»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2009, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
matrixfart is on a distinguished road
Factor Gaming (factorgaming.com) Any experiences?

Anyone have any experiences or heard of anyone who has done business with them?
They seem legit on the surface so I may just be paranoid, but their lackluster customer service makes me uneasy. They seem to have only one customer service rep, Chris, and though he answers the phone during opening hours and is nice and helpful, their online support staff have so far only had a 50% reply rate in my experience.
Their sales office is in Silver Springs MD, with their assembly plant apparently in city of industry CA.

My order is currently in the "Building and Assembly" stage, so I am not completely panicking yet, but I wanted to check if anyone knows of any experiences good or bad with this company(besides the 6 reviews here on resellerratings).

Gaming Laptops, Gaming Notebooks, Custom Gaming Laptops | Factor Gaming
Factorgaming.com - Factor Gaming - Gaming Laptops, Gaming Notebooks, Custom Gaming Laptops | Factor Gaming
FactorGaming.com - Gaming Computers, Laptops & Notebooks
Factor Gaming - factorgaming.com - Reviews, Ratings and Prices at ResellerRatings
1525 Heather Hollow Circle Suite 24, Silver Spring, Maryland 20904 - Google Maps


Last edited by matrixfart; 09-30-2009 at 03:27 PM.
matrixfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

Per the WhoIs info the website was just registered 2MAR2008 and shows a private registration with Bluehost.
Quote:
Domain Name: FACTORGAMING.COM

Created on..............: 2008-01-30 00:19:53 GMT
Expires on..............: 2011-01-29 17:19:53 GMT
Last modified on........: 2009-03-03 15:04:24 GMT

Registrant Info: (FAST-12785240)
Attn: factorgaming.com
BlueHost.com- INC
1958 South 950 East
** FREE DOMAIN REGISTRATION **
Hosting plans starting at ONLY $6.95 per month -
Provo, Utah 84606
United States
They are not listed at that address with Whitepages.com. I have not been able to find a BBB Report for them. Per the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation they were just registered on 1AUG2008,
Quote:
Entity Name: FACTOR GAMING L.L.C.
Dept ID #: W12656179
Principal Office (Current):
APT. 24
1525 HEATHER HOLLOW CIRCLE
SILVER SPRING, MD 20904
Resident Agent (Current):
CHRISTIAN CARRIER GOGOL
APT. 24
1525 HEATHER HOLLOW CIRCLE
SILVER SPRING, MD 20904
Status: ACTIVE
Good Standing: No
Business Code: Other
Date of Formation or Registration: 08/01/2008
State of Formation: MD
Stock/Nonstock: N/A
Close/Not Close: Unknown
Noticed that the address is a apartment and that they are not in good standing at this time.

They have a Review Page here at RR giving them a 9/10 rating with 5 reviews since 8MAR2008. The first review was only 6 days after the website was registered and mentions previous reviews. I do not see any previous reviews, so either the poster was mistaken or the reviews were removed.

Per this thread at overclock.net/laptops-notebook-computers/533550-factorgaming-com-gaming-laptops-question.html Factorgaming is a reseller of Sager laptops.

Here is a link to Sager. You can also customize Sagers there to compare prices. Here is a link to the customizer page for the Sager NP9280. Sager also carries a decent warranty.

Oh, and the mailing address for Sager is,
Quote:
18005 Cortney Court,
City of Industry, CA 91748
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 09-30-2009 at 03:03 PM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 03:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
matrixfart is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the reply.

What does it mean that they are "not in good standing"?

Comparing prices Factor Gaming's prices lie close to Sager's own pricing.

Apparently they have appeared on Killer Startups (4 Months 27 Days ago)
FactorGaming.com - Play With Your Laptop | Visit factorgaming.com

Since Sager's mail address is in CoI in CA, it makes sense that FG are just resellers of Sager laptops.

I am hoping they are just a small company with few reviews, but I can't help being paranoid. It's easy to be.

Will of course update here if all goes well in the end.
matrixfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrixfart View Post
What does it mean that they are "not in good standing"?
It varies from State to State, generally it refers to the company being on time with yearly business filings/reports and taxes. This company hit its one year mark two months ago. It's possible that Maryland just hasn't updated the information yet.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
matrixfart is on a distinguished road
Thank you.

Also another update, a positive one it appears.

Found their ebay member profile. They have positive reviews (Both as seller and buyer apparently). Not much activity this year though.

eBay View About Me for factorgaming

Last edited by matrixfart; 09-30-2009 at 04:05 PM.
matrixfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
xxxstarmaniac is on a distinguished road
Matrix,

I went ahead and took the plunge and purchased a Sager laptop through Factor Gaming. So far the purchasing part of the process has been smooth, and I receive the machine tomorrow. I will update you.

There seems to be a couple other drop ship sellers for Sager, and all their prices and warrantys are close. It just ends up being your preference which one you choose to buy from, as buying from Sager directly costs more and has less of a warranty.

The Sager I was looking into was better priced and had fewer complaints than the similarly set up Alienware. And most people who buy something will never write a review unless they have a problem, which is when you see what could go wrong with the product.

That's what makes this website a little more interesting; the reviews are good and bad. Most people with good reviews are on the initial purchase, and the ones with issues have had to go through the warranty process, so keep that in mind.
xxxstarmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 07:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
matrixfart is on a distinguished road
Firstly, apologies for reviving a relatively old thread, but I thought I should provide an update since my laptop finally arrived.

That makes it 1 month 7 days since ordering.

To be fair they are only a reseller, and they had to wait for my laptop to ship from Sager. Sager apparently had major back-orders with this model since it is brand new and the biggest beast on the block.

Chris was very helpful whenever I called and asked for info, however I wish their automatic information updates were better. I have yet to receive a mail telling me my order has shipped, despite it arriving at my door yesterday.

Beside the long wait time the transaction was smooth, customer services adequate, delivery once it was shipped was swift (2.5 days from California to Belgium) and the laptop came in pristine condition.

I am very happy with my purchase, however the lack of updated information might put me off from buying from them again and instead go with a larger reseller such as xoticpc next time I decide to upgrade my system.


I presume my experience is not typical so they are probably just fine. They do have good prices which is why i went with them to begin with.
matrixfart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 PM.