»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2002, 06:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
Aaron128 is on a distinguished road
exchange-usa.com a scam site????

There was a thread about how this company (exchange-usa.com) was PROBABLY a scam site, but has anyone confirmed that? The deals are VERY tempting and it would be nice if this too-good-to-be true site was actual true.

old thread link: http://www.techimo.com/forum/t23575.html

website link: Exchange-USA

thanks!
Aaron

Aaron128 is offline  
Old 07-10-2002, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Undeadlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,006
Undeadlord is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Undeadlord Send a message via AIM to Undeadlord Send a message via Yahoo to Undeadlord
I would stay very far away from this one. So shaky and smelly its not even funny.

Sounds and looks a big company, but payment is by MO or check and to an individual not a company BADBADBAD

Undeadlord
Undeadlord is offline  
Old 07-10-2002, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 1,063
no1_vern is on a distinguished road
Hi Aaron 128,
Welcome to TechIMO!
I agree with the Undeadlord. Stay away, far away. Fly by night sites are a penny a dozen.
no1_vern is offline  
Old 07-10-2002, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6
Aaron128 is on a distinguished road
I'm thinking of calling them tomorrow and seeing if they'll use an Escrow service. If they refuse, then it's pretty much assured that they're a scam site. They have been up and running for at least a month, which is strange...
Aaron128 is offline  
Old 07-11-2002, 02:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 264
John C. Dechon is on a distinguished road
Well, a month though is not that long, really, it's not enough time to get a lots of complaints which would then get the attention of the BBB and/or state attorney-general, so they have plenty of time yet -- IF they ARE a scam vendor -- to rip-off a bunch of people before they disappear. Heck, there are some older companies STILL doing that regularly and STILL in business.

So much for "the authorities" looking out for the consumer, right?

Hopefully they are honest, just starting out and need some time to build a good reputation...I hope so.

If not, trash their "good name" in a negative rating/review!

John D.
John C. Dechon is offline  
Old 07-12-2002, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2
clanofthecedar is on a distinguished road
exchange your $ for nothing?

So Sunday night I emailed sales@exchange-usa.com, asking for a phone number and a business address. Both were in my inbox the next morning. I still didn't get a good feeling so I began this week long search for some indication of validity regarding this company (or not really a company). I finally found this site after discovering the loose ties w/ x-change reciprocal, various addresses in VA, FL, CA and UT, etc... I'm just tapping away here, hoping I can rape this site for a good deal on a notebook, but it looks grim. Anyways, I emailed again yesterday and got quite creative and straight forward, basically telling "Edward" that if he's "legit" and not just out to "stiff" me, then I'll buy, buy, buy! I also told him to be careful if he's a fugazi, cause G.Bush was just on the TV tuesday night, all chest thumping, hemming and hawing about fighting internet and corporate fraud. (Yawn...) Anyhoo, as you'd expect no reply is the current status. What seems odd to me is that, granted I don't know my way around the web at all, I can't find any complaints or info. period on this site. Surely someone has been acosted by this guy(s)? It's a complex world in here and the corners are dark, but geez, $1500 powerbook? Rubbing this Genie lamp for all its worth... Oh yeah, and how strange to discontinue credit card option on this site? Not an easy process to setup credit card account, especially MC/Visa and Discover! And then dump because of "rampant credit card fraud?" Reeks to high heaven! Oh yeah, in the second email I told him I'd like to use an escrow service also. Since then it seems he (they) may be involved w/ x-change reciprocal services and faulted illegal escrow service from Alabama ( I think Alabama). So that one was shut down by fed. So there it is... Why don't we pool for a $148 ipod just for fun? We can send postal money order, certified receipt, and see what pans out... Food for thought...
clanofthecedar is offline  
Old 07-12-2002, 01:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
FreakyOCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,422
FreakyOCR is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to FreakyOCR Send a message via AIM to FreakyOCR Send a message via Yahoo to FreakyOCR
Stay FAR AWAY. Any decent company accepts CC. They just don't want CC so that the CC company can't come after them looking for the money when you don't get your product.

If it's too good to be true... it is.
__________________
- Freaky
FreakyOCR is offline  
Old 07-12-2002, 01:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
FreakyOCR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,422
FreakyOCR is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to FreakyOCR Send a message via AIM to FreakyOCR Send a message via Yahoo to FreakyOCR
Welcome to !

We supply surplus and bankrupt stock to consumers and resellers. All items we sell are brand new and never used; exactly as you would find in your local store. All items carry a 7 day money-back guarantee if you are unhappy with the quality of the item you receive as well as their original manufacturers warranties where applicable.

Ahem. STAY AWAY! This guy sounds like he's in grade 8!
__________________
- Freaky
FreakyOCR is offline  
Old 07-12-2002, 01:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JALM69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 79
JALM69 is on a distinguished road
geesh this site does sound to good to be true. there selling ps2's for $124. and xbox with game pack for 129.00 way to cheap since there going for 200 in the store with no games..........i smell a scam artist here!!!!!!!!!!!
JALM69 is offline  
Old 07-12-2002, 01:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
JALM69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 79
JALM69 is on a distinguished road
if your still set on buying tell them you will pay only by cod!!!! then open the item in front of driver before you except it to make sure what your paying for is in the box hmmmmmm
smart thinkin or i have to much time on my hands lol lmao
JALM69 is offline  
Closed Thread




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:50 AM.