directcomponents.com and PC 1066 - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2002, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 7
sapiens74 is on a distinguished road
directcomponents.com and PC 1066

A user on ASUSBoards.com showed me this site and recommended I posted this about a situation I have with directcomponents.com.


I posted on another thread about the Samsung PC1066 I bought from componentsdirect.com. Turns out that the Ram is actually PC800 with the Void if Removed sticker conviently covering the PC800 markings and model number on the original Samsung sticker.
Anyway I wrote them an Email and thought I would post it here to see what you guys thought:

Nick,
I spoke with another gentleman on the phone concerning order #******, and he mentioned you were the manager. I recently purchased 2 sticks of Samsung 1066 RDRAM, from Components Direct, and after installing them on my ASUS P4T 533-C motherboard, my computer refused to run at the 1066 speeds. So I reseated the the RAM, and when I did I noticed that underneath the sticker labeled “Memory Direct RIMM 256 1066 Void if Removed” that the original Samsung label said PC800. After a little investigating I found this link:
http://www.samsungelectronics.com/s...us_big_sale.htm
and part number MR16R1628AF0-CM8 on the memory is actually 40NS PC800 RDRAM. Normally when I order online I realize sometimes there are going be mistakes, but in this case the sticker labeled “Memory Direct RIMM 256 1066 Void if Removed” directly covers the PC800 on the original Samsung label as if to hide it. After working in retail computer stores, I understand how ordering and vendors work, and am not blaming your company for false advertising, although the ram is clearly not PC1066. I am upset though that I paid top dollar for something that doesn’t exist yet, as confirmed through Samsung that they have yet to release a 256MB PC1066 module as of yet.

The gentlemen I spoke with, explained to me the return policy, which for most cases is understandable but in this particular case I believe something else to be warranted. Since Samsung does not make a 256MB PC066 as of yet, you cannot replace it with a Samsung Module. I would ask that you do one of 2 things to fix this situation. 1) You can replace my 2 sticks of remarked PC800 with another brand. Kingston is the only manufacturer with actual PC1066 256MB modules for sale, or 2) you can refund my full purchase price including the 2 day shipping charges at $269.76.



Your prompt attention on this matter will be greatly appreciated.



Thank You,

Jonathan


I was trying to be as cordial as possible cause I am pretty upset.

sapiens74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
gorath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 314
gorath is on a distinguished road
Very good email. Firm yet restrained. I hope the situation works out for you. Good luck.
gorath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 7
sapiens74 is on a distinguished road
Thanks I am gald I found this great site
sapiens74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 09:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Tomteriffic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ohio (transplanted f
Posts: 2,673
Tomteriffic is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Tomteriffic
WTG, good thing to start out nice.

Just for future reference, it's not a bad idea to check out ResellerRatings right here on any online vendor you may be considering doing business with. Granted people tend to gripe more when there's a problem than they praise when everything goes smoothly, but it's still a good indicator and you can weed out the real stinkers that way. It's saved me some grief, for sure.
__________________
A word to the wise is usually unneccessary.
Tomteriffic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2002, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
MDS
Registered User
 
MDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: N-the-center-Kansas
Posts: 2,694
MDS is on a distinguished road
Nice email, have you got any response from them yet?
MDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2002, 05:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 7
sapiens74 is on a distinguished road
I wish I would have known this site. I usually order with MWAVE.com and trhey always been great, and I spent about 12k over the last year there. Never had a problem. But these guys are horrible.

Haven't recieved a response yet.

I filed a complaint with the BBB, Pricewatch, and my credit card company
sapiens74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 5
runes911 is on a distinguished road
Kids

Wish I would have found out about componentsdirect.com's rep sooner, but so far everything is OK they shipped my things yesterday. I also bought some PC1066 RDRAM from them I will let you know if I have the same problem with it. One thing that confuses me though is that samsung does list that they sell PC1066 but the page I see has the model number MR16R1628AF0 with no "-cm" behind it. Here: 256 128Mx16 256M 2ndx8pcs 2.5 16K/32ms 400/45(40), 533/35 184 Mass Productoin SS, 1066MHz start in July.

The third line down. So I will see how everything turns out.
runes911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
Nice letter. It is firm and to the point. Good Luck!

Make sure you rate them in resellerratings...


J
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ZENYO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Coquitlam BC
Posts: 705
ZENYO is on a distinguished road
This is where the link brings me. Is this A 404?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
ÀÌ ÆäÀÌÁö¸¦ ãÀ» ¼ö ¾ø½À´Ï´Ù.
ã°í ÀÖ´Â ÆäÀÌÁö°¡ »èÁ¦µÇ¾ú°Å³ª À̸§ÀÌ º¯°æµÇ¾ú°Å³ª ÀϽÃÀûÀ¸·Î »ç¿ëÇÒ ¼ö ¾ø½À´Ï´Ù.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

´ÙÀ½À» ½ÃµµÇØ º¸½Ê½Ã¿À.

ÁÖ¼Ò Ç¥½ÃÁÙ¿¡ ÆäÀÌÁö ÁÖ¼Ò¸¦ ÀÔ·ÂÇß´Ù¸é ÁÖ¼Ò¸¦ Á¤È®È÷ ÀÔ·ÂÇß´ÂÁö È®ÀÎÇØ º¸½Ê½Ã¿À.

www.samsungelectronics.com Ȩ ÆäÀÌÁö¸¦ ¿¬ ´ÙÀ½ ¿øÇÏ´Â Á¤º¸¿¡ ´ëÇÑ ¸µÅ©¸¦ ãÀ¸½Ê½Ã¿À.
µÚ·Î ´ÜÃ߸¦ Ŭ¸¯ÇÏ¿© ´Ù¸¥ ¸µÅ©¸¦ ½ÃµµÇØ º¸½Ê½Ã¿À.
HTTP 404 - ÆÄÀÏÀ» ãÀ» ¼ö ¾øÀ½
Internet Information Services


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

±â¼ú Á¤º¸(Áö¿ø Àη¿ë)

ÀÚ¼¼ÇÑ Á¤º¸:
Microsoft ±â¼ú Áö¿ø
__________________
Eat, drink and be merry...
ZENYO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 11:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 2,464
jman01pa is on a distinguished road
ZENYO

You cant understand that? He he.


Thats an MS Internet Explorer error 404 page.



J
__________________
Smile often! It makes people wonder what your up to.....

Last edited by jman01pa : 06-13-2002 at 11:03 AM.
jman01pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)

Recent Discussions
Cartman Covers Lady Gaga's (0)
tactical leds llc (0)
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (10)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)
Is certifiedwatchstore.com legi.. (1)
Beware of used XBOX 360's (12)
Cheap Used Computers (0)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:58 PM.