»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2008, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
ed_w is on a distinguished road
Cameraaddict.com

Hi all, new to the site...The other day I was shopping for a new video projector. "Cameraaddict.com" had the one I wanted for almost $70 cheaper than the next cheapest store, so I pulled the trigger. When I called to "confirm" the order, the salesman asks me if I want to purchase a bulb with it. Asssuming he was referring to a spare bulb, I told him I don't need one right now. He then asked me how I expect to use the projector without a bulb. Incredulously I asked "Uhh, you're selling me a brand new in the box projector that doesn't come with a bulb"? He said yes. I then called the manufacturer and they confirmed there is no possible way they distribute projectors without bulbs in them. So I call cameraaddict back and told him that the manufacturer themselves told me they never box projectors without bulbs with them (isn't that like selling a new television wiithout a screen?). The salesman's response: "Oh, I'm guessing you called the USA manufacturer. We deal with their Asia branch. I then asked for their phone number and he said he didn't have it and hung up (even if I could get it, there's probably not an English speaking person there anyways).

I called the projector manufacturer back to see if their Asia branch sells them without bulbs and they said no. Needless to say I canceled my order. I bought the same item today from B&H.

So is it safe to say these slime balls actually open up new projectors, take out the bulbs, and then repackage them as new?

ed_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 04:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
nomaxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Stow, Ohio, Sol III
Posts: 2,211
nomaxim is on a distinguished road
Welcome to RR.

Cameraaddict.com is a DBA for Broadway Photo.

The review page here at RR gives them a 1.86/10, 1.18/10 lifetime rating.

BBB report gives,
Quote:
Name:
BROADWAY PHOTO

Additional Business Names:
A&M Photo World
Best Camera
Camera Addict
Cameratopia
Digital Liquidators LLC
Ghu, LLC
Millenium Camera
Preferred Photo
Prestige Camera
Quest4Cameras
Regal Camera
TheDigitalExpo
Tronicity
Wild Digital LLC
__________________
Well, if crime fighters fight crime and fire fighters fight fire, what do freedom fighters fight? They never mention that part to us, do they?
-George Carlin
nomaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 09:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
apexmenu is infamous around these parts
cameraaddict.com & prestigecamera.com ARE FRAUD, BE CAREFUL !!

I ordered a "Sony VAIO VGN-TZ150N/B, 11.1-Inch Notebook Laptop Computer" for one of their FRAUD website at :

http://www.cameraaddict.com/viewprod...?id=3623018#ra

Listed price for $1480.00 and they send me an confirmation through my e-mail.

I also noticed that they do have another FRAUD fishing website at:

http://www.prestigecamera.com/ViewPr...=3655291&l=MSN

This websit listed the same item for $1488.00 Both website phone # are different, but both addresses are in same street and next door to each other. Be aware that they have many other websites as well besides these two website listed above.

However, one of the middel east salesman called me and asked me if I wanted the extanded warranty. He stated that the model which I ordered was not a U.S. model and no warranty whatsoever. He was trying to sell me the warranty plan for $179.00 I replied "No Thanks". Then he asked me if I wanted to purchase an additional 1GB of memory for $110.00 and I replied "No Thank you". Then he asked me if I wanted to purchase a carrying case for $79.00 and I replied "NO". Immediatelly, he said to me that the Microsoft Vista O/S which came with the notebook was in Chinese characters and I said to him that I have my own English O/S myself, so there will be no problem. After these, he said to me that he will cancel my order if they don't have this model in stock. I had sensed that they are not a legit company, so I called and cancelled my order because I believed that they will never ship the item to me anyways.

I believed this company is a big SCAM. BE CAREFULLY WITH YOUR CREDIT CARD INFORMATION WHICH HAD BEEN GIVEN TO THEM. YOU WILL NEVER KNOW WHAT WILL HAPPEND. They have no intention to sell stuffs over the internet. They sales plan is to advertise items below market price and try to take everyone's credit card information ONLY. BE CAREFULLY !!
apexmenu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
achoadhry is on a distinguished road
Cameraaddicts.com Nothing but crooks

I placed an order yesterday for Sony camera and whwn called to confirm the order they told me this product is from china and it has not warranty and if want buy american model I have $100 more these do not give out your card info and email address. They adverising false prices.
achoadhry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Angry123 is infamous around these parts
Recently I bought a Sony HDR SR7 camcorder trusting the pricegrabber rating. The advertised price is $ 791. Having shop thru pg I ordered w/o checking further. Just like other reviewer I got an email to call and talk into getting a longer life battery and a charger. Supposedly not included. Price $ 1049 ! I received the product to day sealed with original battery and charger invoice said those 2 items no charge. This is bait and switch at it worst. I will report this. If you are thinking of buying from this store DON NOT.
Angry123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Reid_Jr is on a distinguished road
great info thanks, now i now where to stay off for my new sony hdd camcorder.
Reid_Jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
crazyone is infamous around these parts
Lovely company

Visa bankcard just filed a fraud claim against them for me. Where they added $50.00 for handling and shipping and didn't tell me about the charge. They also tried to sale me everything under the sun extra. they were very rude and claimed they canceled the order but went ahead and took the money from my account and shipped the product.
crazyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 AM.