»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
racermike is infamous around these parts
Anyone used buynow.com or buy now, inc?

Just like the title says. I've searched the stores and the forums for this website. Anyone used them? I've not heard of them, and search reseller ratings for any info on ANY web store, but couldnt find anything on these guys.

Thanks in advance.

racermike is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
racermike - aka carmike

Lifetime rating 4, last six months 3...

Hello!
__________________
Remember, the number one SUCKER TOOL is; low, low prices.
frostbitetwice is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
racermike is infamous around these parts
First off, I've done all the searches that I could do on here. I've searched the store ratings for buynow; buynow.com; buy now, inc.; buy now, incorporated; www.buynow.com; etc etc.....and I get 'suggested' businesses, like cigbuynow, or buynowcomputers, etc etc. None of which are the website I'm looking for. So then I've searched the forums, same searches, no results. So when I've exhausted all I can think of, I finally post here.....knowing full well some asshat know-it-all like yourself will have to prove to everyone how smart he is and how retarded I am buy posting some smartass comments.....HELLO! Now....theres a thing called copy and paste. When you have the page up where you've found your information, you could easily use it to help your lower than thou colleagues with a little freebie tip. But no.....you have to be no help at all.....thanks for that! I've found the sites reviews on Amazon, but I don't trust Amazon, because that is where I found the company in question. I trust RR.com, so I came here. But, since I don't really need the parts I was looking at anymore, it really doesn't matter to me. I won't buy from them, no biggie. I just thought someone here might have some valuable info on the place. Not looking to busy up your day of belittleing others.....I hated to have to add myself to your schedule, and I apologize for being so dumb. I don't exactly know what I did to you.....as I have no AKA (carmike, is it?) and you think I'm someone else. If you would look back at my history here, I need no AKA. So anyway, thanks for all your help, or lack of it. It's been appreciated immensly........

Edited RR MOD

Last edited by nomaxim; 01-30-2009 at 01:32 PM.
racermike is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 06:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
PLEASE DON'T Lash out at me too. I just want to help if I can.

What is the url to buynow.com 's web site.
When I try to go to w w w .buynow.com it takes me to buy.com.
Steve R Jones is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 07:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
racermike is infamous around these parts
Steve, I'm not trying to lash out at anyone, especially someone thats actually trying to help. I just don't like feeling like I'm being treated like an 8 year old.

Anyway, thats funny that I can't find the site anymore. It does the same thing for me when I try to type in the URL. I did a quick search on Amazon for some of the computer parts I was looking for, and neither buynow. com nor buy. com comes up! The site buy.com looks completely different from the buynow.com that I saw last week as well. I'm guessing either way, good thing I didn't buy anything and good thing nobody posted here soon after I asked.

And Steve, thanks much for trying to help!
racermike is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Per the WhoIs info Buynow.com is a Buy.com domain.
Quote:
Registrant:
Buy.com
85 Enterprise
Suite 100
Aliso Viejo, CA 92656
US

Domain Name: BUYNOW.COM

Created: 1998-12-18
Expires: 2013-12-18
Updated: 2008-10-19
Also, per the AboutUs Wiki Page for Buynow.com,
Quote:
Title
Buy.com - Anything. Anytime. Anywhere. - Computers, Digital Cameras, Books, DVDs, & much more

Contact
BuyNow, Inc.
karen @buy.com
+1 949 389 2251
The WhoIs shows a update on 19OCT2008. The Wiki page was last edited 5MAR2007.

However, the WhoIs link does show a thumbnail with a different website layout on 23JAN2008. That thumbnail does say 'Buynow.com'.
Also, for reference, from the WhoIs info,
Quote:
"Buy.com" owns about 614 other domains
Review page here at RR for Buy.com.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 01-29-2009 at 12:39 PM.
nomaxim is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 09:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 34
racermike is infamous around these parts
Thats pretty interesting to know that buynow is the same as buy. I wonder why they had a second site up, but I guess I will never know. I did more searches and the weird thing is I couldn't find buynow for anything. Thanks for helping nomaxim, your info is always the best.
racermike is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 01:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
If you have a problem with a another member then place the member on your 'Ignore List'. Otherwise, take any flaming to e-mail.
Keep it off the boards!

From the FAQ's,
Quote:
Members will notice immediately that ResellerRatings' forums are unlike many other message boards on the Internet. One of our policies has always been to treat each other with respect and dignity, and we do not allow obscene language. These policies for conduct are our top concern and are actively enforced.

Members will not use profane, vulgar, or obscene, or threatening language; nor post content that is vulgar, obscene, profane, pornographic, sexually oriented or sexually suggestive; nor will members link to sites or pages with related content. Take note that using asterisks or other characters to censor portions of a curse word is still cursing.
Thread locked.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 01-30-2009 at 01:42 PM.
nomaxim is offline  
Closed Thread




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.