»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2002, 08:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 32
Jammer53 is on a distinguished road
PAYPAL USERS BEWARE!!

I have just received what I believe to be a ficticious Paypal email, which states the following:


quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------




Member Verification


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your account has been flagged in our system to be investigated about an issue concerning Fraud. We require members flagged with Fraud to login below to verify their account. After you login, your account will be taken out of Fraud and you will be allowed to make transfers again



Click on this link to continue the verification http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr...r-Verification


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



PayPal Support Team





--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Looks official/original enough, except for one small letter! All Paypal web addresses start with https, not http. Obviously, if you get one of these emails, DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK!.

Oh yeah, just log in and we'll make the "FRAUD" just go away. End of inquiry. Yeah, ok. Right.

I have emailed Paypal and am awaiting their instructions.

J53

__________________
"Let 09-11-01 put your life and priorities in perspective"
Jammer53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
MDS
Registered User
 
MDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N-the-center-Kansas
Posts: 2,694
MDS is on a distinguished road
That link is a ligit PayPal link

and also I don't use paypal after this

also check out this

and this
MDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 09:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bovon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,233
Bovon is on a distinguished road
I wouldn't touch Paypal with your money!
Bovon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Brangwen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: "Now?"
Posts: 3,154
Brangwen is on a distinguished road
MDS et al:

Thanks for the proverbial "heads up" as I was also considering using PayPal for EBay purchases!

Brangwen
Brangwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PresterJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 3,471
PresterJohn is on a distinguished road
paypal has both a http & https addy. the link you have appears good BUT my rule of thumb to is always skip using such links and going directly to the website and logging in.

paypal isn't going away since ebay bought then recently. the crappy thing about it is that is the current management & operations will not change (according to the press notices).

i use paypal to pay for online stuff (never as a receipient). so far, i have never had any trouble but that isn't to say they're perfect either.
PresterJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 09:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm wondering tho now that PayPal has been purchased by Ebay.
I think the accountablity just went way up.
PayPal was founded by some kids trying to buy online. But Ebay is a legit company with lotsa lawyers. They would have never purchased a business that was going to hurt them,,, I don't think.
I think now there should be legit and timely customer service.

Quote:
Originally posted by PresterJohn

paypal isn't going away since ebay bought then recently. the crappy thing about it is that is the current management & operations will not change (according to the press notices).
Well, let's hope it will and the press releases are just politics. After all they wouldn't announce that We Own it Now and Heads Will Roll
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,208
EndobioticChaos is on a distinguished road
Quote:
paypal has both a http & https addy.
Yes, BUT any page where you have to enter login info will be https. "https" indicates a secure server, that's what that s means. If you pay attention, you'll notice when you click on "Log in" the page it takes you to is https. I'm pretty sure the link is legit... although the email may not be. If someone's got some trojan on your comp to keep track of keystrokes, that's all they need is for you to log in legitimately. Just be careful.
EndobioticChaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PresterJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 3,471
PresterJohn is on a distinguished road
>"https" indicates a secure server, that's what that s means

yes, i know about that. and usually if you login thru the http addy it will direct the login to the https.

those of us who are security conscious can of course just go directly to the https site.
PresterJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 10:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
In related news:
Saw last week on CNN about a guy thats been selling on EBay for years and just scammed a bunch of buyers for a total of $300,000. Don't think he even used Paypal.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2002, 12:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 32
Jammer53 is on a distinguished road
UPDATE

Just talked with "gwen" at paypal. She said this is definitely not from Paypal. I attached it to an email and forwarded it to her, to forward to Paypal's Mgmt/Security Team.

I told her (and put it in the email) that I trade on several BBS's and many folks are waiting to find out what the deal is here.

I will advise asap.

Thanks for all the help guys.

J53
__________________
"Let 09-11-01 put your life and priorities in perspective"
Jammer53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.