»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
pgulati is infamous around these parts
Does anyone now about Hoitech.com????

Does anyone know about Hoitech.com?? I found his site a fews days back and they have ridiculously cheap prices. I haven't ordered anything from them yet. I called there 800 number throughout the week but no one picks up the phone. Any suggestion/help would be highly appreciated.
Parul

pgulati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
they have ridiculously cheap prices
1) You know what they about "iif it sounds too good to be true"

I called there 800 number throughout the week but no one picks up the phone
2) I would consider this a "bad thing"


Quote:
Hoike Technology
Mailing Address

1122 Broadway
Suite 543
New York, 10010

Phone # : 1 801-413-7295

Business Office Only
No Pickups, Returns or
Warehouse at this location.

Monday - Friday 10am - 5pm EST
Kind of looks like someones home address.
Steve R Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 03:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
The WhoIs info shows a private registration, that they just went on line a ltitle over a week ago and only for one year. And for some reason they have a SSL cert that says it's good for 4.4 years. Correction, for the SSL 'server cannot be found' error.
Quote:
omain Name.......... hoitech.com
Creation Date........ 2008-01-24
Registration Date.... 2008-01-24
Expiry Date.......... 2009-01-24
Organisation Name.... William Petrovic
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US

IP Address: 216.39.62.89
IP Location United States - Washington - Seattle - Altavista Company
Response Code: 200
Blacklist Status: Clear
SSL Cert: *.secure.hostingprod.com expires in 1603 days.
Domain Status: Registered And Active Website expires in 1603 days.
Domain Status: Registered And Active Website
The WhoIs for the SSL shows,
Quote:
Registrant:
Yahoo! Inc.
(DOM-272973)
701 First Avenue
Sunnyvale
CA
94089
US

Domain Name: hostingprod.com
Domain Status: Registered And No Website
Their SSL cert leads to a non-existent website.

I'd also point out that the address on the website is not complete,
Quote:
1122 Broadway
Suite 543
New York, 10010
No state, or perhaps no city, is given. Per the USPS both the following are valid,
Quote:
1122 Broadway
New York, NY 10010

-and-

1122 Broadway
Brooklyn, NY 11221
However, a reverse address look-up using Whitepages.com shows that that address is in Brooklyn and has four business's located there. Click link for listings.

Also, the phone number given on the website, (801) 413-7295, comes back with Whitepages.com as,
Quote:
(801) 413-7295 is Unpublished or Unavailable
Provider: XO
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Bennetyee.org confirms that 801 is the area code for Salt Lake City, UT. It is not a toll free (800, 866, 899) number by the way.

The website also gives no payment info, my guess would be that if you placed an order they only accept Western Union or some other W/T service.
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 02-03-2008 at 10:58 AM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 29
big_rock is on a distinguished road
If you utilize the checkout, you will find there is a $400.00 minimum order, and the only payment accepted is Western Union. First rule of internet buying, always use a credit card, preferably a virtual one. But I wouldn't even bother with this site-looks like a scam to me.
big_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 11:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
pgulati is infamous around these parts
Thanks a ton guys for all the research. I think i got a fair amount of idea of how 'Scam' websites operate and would keep away from them.
Thanks to resellerratings.com for operating so efficiently and providing "unbiased" reviews on most of the vendors. I am glad i found this website before actually ordering an expensive camcorder and a laptop from "bait and switch" websites.
Thanks again everyone!!!
Parul
pgulati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Land of 10,000 taxes
Posts: 909
frostbitetwice is on a distinguished road
Hoitech and Yatmall both have a lot in common with both their websites..When I entered 11 as the street address, up came a box that stated it must be five numbers in length.......Both of these websites,IMO, are suspect to say the least.

Anyone that still wants to order from them, please order from me because I promise not to ship, however, we will return one half of your money!!!

Last edited by frostbitetwice; 02-10-2008 at 11:15 AM.
frostbitetwice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Nevermind,
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin

Last edited by nomaxim; 02-08-2008 at 01:53 PM.
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 AM.