boomj.com A real ripoff site? - ResellerRatings Store Ratings, Shopping, Deals, and Bargains
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings, at ResellerRatings.com.
Comparison shop, read reviews, find savings.
What are you shopping for?
Digital Cameras Plasma and LCD
HDTv's iPods and Other
MP3 Players PC Laptops Camcorders

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings, Shopping, Deals, and Bargains > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2008, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
critzi2 is infamous around these parts
boomj.com A real ripoff site?

Ordered a Fuji camera from them. Emailed them a week later to find out the status of the order and was told that the item was backordered, and would be shipped as soon as it was back in stock. After waiting another 10 days I checked boomj's website and found that the camera was back in stock and available for purchase. I emailed their customer service asking when my order would be shipped. I received no reply. I sent another email the next day - again no response. I finally sent an email asking them for a prompt reply. They replied promptly alright, THEY CANCELED MY ORDER! No reason was given, just an email stating that the status of my order was changed to cancelled!

AVOID THESE BOZOS AT ALL COSTS!

critzi2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 02:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 1,616
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

The BBB report,
Quote:
Boomj.com, Inc.
9029 S. Pecos Rd. #2800
Henderson, NV 89074
General Information
Type of Entity: Corporation
Principal : Robert McMulty, President
Customer Contact: Douglas Moore, Controller
Phone Number: (702) 463-7000
BBB Membership: This company is not a member
Type-of-Business Classification: Department Stores
Web Site Address: www.boomj.com

License Information
As of 3/21/2008, the Bureau has been UNABLE to confirm this company has a valid local business license for the locale in which they operate. IF A CONSUMER DOES BUSINESS WITH AN UNLICENSED FIRM, THEY DO SO AT THEIR OWN RISK.
They have had two resolved complaints since they went online in NOV2006.

You can file a complaint with the BBB here.

You state that this is a rip-off site.
Have you been charged for payment?

NOTE:
The FTC's 'Mail Order Rule does require a business to cancel an order if said business cannot ship the merchandise within a 30 day period. I do not believe that the business has to notify you in any way except to state the order was canceled. Also, most websites will have a disclaimer somewhere stating that they are not responsible for typo's and if the website is somewhat out of date. That's in reference to the items still showing up as 'In Stock'.
__________________
SPAMMERS, I am now a mod! :)

Last edited by nomaxim : 03-28-2008 at 02:12 PM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 606
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
dude, how did you find this place???
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
keith721 is infamous around these parts
Probably the same way I did, looking for a good price on a 1GB SODIMM. That was two weeks ago, and they've never responded. At least they haven't gotten anything out of my PayPal account (yet.)
keith721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 04:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 606
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith721 View Post
Probably the same way I did, looking for a good price on a 1GB SODIMM. That was two weeks ago, and they've never responded. At least they haven't gotten anything out of my PayPal account (yet.)
Keither, I googled "low price cameras" and went twenty pages deep and did not encounter a single scam site....

You guys must be going 2000 pages long to find these unknown websites.
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
keith721 is infamous around these parts
No, actually they were in the top 10 hits when I was looking for a specific model number of Kingston DDR2 SODIMM memory. Just my luck, as I'm usually a bit more keen than this.
keith721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 04:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 606
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by keith721 View Post
No, actually they were in the top 10 hits when I was looking for a specific model number of Kingston DDR2 SODIMM memory. Just my luck, as I'm usually a bit more keen than this.
keith, I googled "Kingston DDR2 SODIM" memory and went 10 pages deep and could not find Boomj.com...How come???
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 05:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 751
twistedbrntucker is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostbitetwice View Post
keith, I googled "Kingston DDR2 SODIM" memory and went 10 pages deep and could not find Boomj.com...How come???
Think the way he found it was typing the specific model number
Quote:
they were in the top 10 hits when I was looking for a specific model number of Kingston DDR2 SODIMM memory
twistedbrntucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 12:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 606
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Thank you, twisted!
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
keith721 is infamous around these parts
The good thing is I used PayPal and the payment is still pending. The payment authorization expires 4/15, so if they don't ship by then, they're not getting any funds from me

They haven't responded to either e-mail messages or telephone calls, so I have to strongly echo what critzi2 said in their first message:

AVOID THESE BOZOS AT ALL COSTS!

Last edited by keith721 : 04-05-2008 at 05:16 PM.
keith721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Recent Discussions
B&H Photo notified before r.. (14)
Can i trust ShopDigitalDirect.c.. (36)
Transcend 8GB SDHC Flash Memory.. (1)
PowWeb Hosting + Domain $3.88 p.. (1)
Magellan RoadMate 1412 GPS Perf.. (2)
TomTom ONE XL 4.3" WS GPS Navig.. (0)
Brother HL-4070CDW Color Laser .. (0)
Professional Magazine Subscript.. (0)
NetZero 10 Hours/Month Internet.. (0)
Tucano Red Neoprene 15.4" Noteb.. (0)
Dell Inspiron 530 Quad-Core Des.. (0)
Sharp Aquos LC-42D65U 42" 1080p.. (0)
HP DV4-1114NR C2D 3GB 14.1" Not.. (0)
Incase CL57057 Notebook Sleeve .. (0)
Transcend 8GB MicroSDHC Flash M.. (0)

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 AM.