Ways to spot fake shopping web sites - ResellerRatings Store Ratings
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2009, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
udaynjbiz is infamous around these parts
Ways to spot fake shopping web sites

Here is my list of indications that this is a troll web site and is not legit:

1) No phone number to contact the company at, only an email.

2) A email to the web site to send a phone number so you can call them and discuss your order is ignored.

3) Prices are artifically low.

4) The WHOIS Entry on Register.com is blocked.

5) Go to search.live.com and put in the address of the company. In some cases, the address is a fake address.

6) Do a search on the name of the company on alibaba.com A lot of the chinese web sites register there and you see the fake ones with various inconsistent details like #employees, owner name, etc.

What do you think of these two web sites?

Z9Electronics.com

TraditionsInc.us

I pulled up TraditionsInc on google earth and their address takes me to an empty field with no buildings around. Not saying they are a fake web site, but their circimstances are weird (no phone, etc).

udaynjbiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,059
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
The WhoIs info for z9electronics.com shows a private registration and that the website went online 14AUG2008. The 'Contact Us' page gives,
Quote:
Z9 Electronics
23844 S. Power Rd Ste 102-455
Queen Creek, AZ 85242
Per a reverse address look-up using Whitepages.com the address is a rented mailbox.
Quote:
Mail Boxes Etc
work
23844 S Power Rd, Ste 102
Queen Creek, AZ 85242-6123
(480) 776-1876
The WhoIs info for traditions.us gives a address in Register, GA., lists a free Yahoo e-mail account, and shows a creation date of 4APR2009, two weeks ago. The 'Contact Us' page gives a address in Camilla, GA. a phone number and the same Yahoo e-mail address. Again using Whitepages.com both address come back as private residences (the phone number does match one of them). Per Mapquest.com the two address's are 211.41 miles apart. Wouldn't be surprised if the two address's where picked at random out of the phone book.
__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 03:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,087
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
7) Only payment option is wire transfer.

8) The site's address shows Russia or the Ukraine.
Steve R Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 02:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
MarcelDoel is on a distinguished road
Check whois info and try to compare current contact us page and whois info. Or try to search stores name in google and see for any references coming from good site or not...
MarcelDoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Kavindra is on a distinguished road
Great info, teach us how to do it well.
Kavindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
jdunlap is on a distinguished road
I'd also recommend using an online yellow pages service, they usually have the most up-to-date info on businesses and people.
jdunlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Merchant Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
svcstore is on a distinguished road
Keep one thing in mind before coming to a conclusion with something like Google maps. The satellite images are a few years old. So if they are in a newly developed business park, you might see an empty field. The actual map however is usually pretty up to date.
svcstore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Most Active Discussions
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (11)

Recent Discussions
Thanks ResellerRatings (1)
Cyberpowerpc.com Any Good? (11)
TheNerds.net (1)
WARNING: ResellerRatings.biz Sc.. (14)
Cartman Covers Lady Gaga's (0)
tactical leds llc (0)
Like New Wacom 12x19 Intuos 3 +.. (1)
For Sale BFG GTX285 OC2 with 10.. (2)
www.szprice.com - any experienc.. (1)
Games, Cables, PCI cards, and m.. (5)
Buymoreshopping.com? Wigix.com (3)
I want your old/new unused pc p.. (6)
:mad: Spam At-hon (3)
Fall-Winter Cleaning Sale (1)
DON'T BUY.COM Advisory (232)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 PM.