»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2008, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
bowmasters is on a distinguished road
Is easywshop.com a scam site?

Has anyone heard of this site before?

EasyWShop - Low Prices on Digital Cameras, Notebooks, TVs & much more...

Google search turns up nothing, and I mean NOTHING. They couldn't have been around for too long it looks like.

The prices on the site are so unwarrantedly low that although I'm convinced they are indeed a scam site, part of me wishes they were on the level.

bowmasters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 09:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

From the website FAQ's.
Payment method shows mainly payment through PayPal.
Quote:
How do I pay for my order?
We provide payment methods as follows: - Payment by credit card We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover Card for online purchases processed through PayPal. - Payment by cheque / wire transfer. If your preferred payment method is not listed then please email us at sales@easywshop.com and we'll do our best to accomodate your requirements.
However, these two caught my interest.
Quote:
Why don't You Have A Toll-Free Number?
We try to keep our costs to a minimum so we can offer the products to you at lower prices. If we had to staff a toll-free number with sales people, this would increase our costs and we would have to raise our prices. Also we have learned that many companies with toll-free numbers receive unwelcome calls from other companies abusing the toll-free number to offer unsolicited goods and services, thereby increasing costs even further.
If you prefer, we would be happy to contact you by phone. You can e-mail your telephone number to one of our Customer Care Representatives at customerservice@easywshop.com

-and-

Will I Have To Pay Taxes Or Duties On The Shipment?
Enjoy no sales tax on every order. EasyWShop pays all applicable sales tax for you. We spare no expense when it comes to making our customers happy!
The website's 'Contact Us' page gives,
Quote:
EasyWShop, Inc.
Address: 17444 N. Dallas Pkwy
City: Dallas
State: TX
Zip: 84321
Country: USA
Tel/Fax: 214-504-1942
Per the USPS,
Quote:
The address you provided is not recognized by the US Postal Service as an address we serve. Mail sent to this address may be returned.
This address may be Non-Deliverable.

17444 DALLAS PKWY
DALLAS TX 75287 -
Using Whitepages.com reverse address and reverse phone number look-ups give,
Quote:
0 Results matching "17444 N. Dallas Pkwy, Dallas, TX"

-and-

(214) 504-1942 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Type: Land Line
Provider: Southwestern Bell
Location: McKinney, TX
The WhoIs info shows the following address and phone number, but, they no not match what is on the website.
Quote:
Registrant:
easywshop
3365 NOTTINGHAM CIR SE
CLEVELAND, TN 37323
US

Domain name: EASYWSHOP.COM

Administrative Contact:
lawson, erick rickwson @ aol.com (edited, remove spaces)
3365 NOTTINGHAM CIR SE
CLEVELAND, TN 37323
US
+1.4237180229

Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 23-Jun-2008.
Record expires on 19-Jun-2009.
Record created on 19-Jun-2008.

IP Address: 65.254.228.100
IP Location United States - Massachusetts - Burlington - Endurance International Group Inc
Name Server: NS1.HOSTCENTRIC.COM (has 5,552 domains)
Name Server: NS2.HOSTCENTRIC.COM
Reverse IP: 8,758 other sites hosted on this server.
Site just registered last week to a aol e-mail account. Aol now offers a free e-mail account. And almost 9,000 other websites are hosted on the same server. The contact info does not match the contact info from the website. The USPS confrims that this mailing address is valid. However, again using whitepages.com, a reverse address and reverse phone number look-ups show,
Quote:
0 Results matching "3365 Nottingham Cir SE, Cleveland, TN"

-and-

(423) 718-0229
Type: Cell Phone
Provider: Verizon Wireless
Location: Chattanooga, TN
I cannot locate a business registration with the States of Texas or Tennessee.

In conclusion,
I can say that I wouldn't use them. I count at least 9 red-flags there. Also, I have no idea who you would be buying from as none of the address's or phone numbers lead anywhere conclusive.

As you said some of the prices are too low, Apple iPod touch, 32GB MP3 Player, price-$74, market price ~$479.
Some, however, seem to be way too high, Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX30K Digital Camera, price-$355, market price ~$210.
I checked a few other prices and the seem to be about average market price.

I used shop.resellerratings.com and pricegrabber.com to rate the prices.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 06-27-2008 at 01:38 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
bowmasters is on a distinguished road
wow! much thanks for the detailed lookup!

I tried to do some whois information searches through unix and didn't turn up much. That whois link you gave gives much more info.
bowmasters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Butlins is on a distinguished road
Definite scam site

I've been following these scammers round and closing the sites down when I find them - see Anyone heard of or used eccostores.com? - MoneySavingExpert.com Forums for details
Butlins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.