»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2008, 04:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Caipi69 is on a distinguished road
Indonesian reseller

Dear people at resellerratings,

First things first: this is my first post so i will give a little introduction of myself. My real name is Boy (no joke) and i live in the Netherlands. I'm 23 years old and interested in computers, gaming, my work (i have a nice job in sports) and going out, having fun!

The reason i registered here is because i want to do business with an indonesian company selling all kinds of electronic stuff for good prices. I just wanted to make sure that this company is not a scam because loads of the indonesian companies are, unfortunately.

The url is http://www.antowijaya.com for which i already did a allwhois search. I found out that the adress of the registrant and the adress of the company are identical, and the url was registeren in juli 2007 (expiring this year).

This part is what makes me doubt. He claims to have an ISO 9001 certificate and also send this one to me, but i cannot see the difference between a real and fake one. I also couldn't find anything about this site in the forums or the resellers database!

Can someone help me with this site? Is it a place where i can order goods or is it all one big scam? Thanks in advance for your time!

Caipi69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vietnam
Posts: 4
Song Tung is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Song Tung
Hello Boy,

This is 100% scam site, stay away
Song Tung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
This is enough to make most people Run Forest Run.

About Payment
Antowijaya.com accept the following payment options:
Payment Via Bank Transfer
Payment Via Western Union
Steve R Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 102
saturnotaku is on a distinguished road
Never buy from any merchant that doesn't accept credit cards. Period. Paragraph.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
http://www.antowijaya.com

Their URL has been changed to www.antowijaya.scam
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 08:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Caipi69 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostbitetwice View Post
http://www.antowijaya.com

Their URL has been changed to www.antowijaya.scam
Hahahaha LOL!

You guys are right, i won't do business with these guys. Funny though that he registered the url at his own adress. Sounds like a beginning scammer to me?

But then i have another question. Are there websites of this kind that are reliable, or should i stay away from all those kind of sites? I cannot imagine that there are no trustable websites from countries like Indonesia where i can buy cheap cellphones (especially the Iphone which still is too expensive, around $800,- on the black market here in Holland )
Caipi69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Caipi69 is on a distinguished road
I have 2 other options. Can you guys help me out again?

http://www.valenshop.com
and
http://www.patenstore.com

Both Indonesian, accept Western Union and Credit Card payment and look reliable. But the big question remains: are they reliable?
Caipi69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 03:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
WhoIs info for PatenStore shows,
Quote:
Domain Name: PATENSTORE.COM

Registrant:
N/A
Leo Setiawan patenstore @ gmail.com (edited, remove space)
Jl. Surabaya, Plasa Hongkong
Medan
Sumatera Utara,20155
ID
Tel. +62.6177059118

Creation Date: 17-May-2007
Expiration Date: 17-May-2008
Contact Us page gives,
Quote:
PatenStore.com
Jl. Jend A Yani
Jakarta, DKI Jakarta
INDONESIA - 17520

_tel : +62 (21) 4528877
_fax : +62 (21) 4528878
None of the info matches up, also the domain is registered to a free gmail account.

Mostly thou the Terms page says,
Quote:
Please note: Credit and Debit Card payment facility available for Local Customer Only.

WhoIs info for Valenshop shows a private registration service in the US and,
Quote:
Domain Name.......... valenshop.com
Creation Date........ 2007-08-05
Registration Date.... 2007-08-05
Expiry Date.......... 2009-08-05
Organisation Name.... MARTIN YANOVER
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
And the Payment Terms page says,
Quote:
Payment Method :

1. Bank Wire Transfer or Online Banking Transfer
2. Telegrafic Transfer T/T
3. Western Union
4. Credit Card Through Western Union www.westernunion.com
5. D/P (Down Payment) 30% For Order More than $10.000
Haven't seen this one much lately.
WU does not accept CC's for W/T, only cash. What they, WU, will do is bill your CC for a 'Cash Advance', any fraud protection ends at that point because the transfer with WU was successful. WU will then send the cash via W/T. You will have to pay your CC company back and likely also have to pay higher interest for the cash advance.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 03:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Caipi69 is on a distinguished road
Nomaxim thank you for this information. It is obvious that i will not order anything here

I am starting to lose my faith in the Indonesian market because it looks like there are only scammers there and no honest businesses. I think it is time to search for another country to get my articles from. Anyone has a good tip of countries where you can do good business for electronic equipment?
Caipi69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 06:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Caipi69 is on a distinguished road
I have another one for your attention. Can you guys help me out one more time?
The URL is:
http://www.xqyyw.com

Thanks in advance!
Caipi69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.