»
 

Go Back   ResellerRatings Store Ratings > ResellerRatings Forums > Merchant Discussion and Shopping Advice

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2008, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Admin RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,601
Admin RR is on a distinguished road
WARNING: Fake / Scam "ResellerRatings" Email, Sites

Recently, someone registered the domain resellerratings.biz. I didn't think much of it because typo squatters are always registering off-domains, I can't keep up with registering every possible TLD and typo. However, it appears that this individual intends to use the domain to impersonate ResellerRatings.

We received a copy of an email below, sent from the con arist who registered resellerratings.biz. It appears that he is recruiting unsuspecting participants to operate an ebay/Western Union scam using the ResellerRatings.com name:

EMAIL FROM MR. BOTTEGAL
Dear, D.C.

Reseller Ratings

We recently reviewed your resume (on website http://jobs.jobbankusa.com/) and we would be interested in finding out more about you and your qualifications. Please take a look at the job posting below.

Job Description:
We are currently accepting applications for Internet Seller position.
The task of the Internet Seller to sell item on auction ebay.

REQUIREMENTS
Your daily duties:
*Be able to check your email several times a day
* Be able to respond to emails immediately
* Be able to work overtime if needed
* Be responsible and hard working

Additional information:
- No 'start fee' required
- Remote home based job
- Could be part time for the first month
- Your commission starts from 650$-900$/week Current Vacancies: 8

For beginning career from you required
1* Provide copy of your resume;
3* Please provide your shipping adress;
2* You must have seller ebay account. ( If you don't have seller ebay account please go to the address www.ebay.com and registered);
4* Skills of working with payment systems Western Union ;
5* Have an opportunity to check your email several times a day.

Before receiving of item
1) Download and review agreement at
(Link: http://resellerratings.biz/docs/agreement_seller.doc). Confirm through e-mail that you agree and wi'll send you original through regular mail.
2) Ensure that you seller ebay account.
3) Confirm that you are ready to recieve first item.

Very truly yours,
http://www.resellerratings.com
info@resellerratings.biz
Reseller Ratings

------
Of course, now that we are aware of this we will be taking all necessary steps to recover the resellerratings.biz name, sue this person for damaging our reputation, and block any further activities, but you should be aware of this in case you were contacted by someone at resellerratings.biz claiming to be us.

Admin RR is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 01:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
sweeper2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,656
sweeper2 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to sweeper2
great catch !! ... thanks for the heads up... !! Keep up the great work your doing here !!!

RRFTW !!!
sweeper2 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 03:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve R Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,151
Steve R Jones is on a distinguished road
I tried to go to the dot biz address and was taken straight to http://www.resellerratings.com/ .
Steve R Jones is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Admin RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,601
Admin RR is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
I tried to go to the dot biz address and was taken straight to http://www.resellerratings.com/ .
That's because the scammer set it up that way to redirect to resellerratings.com to appear legitimate.
Admin RR is offline  
Old 02-02-2008, 12:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 57
Kuulei is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to Kuulei
I posted a link to this thread and a warning at aa419.org in the employement scam section http://forum.aa419.org/viewtopic.php?p=106193#106193 so helping to get the word out.
Kuulei is offline  
Old 06-26-2008, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
katsnme is infamous around these parts
Thanks for the warning! I'm new to this and all ready overwhelmed with the amount of scum trying to con people even on legit sites like RR, Craig's List, eBay and more. Watch out for those Nigerian scams, too, they are hitting C. L. big time! They respond to ads like they are interested in what you are selling and then the b. s. con starts . . . I am so sick of it! I want to buy a digital camera, but with so many sites giving different info. on who's honest and who is bait & switch - I am exhausted! Is no one honest anymore?
katsnme is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 08:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Obbop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 14
Obbop is on a distinguished road
Firefox can't find the server at www.resellerratings.biz.
__________________
I came, I saw, I left
Obbop is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
RymRytr is infamous around these parts
Not "American trained" in business or a "native" English speaker; here are a few of the many things that would keep me from applying:

Dear, D.C." We don't put the comma after "Dear" and, in business, we don't address someone by their initials unless we have an established relationship;

"The task of the Internet Seller to sell item on auction ebay", should be:
The task of the Internet Seller is to sell items on “auction ebay” ("auction ebay" is missing the capitol letters and is grammatically unsound);

"…commission starts from 650$-900$" Dollar Signs on the wrong side of the amounts; "Before receiving of item" another grammatical error...

I'd have serious doubts about receiving any paycheck from someone who is this ignorant of standard business practices.
RymRytr is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 03:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
erototoys is on a distinguished road
A lot of these scams originate in Nigeria. They should just turn that country's Internet off.
erototoys is offline  
Old 04-03-2009, 05:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NW Michigan
Posts: 236
volunteer is on a distinguished road
Would it be appropriate to list this con at m3cents.com and ripoffreports.com?
volunteer is offline  
Closed Thread




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Most Active Discussions

Recent Discussions

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.