»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2002, 07:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
tbige is on a distinguished road
Overclockerz Store Out of Business?

Web site haas been unavailable for about two weeks. Are these folks history...or just trying to be?

tbige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
thekingofpain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,119
thekingofpain is on a distinguished road
They usually pop back up with a new name---im pretty sure they have "gone under" twice now only to resurface---
thekingofpain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2002, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
72 510 is on a distinguished road
try www.webuildpcs.com or www.abilitywholesale.com they are all owned by the same scam artists that own OCZ
72 510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In a Jeep
Posts: 2
Jeeperz is on a distinguished road
Looks like they've gone away....72510 must've oc'd a chip to death and wanted his money back or something. I miss theoverclockerzstore....
Jeeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2
72 510 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeeperz
Looks like they've gone away....72510 must've oc'd a chip to death and wanted his money back or something. I miss theoverclockerzstore....
I was a Administrator at OCZ's forum and my best friend was a OCZ employee from the beginning, not to mention countless other ex-OCZ employee's I know, so don't fool yourself and think you know more about their business practices then I do.....
72 510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 03:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chiquita bananas are good for you!
 
blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 54
blade is on a distinguished road
OCZ is among the most despicible on the net. If not THE most.

Not only have there been countless real long threads complaining on their poor business practices and bad customer service at ocp and anands but they've even made hardware sites which naturally make all rave reviews on ocz products and ocz. Very ethical of them huh.

Originally 6-7 hardware sites showed the same owner as ocz when doing an open srs search on each. But after they learned others can get that info they then changed the info to other names.

Still, do an srs on those store sites and you'll see all are within a digit of each others phone number. Np though, once they hear others can tie them to that then they'll change to more different telephone numbers. And yes webuild and ability ARE ocz sites.

As with any troll (most anyway) they'll have many who had no problems with them. But it's the ones who do we should all be concerned about.
blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 50
Russ is on a distinguished road
Misc

Hi Blade.

Russ, NCNE
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2002, 07:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
maface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,154
maface is on a distinguished road
Have never done business with OCZ but if they also own webuild I would stay away!
maface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2002, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Your A: drive.
Posts: 4
Vesh is on a distinguished road
If Cen-Com (the parent company people speak of here) isn't run by ex convicts and accomplished confidence artists, I'll be very suprised. Any company who has a restocking fee over 10-15% and an 'order cancellation fee' at all should be suspect from the get-go. Unfortunately, I'm one of the thousands who blindly orders first and reads policy later. I'm currently in dealings with these crooks, btw.

Now that OCz is part of Cen-Com, I'm going to put my RAM needs in the hands of Corsair - I got the advertised speeds I ordered and it's stable as **** [fill in your favorite 4-letterer, there]. And, no I dont work for Corsair, or anything - I'm just another poor schmo who's been duped by Cen-Com [AbilityWholesale]. Next up, I think I'll try Mushkin - are they owned by anyone unscrupulous? =/

Blade, you might want to start a "Beware of Cen-Com" page with information about all the different CC storefronts so that people dont have to be tricked into dealing with the same people yet again. Yunno, If my current RMA doesn't go well, Discover and Pricewatch are getting an earful. =]
Vesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2002, 04:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
maface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 1,154
maface is on a distinguished road
Vesh,

I been trying to get a credit owned to me from Webuildpcs another Cen Com company since Oct 2001.

Good Luck

Last edited by maface; 04-10-2002 at 08:13 AM.
maface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.