»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2008, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Roger QSL is on a distinguished road

Has anyone done business with Pemglers?
They have listed some very tempting prices at their website.
Want to make sure they are not bait and switch.

Thanks,
Roger QSL

Roger QSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

This them http://pemglers.com/index.php?

The website gives no payment info and gives this contact info,
Quote:
Head office and Shipping dept
Pemglers, Inc.
216 Yonge St
Toronto, ON
M5B 2H6
Canada
905-248-3523
The websites 'About Us' page says they have been in business since 'early 2004'.

Per a Whitepages.com reverse phone look-up,
Quote:
(905) 248-3523 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Type: Land LineProvider: GT Group Telecom Services CorpLocation: Unionville, On, ON
and a reverse address look-up says, says,
Quote:
0 Results matching "216 Yonge St, Toronto, ON"
A WhoIs look-up gives this info,
Quote:
Whois Output for: pemglers.com

Domain Name Owner:
ulvan, anna
26201 Paolino Place
valencia, CA 91355
US
Phone: 6612557348
Email: mijulwan @ hotmail.com (edited, remove space)

ICANN Registrar: OMNIS NETWORK, LLC
Created: 2008-01-24
Expires: 2009-01-24
IP Address: 203.169.178.68
IP Location Hong Kong - Hong Kong (sar) - Tseung Kwan O - Hknet Company Limited
Again using Whitepages.com. A reverse address look-up shows that person at that address, but gives a different phone number. The phone number, from the WhoIs, comes back with a reverse phone look-up as
Quote:
(661) 255-7348 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Type: Land Line
Provider: Pacific Bell
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
The website also gives a 'Bizrate' logo, however, a search of bizrates store ratings rating turns up no pemglers or premglers.com.

The site has only been up for a little more then two months which conflicts with the 'About Us' info. The website says they are in Canada, the WhoIs says they are in the US, but the site is hosted in Hong Kong. The site is also only registered for one year and to a free hotmail e-mail account. Also, none of the address's and phone numbers match up. The address from the website can not be found at all by whitepages.The Bizrate logo appears to be fraudulent as well. I have also seen that template used by scammers before, the red symbol in the upper left gives that away.

My guess would be that payment is by wire or bank transfer and IMO it's a scam site. Most the contact info was either made up or picked at random from the phonebook. Unlikely any merchandise will ever be delivered.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 04-11-2008 at 01:25 PM. Reason: spelling
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
gregphoto is on a distinguished road
I also have been curious about these guys. In addition to the Biz rate logo, they have an "Internet Shopping is Safe Accredited Business" Logo. I went to that site, but there is no listing for Pemglers in their list of members. I thought I would take a chance on an inexpensive product, so I went ahead and created an account with Pemglers then proceeded to order the item. I got to the payment method (having noted they list PayPal) but then I got a notice saying only offline payments are accepted. That really made me suspicious, so I backed out and did not finish the process. Thought I'd try to call them on the phone. I got the typical "all of our agents are busy helping other customers" line and was asked to leave a message or call back later. So...If they cannot take the time to talk to me, and if PayPal does not work on their site...I'm finished with them.
gregphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
JoCuervo is on a distinguished road
Thanks for good research.

I'm almost placed an order, but Pemglers does not accept credit cards or paypal, instead they want me to wire money to Canada using MoneyGram. As I know MoneyGram advise their customers to never send money to someone they have not met in person. Pemglers is definately scam site.
JoCuervo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
bbills456 is on a distinguished road
very good advice

Had the same experience, Pemglers.com is a very clever scam.
bbills456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 02:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
j1b285 is on a distinguished road
Everyone here is absolutely correct. Please listen to my story so no one else will EVER fall for their scam. i submitted an order for the ps3 consoles that totaled $2600 the other day and i wired it to them. i felt so stupid- i didnt do any research before sending my money gram. after sending the money gram i guess you could say i got a gut feeling.. i googled pemglers and what was the first thing i see- SCAM. ****! i IMMEDIATELY contacted moneygram and cancelled my order. i'm glad to say that i got all of my money back. i've been doing some research... their address does exist in white pages canada and their phone number is registered to GT Group, just like the post above said. now here comes the sketchy part. the money order i sent was made out to a person named "chris ostrom." i found a blog on rip off report of a girl who had wired money to some guy named michael miles. WHAT?! who are these people. so next i did a test. i registered on their website again as some random name and address and all that and submitted an order. for this order they gave me a totally different name!! it was some lady!! needless to say i dont think i need to give you anymore proof that this is a total scam and i dont even know how they get away with this ****. beware people.

ps- i found out that sony sets a limit as to the miminum amount a manufacturer or wholesaler can charge for new products. and it has to be AT LEAST two years after the product was released before they can really slash wholesale prices.
j1b285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 06:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
bbills456 is on a distinguished road
Why can't they be arrested?

I agree, I don't understand how they can get away with this. All the authorities need to do is notify them that a transfer is ready for them to pick up and arrest whoever shows up to pick up the cash.
bbills456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
j1b285 is on a distinguished road
seriously. i just tried to go to their website and it said its not available. looks like they their changing their name again. and i just read another report on rip off report posted today of a person who made an order a few days ago, sent the money gram, and haven't heard from them. now there's no website so they wont get their money back. i really hope no one falls for their new website- whatever it might be.
j1b285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 01:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Sirtitus11 is on a distinguished road
their new site is http://casfirephones.com/ aka game-bundles.com

different layout slightly different numbers and address, same scam.

And they're a sponsored link in google's search engine, they show up as one of the first 3 sites from time to time when you do a search for the wii. Same with their previous site. That's how I found them, I was doing a search for the wii. I actually placed an order but when they displayed the instructions for money gram I thought about it for a minute and laughed. Finally found a wii at my gamestop 3 days later.

But I wonder if google could be reached to not use this sponsor, if they didnt then this scam probably wouldn't get many victims or potential victims.
Sirtitus11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 10:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
j1b285 is on a distinguished road
that's good to know. when they were pemglers they were a sponsored link on google as well, that's how i found them too. i do wonder as well if there is a way to contact google about these scams.
j1b285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 AM.