxtar you actually do sell product and you do run a legitimate business, can't say if it is overly profitable, but there are actual products sold. You don't just sign ppl up to get cash, you have to sell stuff to get the money and the ppl below you have to sell stuff to get money.
Detritus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 07:50 AM   #39 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 56
csa1234 is on a distinguished road
well i think its all the same thing with different smell and color, but basically they all came from the same hole
csa1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2002, 08:02 AM   #40 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
CSA1234. What turned you around?

__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)
Reputation: Establishing Trust .. (0)
Are the sites like this for rea.. (3)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.