»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2002, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
djuan is on a distinguished road
www.laptopbrain.net friend or foe?

Has anyone heard of or done business with this company? They have very good prices and a very professional website but the person responding to my e-mails has the vocabulary of a 3rd grader and they never answer their phone. They do not accept credit card or escrow but they have an almost reasonable way of accepting payment. But before I risk anything, I would like to know if www.laptopbrain.net is legit or are they in the shadow of exchange-usa.com

Thanks
Djuan

djuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2002, 08:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
screen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 344
screen is on a distinguished road
See the end of the discussion on the following thread

http://www.techimo.com/forum/tid2357...pn1/index.html

Last edited by screen; 08-30-2002 at 11:58 AM.
screen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2002, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2
ksukat is on a distinguished road
Gaming Shady Business

I just lost $1000 in a shady business deal with laptop brain. I wired the money as requested, but my laptop has not been shipped and I have not recieved any replies to emails about my shipment. I cannot get an answer at one phone number I was given, and the other one is completely bogus. I thought I'd scored a great deal, but I ended up getting screwed. Don't do business with laptopbrain.
ksukat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 56
csa1234 is on a distinguished road
djuan, Laptopbrain Inc is a scam. I have proof of this. They report an article from a supposed magazine check this link here: http://www.laptopbrain.net/article.htm

searching the web i found that, that article belongs to this company: http://www.costpluscomputers.com.au/article.htm

So to confirm this i contact the writer of the article and here is what his e-mail said to me:

----- Original Message -----
From: "Charles Wright" <cw@bleedingedge.com.au>
To: "Cesar Saguier" <web123@telesurf.com.py>
Sent: Sunday, August 25, 2002 9:33 PM
Subject: Re[4]: Investigation cooperation


> Dear Cesar,
>
> I've received the following reply from CostPlus. It seems that they
> are scammers. They've certainly just ripped off my story and applied
> it to their own ends. This is the response of CostPlus:
>
> Hi Charles,
>
> I have had several inquiries re Laptopbrain in Orlando. They just
> pinched my website whole. They keep registering new domain names and
> moving around.They even mailed us trying to sell us notebooks.
> Eventually the FBI or someone will close them down. I cannot believe
> of all the websites all over the world they have to pick mine.( It
> must have been your great article )
>
> regards,
>
> dan
>
> Regards,
>
> Charles Wright
>
>
>
> Sunday, August 25, 2002, 8:48:11 AM, you wrote:
>
> CS> oppss sorry, the correct link is: www.scambuster.org
>
> CS> ----- Original Message -----
> CS> From: "Charles Wright" <cw@bleedingedge.com.au>
> CS> To: "Cesar Saguier" <web123@telesurf.com.py>
> CS> Sent: Saturday, August 24, 2002 5:57 PM
> CS> Subject: Re[2]: Investigation cooperation
>
>
> >> Dear Cesar,
> >>
> >> There doesn't seem to be a scambuster.com.
> >>
> >> Regards,
> >>
> >> Charles Wright
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> Sunday, August 25, 2002, 5:25:57 AM, you wrote:
> >>
> >> CS> ok ,let me know if you find out anything, i will wait your answer to
> CS> confirm
> >> CS> if they are the same from CostPlus or a subsidiary from them.If not i
> CS> will
> >> CS> report them as a suspected fraud and scam at IFCC www.ifccfbi.gov and
> >> CS> www.scambuster.com
> >>
> >> CS> Thanks for you coop, i apreciate that
> >>
> >> CS> ----- Original Message -----
> >> CS> From: "Charles Wright" <cw@bleedingedge.com.au>
> >> CS> To: "Cesar Saguier" <web123@telesurf.com.py>
> >> CS> Sent: Saturday, August 24, 2002 8:21 AM
> >> CS> Subject: Re: Investigation cooperation
> >>
> >>
> >> >> Dear Cesar,
> >> >>
> >> >> On second thoughts. It does look like the Melbourne store I wrote
> >> >> about has some operation in Orlando, Florida. I'll have to check it
> >> >> out.
> >> >>
> >> >> Regards,
> >> >>
> >> >> Charles Wright
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> Saturday, August 24, 2002, 6:01:32 PM, you wrote:
> >> >>
> >> >> CS> Sir, my name is Cesar Saguier, im from south america, the reason im
> >> CS> writing to you is because i found a web store who sells computers for
> CS> very
> >> CS> low prices. After exploring their web site
> >> >> http://www.laptopbrain.net/article.htm I found this article (click on
> CS> the
> >> CS> link). That article is from The Age Green Guide, wroted by you
> CS> (Charles
> >> CS> Wright), i dont trust this people because they dont
> >> >> accept credit cards payments. Also i found another web site exactly
> CS> with
> >> CS> this same article you wrote but with the company names changed (check
> CS> this
> >> CS> link
> >> >> http://www.costpluscomputers.com.au/article.htm ) So my question is the
> >> CS> next are the Laptopbrain lien about your article sayind you wrote
> CS> about
> >> CS> them? Please help me out with this that way i will now
> >> >> this people are really a SCAM or not. If you know about this company
> CS> and
> >> CS> if it is true they have a good reputation selling computers please let
> CS> me
> >> CS> know so i can buy from them, otherwise let me know
> >> >> too so i can be aware from them.
> >> >>
> >> >> CS> PS: Sorry for my english, actually i speak spanish, i hope you can
> >> CS> understand me and reply to me ASAP. Thanks
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >>
> >> >> --
> >> >>
> >> >> --
> >> >> Message protected by MailGuard: e-mail anti-virus and content
> CS> filtering.
> >> >> http://www.mailguard.com.au/mg
csa1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tokyo Japan
Posts: 20
rrr_ryu is on a distinguished road
Laptopbrain is fraud!!!

Laptopbarin is fraud. www.laptopbrain.net
I lost $1,500
An incharge of this deal was Rovert Voss(robertvoss@laptopbrain.net)
I paid this person for buy Apple Powerbook G4 800Mhz via Western Union.

Bradoc Boran
Address: 713 PARK AVE
City: New York
State NY
Zip: 10019
Country: United States

But, Bradoc and Rovert never ship me.
I want to catch them but, I'm living in Japan.
So, I sent complaint form IFCC.
Does someone know them?
Beware!!!
Don't deal with Laptopbrain!!!!!

Last edited by rrr_ryu; 09-15-2002 at 08:49 AM.
rrr_ryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.